We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Welcome”
Review of Aloe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloe Guest House
Ranked #30 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would just like to advise everyone who looks at this and thinking ..Shall we stay there? Well the answer is definately a yes.
Firstly you are given such a warm welcome by John and Lesley, and straight away you are made to feel like a Friend or i actually feel like family.
The Guest lodge is just around the corner from the Mian Attration The WHALES, so you dont have to drive anywhere.
Your room is just perfect, Clean, Fresh and again Homely and very well maintained.
There really is not enough i can say about Aloe Guest Lodge, John and Lesley made you feel special and i think that is a lovely feeling . Again Well done John and Lesley and see you at Christmas. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aloehouse, Owner at Aloe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi Suzanne, Thank you very much from Les & myself, from you first visit when we were new in this industry you have been so kind with your advise in the hospitality industry & the visitors you have send us to keep us on our toes that we are truly grateful .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed two nights at Hermanus in the Aloe Guesthouse. If we think back of the stay there we immediately think of John. From the moment you enter the guesthouse he welcomes you very warm and friendly. If you need any help about restaurants (or reservations) or things to see and do (or not to do) just ask John and you will be alright.

Then about the guesthouse. If you want to go to the centre of Hermanus then you can easily walk. It's safe and only a few minutes away. If you want to see the whales you can walk in a few minutes to the bay and see them swimming in front of you (at least we did see them this way).

The room and bathroom are clean. We had a large bath in the bathroom and a separate shower. In the room there is above the bed a window in the roof, so when you are lying in bed and look up you can see the stars at night. Of course this window gives a pleasant daylight during the day (this can also help you awake when the day begins...).

Between the 'bedroom' and the 'livingroom' there are (at least in the room we had) sliding doors so you can create some privacy this way (or use the curtains). Furthermore there are electric blankets in case it's getting cold at night. The guesthouse has also a swimmingpool and secured parking.

Breakfast is good and in your room you can make coffee or tea. You will also find a jar with home-made cookies.

The atmosphere in the guesthouse is very relaxed and we really enjoyed our stay in this pleasant guesthouse !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchtravel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived in Hermanus thinking we would go up to the West Coast as we have a home there. We spent 5 evenings in the family unit! We traveled with one of our daughters and this unit was perfect, two delightful bedrooms, one with shower toilet en-suite and the other with a full bathroom including a big relaxing bath! A perfect lounge with service station, including a microwave and bar fridge as well as a huge flat screen tv, dstv all channels, separates the two rooms leading out onto a covered veranda complete with patio 6 seater dinning suite. Gas heater outside, electric blankets with individual settings and heaters inside. I loved that because it was raining mostly while we were in Hermanus. We are Guest Lodge Owners as well, I have to compliment John. He is the perfect host! Every day he offered advice on more to see and to do so special! He was born for this demanding industry, as for Lesley she is elegant and charming and compliments and adds to the fabulous ambiance. A delightful couple! The staff are friendly and not in your face either. A clean, comfortable delightful place. Great breakfast : Full english included in the roomrate. John's special treat for us was his ossobuco lambshank accompanied by Lesley's special mash, finished off with baklava and thick greek joghurt! Need I say more? Thank you John & Lesley we will certainly be back! We did not have the opportunity to laze at the tranquil pool but we will certainly do so next time! The Labuschagne family, Club Africa Guestlodge, Gauteng

Room Tip: Any room but for more than two people the family room what a delightful setup!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharmaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Location is perfect! Is is a short walk to the city center with all the nice restaurants with view on the bay for the whale spotting!

The room is very clean and has a seperate lounge area with a beautiful view on the garden with swimming pool. The skylight in the roof is nice, but brings the natural light in the room very early as well, which can wake you very early if you are not used to it. A desk in the room with a nearby plug socket would be an improvement.

John, the owner and manager is very helpful and has many many useful tips to explore Hermanus and surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob72CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Aloe Guest House is beautiful!. My parter and I stayed for one night as we stopped in Hermanus in September. We stayed in the family room which was lovely! John the owner made us feel at home straight away and was extremely helpful in letting us know what there was to do in Hermanus. The breakfast was also amazing! We would definitely stay there again, the impeccable hospitality and standard of facilities made our holiday!!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Aloe Guest House is just wonderful. From the minute you walk in John gives you a Whale of a welcome. These guys are so friendly and the rooms are magnificent. Walk out of your room and the pool is there right in front of you. At night the pool looks so good too with the blue lights. Breakfast was divine these guys really know how to look after you. They will even arrange your boat trip to watch the Whales. Truly wonderful hosts with a guest house that makes you want to go back. We will!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chumba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

From the heart shape tree in the front yard to the free car wash this was the best stay on our trip. John and Leslie took time to show us around and obviously love the area. Whale watching, wine estates and a stunning viewpoint overlooking the whole town, we loved them all. There may be more expensive or less expensive accomodation in Hermanus but you wont find friendlier or more hospitable hosts anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanghaibrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.4 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#7 of 86 in Hermanus
361 reviews
2.0 mi away
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#16 of 86 in Hermanus
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#54 of 86 in Hermanus
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Cottage
Nautilus Cottage
#9 of 45 in Hermanus
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Guest House

Address: 53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $99 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 10minutes walk from the Hermanus CBD and all main attractions. All Suites have a lounge which has a couch, TV's with 15 channels & own decoder, safes, heaters and fans, hairdryers,fridges,Tea & Coffee Facility, crisp white linen,Electric Blankets,ports for Laptops + Free Wi-Fi. Mountain bike facility , secure parking and car wash. Our large sparkling pool and water features form a lovely view from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing