We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Hermanus”
Review of Aloe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloe Guest House
Ranked #32 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in Hermanus”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Couldn't recommend this guest house more. Beautiful rooms, pool, breakfast but most of all great hosts. John and Lesley welcomed us into their home like we knew them all our lives. They were excellent for recommendations and booking trips.Nothing was a problem. John is also the best chef in Hermanus and if you get a chance try to eat at Johns place "La Med" in feathers bistro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank You & David for taking time out for this wonderful review,hope your trip to S.A. was all you expected +.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
65
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have recently returned from a twelve night stay in Aloe Guest House and we could have stayed longer, much longer!

Easy to find John, with that red sign on the Main Road and on arrival we were looking forward to discovering what was behind the small and rather attractive frontage.
We were not disappointed, this place is like a tardus, it goes back and back with four lovely double rooms each with their own little seating area TV and hospitality fridge, tea and coffee facilities and the most fabulous homemade shortbread you have ever tasted which was replaced on a daily basis! The bedroom was huge, very airy and a really good sized en suite with a plentyful supply of hot water.

There is also a family suite which we had for the first four days whilst our family was with us, again great sized bedrooms and lounge area even a wonderful private terrace all to yourself which we enjoyed for late night games of cards and the odd glass of wine!

The breakfast was delicious and beautifully served by one of the very friendly staff all overlooking the lovely pool, what could be better.

John and Lesely are very helpful and friendly hosts and very kindly invited us to join them on two occassions for dinner al fresco with the other guests, these were such enjoyable evenings, John's food is delicious, I think he must have been a chef in a former life!

All the above and the fact that it is an easy stroll into town, why would you stay anywhere else?

Oh and I forgot, our car got a complimentary wash every day!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldtorrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Morning Gerald & Brenda, Thank you for the generous compliment we know we are up against it when Brenda is a retired chef & Jason & Ellen have a Guest House in the South of France.Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

When I first saw our Room and the view inside the room, I immediately said WOW. Yes the WOW factor is definitely there. John and Lesley are great Hosts and always have time for a quick chat. Their Breakfasts are the Best and the Breakfast staff are friendly and very efficient. Of course I will come back.... again and again.... especially to see Harry......
I have sent pics to all my friend in and out of SA and they are all envious. Aloe Guest House is so close to Town and all its amenaties that one can walk and enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: Choose room number 2. Beautiful Bathroom , walks out onto Pool and is Sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Very kind & thoughtful in your busy schedule to take your time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much John & Lesley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This guest house was recommended by a friend who had stayed there on a number of occasions. Our garden route tour included a two day stay in Hermanus and we were pleased to have some of the accommodation research taken out of our hands. We weren't disappointed. Driving down the main road into town the guest house is conveniently located on the left side. From the outside it looks small but inviting. Well forget small, the accommodation which has I believe 4 double and 1 family room which itself has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, is larger than expected and seems to go back and back. It has a comfortable and well appointed dining area where a substantial breakfast is to be had and overlooks a small swimming pool and grassed area. Loungers and chairs are also available. The bedrooms are fantastic. Large, clean and comfortable they are welcoming and I have to say the sleep my wife and I got was uninterrupted and quiet. A good individual sized lounge, shower/bathroom make up the offering. John and Lesley the hosts are really nice people. They certainly can't do enough for you and look to ensure your stay is uncomplicated and relaxing. This is an exceptional stay in a well appointed guest house, within easy walking distance of the main town and we are both looking forward to returning to Aloe in the not too distant future. You can't go wrong with this one.

Room Tip: If you have a need for two rooms the family suite is outstanding. All the rooms are great and you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adsey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for being so generous with your time , our time is to make your stay as pleasant as possible . Hope the rest of your trip around South Africa was as good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was very fortunate to find Aloe Guest House after a long day of driving and not having arranged any accommodation. I was welcomed like family by the owners, John and Les, and they invited me to spend time with them and their friends that evening. What fun! My room was immaculate and I was able to get a good night's rest. Breakfast was made fresh to order and just what I needed before getting back on the road. John and Les truly make you feel welcome and go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying your time with them. I would not hesitate to return and the only problem with my stay is that I could not stay longer! Thank you John & Les!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmisk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time in your busy travel schedule of sparing a thought for us & the of the kind words. Hope your trip to Thailand is as welcoming. Travel safely & have fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thankfully we found and stayed at Aloe House Guest House,Hemanus Southern Cape , South Africa. The guest house is extreamley well run with superb accomodation beautifully appointed as well as a gourmet breakfast supplied. The owners John And Les are superbly attentive and friendly. They also did a dinner for us in the eening which was most enjoyable. John is a superb chef.

A great time was had. Thank you John and Les

It really was a joy to stay there and wold recommend it. Not sure about kids activities and there is no fitness center was walking is an option!!

Room Tip: We were in the middle and found it quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time-out to let us know that our endevours are making your stay pleasurable .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meppel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent 3 wonderfull days at the 2 bedroom appartment at the Aloë House. There were six of us, the kids sleeping on a sleeper couch in the main room, leaving more than enough space for the rest of us. The kids loved swimming in the pool after a day out while we layed down on the sunbeds to catch the last sun. John thanks again for the wine for my dads birthday. If we'll come back to South Africa we'll definateley come back to the Aloë House.

Renée Pol

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_fr0m_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your second visit ,and taking the time to review your stay.We are pleased you enjoyed Hermanus again, next time we will try and keep a few whales back for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.0 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#54 of 86 in Hermanus
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 86 in Hermanus
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
#46 of 86 in Hermanus
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Guest House

Property: Aloe Guest House
Address: 53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 10minutes walk from the Hermanus CBD and all main attractions. All Suites have a lounge which has a couch, TV's with 15 channels & own decoder, safes, heaters and fans, hairdryers,fridges,Tea & Coffee Facility, crisp white linen,Electric Blankets,ports for Laptops + Free Wi-Fi. Mountain bike facility , secure parking and car wash. Our large sparkling pool and water features form a lovely view from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing