We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay in Hermanus - Whale country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aloe Guest House
Ranked #30 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent stay in Hermanus - Whale country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We found our host John with his Portuguese/Scottish/South African background to be the perfect man for the job. He was attentive and helping in every way. The place is spacious and clean and the the staff friendly. The open plan kitchen next to the dining room area allows the rich flavors of a curry being prepared to waft onto the senses and the aroma of breakfast on the make, beckons the wary traveler to a hearty wholesome meal. Aloe House caters for a variety of people. from a studio that has two bedrooms to secure fixings for mountain bikers. Beautiful swimming pool that is well maintained. Centrally located and an easy walk to the main whale watching area. We can recommend this place that provides value for money and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaitse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
64
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JHB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Aloe house for 2 nights during the ABSA Cape Epic. Probably my best Bed And Breakfast experience, fantastic rooms and the most awesome hosts. Thank you John and Lesley, your hospitality was fantastic, accommodation was superb and the meal you cooked us would have made Gordon Ramsay smile... thank you...Heath and the Cape Epic riders :-)

Room Tip: No fitness centre so couldn't rate it...., but a great pool...if the weather is good..the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schönkirchen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We only wanted to stay one night on our way to Cape Town. But we quickly realized that this was too short. So we stayed two nights. What a fantastic place to relax! John and Lesley are such nice hosts with really wonderful recommendations what to visit and what to do.
On this way: thank you for everything!
Barbara and Sven, Germany

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Had a perfect stay, nice room and very good advices were to go! And John and Lesley made it a perfect stay!

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Haan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I arrived late one September evening, for a one-night stay while I was "en-route" to cape town.
Tired, dusty and weary, after a solo rally-drive through the mountain passes off the Garden route, with my hired Kia "Cookie Can" as dusty as me.

Like people already mentioned, Lesley & John (and their staff)
really go the extra mile to make you feel at home :
Not only did she give me a very hearty welcome, almost like my mother would:
asking me about my travel and what my plans were for the next day,
and doing so, she hooked me up with some Dutch people, who also wanted to go walewatching the next morning;
but she also suggested I could enjoy some of John's sublime cooking skills for a fair price,
and save me the hassle of driving around after dark in a very touristic town, finding a good restaurant etc...

And it sure was a treat : I have eaten very well in many places in the Cape province,
but his green beans with a fine tomato sauce and grilled butternut
were the finest companion to some very nice lamb ribs! (if I'm not mistaken about the meat, don't know for sure it was lamb, it's already been a while ago)

But I suppose you don't go to a guesthouse to eat, so let me get to the essence...

The rooms are unique, because you have a small living room,
with a large curtained window view of the beautifull pool,
which I unfortunately didn't have the time to enjoy.

It's seperated from the bedroom with sliding doors, so you can choose the level of privacy you need.
There's a big skylight in the bedroom to admire the stars, but again I was so tired I had to forfeit it.

You're spoiled in luxury , if you need that : numerous TV sports channels (for dutch speaking people: even BVN , if I remember well),
and homemade cookies to go along, a nice big relaxing bath with al the stuff ladies might need to enjoy it.

The breakfast was good, but again : the whales didn't leave me much time to enjoy it.

After I visited the town, I came back, to find my little "Cookie Can" blinking in the sun,
so thanks again for the complimentary service.
(FYI : Seeing all the other dirty tourist cars, it took a bit of my rally-driver street cred, but what the heck ;-)

So definitely very well worth recommending !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Short_Trippin_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Being on the main road, the location is great but at first glance the Guest House doesnt appear to offer the traveller that much. Appearances can be deceiving! Once inside the property extends way back, has a fantastic pool area, the rooms are well appointed and spotless.

Spent a great night with the host's, along with travellers from Canada and South Africa enjoying the summer weather and an impromptu al fresco dining experience.

Would definetely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B4iGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackboys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

John & Lesley were very welcoming - even when the three of us turned up at the door for an 8 days stay without a booking! They have only taken over in the last couple of months and are pulling out all of the stops to make everything just perfect for thier guests. Good food - great breakfast - rooms large, airy, clean and comfortable - great staff - very informative recommending lots of places to visit and when to go. We liked it so much I am going back for Christmas 2011! I can recommend Aloe Guest House to one and all, business or pleasure - if you book for one night you will wish you had stayed for more. Thank you John and Lesley for your friendly attentive welcome - you made a visit to Hermanus extra special with laughter and humour - we had a ball - see you in four weeks for Christmas!

Room Tip: All good rooms, light, airy, comfortable beds and clean. I know that families are high on the list f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
#45 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baleia de Hermanus
Baleia de Hermanus
#52 of 89 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#26 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#44 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Guest House

Property: Aloe Guest House
Address: 53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 10minutes walk from the Hermanus CBD and all main attractions. All Suites have a lounge which has a couch, TV's with 15 channels & own decoder, safes, heaters and fans, hairdryers,fridges,Tea & Coffee Facility, crisp white linen,Electric Blankets,ports for Laptops + Free Wi-Fi. Mountain bike facility , secure parking and car wash. Our large sparkling pool and water features form a lovely view from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing