We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely recommended - you must eat here!”
Review of The Barefoot Cook

The Barefoot Cook
Ranked #13 of 111 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Lincs
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Absolutely recommended - you must eat here!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Limited choice for their dinner menu, and only two nights a week, but a really great meal. Very friendly service and superb food - what more can we say? Not on the waterfront, but behind a local bookshop in town - take the time to find this!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    46
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food and wine.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very good food and wine but from a limited menu choice. Lovely rustic venue made for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tucked away little secret”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Popped in here for a quick brekkie - there is only one breakfast on the menu but they will do pretty much any eggs for you. I'd really like to see a larger breakfast menu, with some unusual choices. I love the garden atmosphere and always enjoy restaurants in old houses! Could do a better cappucino. Will try their dinner evenings one day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A peaceful gem in the heart of Hermanus”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Hermanus for decades so after seeing the barefoot cook rate as the #1 restaurant on Tripadvisor, we decided we must give it a try. We had a delicious meal and lovely time there. We had the duck spring rolls and Spanish style stewed yellow tail while my daughter had the home made tomato soup. The courtyard was lovely and the service was friendly yet professional, and we were made to feel at home from the moment we sat down. Prices are slightly on the high side, but still great value for money given the great ambience, service, food quality and setting.

Helpful?
Thank CathAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still a winner!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Another year, another visit and we were not disappointed.

Excellent food is always nicely prepared and presented and the courtyard is an intimate and very pleasant place to eat.

Only open 2 nights each week and you will need to book.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IvantheOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barefoot Cook also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Barefoot Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing