We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Baleia de Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baleia de Hermanus
Ranked #54 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we arrived we where met by Chris and you just got this nice welcome feeling (an away from home type). The breakfast was excellent and we got superb service even when my mom was not feeling well they went out of their usual routine to assist her with her meal and that was very much appreciated. The location was perfect it was walking distance from everywhere and anywhere and although it was raining there is wi-fi so we could keep ourselves busy indoors. Thank you very much for the great service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astridi835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Many thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return visit. Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were greeted so warmly by Chris and made to feel at home. The room was super with good linen and spotlessly clean. Lovely breakfast . Would definitely go back when we return to Hermanus. Will have to book early for the whale season

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Many thanks for the kind words. We will certainly aim to maintain our standards for your next trip!

Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for three nights. The rooms are spacious with on suite full bathroom. The owners were very friendly and full of advice. The pool in the centre of the guest rooms was divine, small enough to heat up quickly and space to lounge around. Lovely basic cooked breakfast. Honesty bar availiable.

Only concerns were that we were the first room closet to the main road and the guest entrance so quite noisey. Try get room 4 or 5 rather. The rooms don't have aircon so quite warm but there is a ceiling fan. The TV is very old and outdated.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 or 5 not no. 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words, we certainly appreciate your help in us keeping up good standards required to meet our Unforgettable, Uncomplicated Hospitality aims and ambitions.

Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast. The location is outstanding, close to sea for whalewatching, citycenter and restautants. This is a guesthouse we really can recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorklund_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Owner at Baleia de Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We try our best qas it's wonderful to see our efforts are appreciated. Thank you, Regards Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Chris and Janka run this 1st class guest house and they do it so well. We loved everything about Baleia and Hermanus. We stayed here at the start of our 3wks travelling in SA and Chris and Janka set the standard that we expected throughout our journey. Great price,great food,great rooms and most important great hosts. Thank you Chris and Janka your both doing a great job we just loved Baleia. Eleanor and Gordon from Scotland

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Eleanor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is the second time my friends and I have stayed at this unique quaint lodge, that is clean and welcoming,providing a meeting place for old friends and the making of new ones. A big bonus is a kettle, a tray with coffee, tea sugar and milk in every bedroom. Chris and Janka, the hospitable caring owners, know how to spoil their guests, providing comfy beds, delightful large bathrooms and a breakfast that fills one so that you do not require lunch. All the bedrooms lead onto a furnished courtyard with a plunge pool, There are no security issues as the car is locked in a secure area in the grounds of the lodge , The beach and village are within walking distance. Again a most enjoyable stay.
Sheila McFarlane

Room Tip: I will be happy with any choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed one night and occupied 2 rooms. Nice place, clean, well located But I would not recommend it for families.
Having spent 3 weeks traveling around SA with our 4 kids and staying in 9 different B&B this was the only place we didn't feel 'welcome' with them!
The owners were constantly around, checked and even told off one of our kids because it took a candy at the reception desk...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0 mi away
Aloe Guest House
Aloe Guest House
#36 of 87 in Hermanus
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Marine Square
Marine Square
#7 of 46 in Hermanus
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#19 of 87 in Hermanus
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleia de Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleia de Hermanus

Address: 57 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baleia de Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide Unforgettable, Uncomplicated Hospitality. All our rooms come with en-suite bathrooms and electric blankets. There is a shared dining area, lounge & bar and swimming pool. All our guests are treated to a full English breakfast in the morning. You also get free use of our Wi-Fi, off-street parking, a safe at reception, concierge service and personal attention. All rooms are non-smoking. You can walk to town and the foreshore leaving your vehicle safely parked on the premises. We want you to not only enjoy your stay here, but also to provide you with a concierge service so that you can relax and take pleasure in the surrounding area. We offer a laundry service and airport transfers on request on a quotation basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Baleia de Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing