We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but comfortable and cozy”
Review of Aloe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloe Guest House
Ranked #30 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Aloe. The hotel is simple but comfortable and cozy. We were greeted warmly by the owners, Leslie and John. They were perfect. Helped us in everything we need. The breakfast is great and the Leslie's cookies are unmissable. Hermanus is a beautiful city with panoramic views of Walker Bay. We went to Hermanus for whale watching. And it was worth it. We can observe a lot of them from the beach and boat ride. Are there from June to November. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manoel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Manoel, it was an honour to meet you and Sandra. I wish I could say I bake the biscuits, they are baked by Catherine in the kitchen. John and I hope that you will find Aloe House on facebook. We are happy to say that Sandra has and we wish you both well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards. Lesley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Aloe Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Aloe Guest House was recommended by another B&B we had stayed in Knysna. What a great find! We had not made any reservations so we were looking for places to stay as we toured the coastline of Africa for 21 days in June 2013 (sorry for the late review). John and Leslie were absolutely charming and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. A wonderful and peaceful nights sleep! Rooms were very clean and have large bathrooms and showers. When John discovered we were looking for a wildlife park to stay a couple of nights, he began searching for us and found us one of the most amazing lodges to stay in Addo. I can't tell you how nice they were and how refreshing our stay was. Thank you so much. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockwood19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We highly recommend this little pearl that felt like home. The owners were so nice and service minded and did that extra for you that we highly appreciated. Very nice and clean rooms with a lot of space, bathtub which we enjoy. Very good sports TV! The pool area was nice and relaxing. Thanks for a wonderful stay and for taking such good care of us! BR Diana, Roger and Rune from Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Diana, many thanks for your kind words about Aloe House! We hope you, Roger and Rune are keeping well. The Whales in Walker Bay say "hi" too! We hope to welcome you back soon. Lesley and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Aloe House for 3 nights on the 1st June 2014. Warm, inviting, friendly and homey, Leslie and John (and the ever faithful Harry the basset hound) run a small establishment that makes you feel that you are the most special and welcome guest of the guest house.
It has a limited number of rooms, all beautifully furnished with little personal touches of home made biscuits to welcome you.
Breakfast is made and served hot upon your request.
One of the most lovely places on Hermanus, well priced and definitely worth every moment.
Thank you John and Les for a lovely stay!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank VTRAJAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Enjoyed staying with Leslie and John for two nights. Excellent hospitality. Fantastic rooms, all clean and fresh with good character. Nice food with pleasant surroundings, looking forward to coming back next year. Would recommend to anyone visiting Hermanus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Alan, thank you for taking the time to review Aloe House. John and I look forward to your return in 2015. Take care and keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had the great pleasure of staying at the Aloe guest house.
Superb room for our family and fantastic hospitality from John,Leslie and staff.
Nothing seemed to be any trouble.

The house is so central that all you have to do is get there and then let Hermanus and its magic take its effect.

#relaxed

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcosseCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you very much for your high praise of Hermanus . We a are pleased that You, Michele, Grace & Callum enjoyed your stay with us it is the least we can do to make you as comfortable as possible. Hope Hermanus can expect you and your Family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying with Leslie and John for two nights, a week back.
Highly recommended. Super rooms, all with aspects around the pool. Great breakfast but unit-be-lieva-ble hospitality unmatched anywhere else we stayed up the coast. Nothing was too much trouble.
Lovely to meet a couple who know and love their hometown so much - thanks to both for helping make our trip so special.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your valued review, John. Our guest's reviews help us understand their needs and expectations when travelling. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Aloe House soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#25 of 85 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#9 of 85 in Hermanus
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#56 of 85 in Hermanus
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#17 of 85 in Hermanus
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Guest House

Address: 53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $102 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 10minutes walk from the Hermanus CBD and all main attractions. All Suites have a lounge which has a couch, TV's with 15 channels & own decoder, safes, heaters and fans, hairdryers,fridges,Tea & Coffee Facility, crisp white linen,Electric Blankets,ports for Laptops + Free Wi-Fi. Mountain bike facility , secure parking and car wash. Our large sparkling pool and water features form a lovely view from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing