We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Stay at Aloe Guest House Hermanus”
Review of Aloe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloe Guest House
Ranked #31 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3rd Stay at Aloe Guest House Hermanus”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have just stayed at Aloe Guest House Hermanus South Africa and once again rave about our stay. The service recived from all the staff was outstanding but what I think was more important that the owners John and Leslie make you feel you are at home but they are not in your face. The guest house is centrally situated to all amenites.

What was really tremendous this time we had a prearranged supper of OXtail and Mousaka followed by Apple crumble and tips tart. Everything was great except the Oxtail was out of this world!!!! Well cooked and prepared, Another great stay Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms face onto the pool and the family suite is stunning and can accomodate 6 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Graeme & Helen, Thank you very much for taking time to express your satisfaction in what we are trying to achieve. We truly appreciate that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Hope to welcome you both in the not to distant future. Regards John & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
65
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spent a few nights here and i can honestly say it was very sad to leave. Every thing was on its place all the time. All the staff were super friendly. Its not just a guest house, its a family that makes you feel at home. I was there for business and they made it like a holiday. Its very central and close to everything. John and Lesley were amazing and know how to make you feel special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozanna-M27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Rozanna, Thank you very much for taking time out to give us such a wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you spend the 3 weeks with us and that you had a good stay. Thank you for keeping us on our toes. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulbagh, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night at this great guest house conveniently situated near the CBD of Hermanus
A warm greeting from the owners followed by a quick overview of the guesthouse and its facilities.
The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. With many touches that show forethought and concern for guests. Right down to their delicious homemade shortbread.
Many thanks, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Morning Nan & Andrew, Thank you very much for your generous compliments on our on going project & hospitality. Hope to trip home was good & hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and i had the pleasure of spending an evening over at Aloe Guest House. We had such a relaxing time away from home, that we will definitely return for a longer stay. The hospitality shown by John and Lesley was amazing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing with easy access to the breakfast area and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefkruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you both very much for spending time with us and experiencing Hermanus. We are just very proud of our home and town . Hopefuly the next visit is even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lovely accommodation. Beautiful room, furnishings. Excellent personal and friendly service. We stayed in the 2 bed apartment. Great for families with young children too. Very central and easy walking distance to Hermanus town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadsButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your time in reviewing our House. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and especially what Hermanus had to offer you and your Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Couldn't recommend this guest house more. Beautiful rooms, pool, breakfast but most of all great hosts. John and Lesley welcomed us into their home like we knew them all our lives. They were excellent for recommendations and booking trips.Nothing was a problem. John is also the best chef in Hermanus and if you get a chance try to eat at Johns place "La Med" in feathers bistro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank You & David for taking time out for this wonderful review,hope your trip to S.A. was all you expected +.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have recently returned from a twelve night stay in Aloe Guest House and we could have stayed longer, much longer!

Easy to find John, with that red sign on the Main Road and on arrival we were looking forward to discovering what was behind the small and rather attractive frontage.
We were not disappointed, this place is like a tardus, it goes back and back with four lovely double rooms each with their own little seating area TV and hospitality fridge, tea and coffee facilities and the most fabulous homemade shortbread you have ever tasted which was replaced on a daily basis! The bedroom was huge, very airy and a really good sized en suite with a plentyful supply of hot water.

There is also a family suite which we had for the first four days whilst our family was with us, again great sized bedrooms and lounge area even a wonderful private terrace all to yourself which we enjoyed for late night games of cards and the odd glass of wine!

The breakfast was delicious and beautifully served by one of the very friendly staff all overlooking the lovely pool, what could be better.

John and Lesely are very helpful and friendly hosts and very kindly invited us to join them on two occassions for dinner al fresco with the other guests, these were such enjoyable evenings, John's food is delicious, I think he must have been a chef in a former life!

All the above and the fact that it is an easy stroll into town, why would you stay anywhere else?

Oh and I forgot, our car got a complimentary wash every day!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldtorrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Morning Gerald & Brenda, Thank you for the generous compliment we know we are up against it when Brenda is a retired chef & Jason & Ellen have a Guest House in the South of France.Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#24 of 86 in Hermanus
134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#4 of 86 in Hermanus
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#56 of 86 in Hermanus
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Guest House

Property: Aloe Guest House
Address: 53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 10minutes walk from the Hermanus CBD and all main attractions. All Suites have a lounge which has a couch, TV's with 15 channels & own decoder, safes, heaters and fans, hairdryers,fridges,Tea & Coffee Facility, crisp white linen,Electric Blankets,ports for Laptops + Free Wi-Fi. Mountain bike facility , secure parking and car wash. Our large sparkling pool and water features form a lovely view from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing