We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Vacay Spot”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bayview Hermanus

View from balcony across Walker bay and the Whales
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from balcony across Walker bay and the Whales
View from balcony across ocean to Grotto Beach and Stanford View from Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View from balcony across Walker bay and the Whales
View from balcony across ocean to Grotto Beach and Stanford
View from Balcony
Sitting Dining area with view across the bay
Dining Table
Sitting room and with DSTV
Sitting room looking back to kitchen
Sitting room
Main Bedroom with view across ocean
Main Bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Shower and WC en-suite to main bedroom
Fully equipped galley kitchen
Horizon Pool on hte Shoreline
Shore-front residents-only pool
View from the balcony across Walker bay and the whales!
View from the verandah across Walker Bay to Grotto Beach and De Kelders
Private Shorefront Braai area for residents only
View across garden from verandah
Sunrise from Verandah
View from Verandah
View from window
Private shore-edge braai area gazebo seating area
Living Room
Living Room
Rear view
Young Southern Right Whale breaching in Walker Bay
View of pool from upper garden
Sunbird on Pin-Cushion Protea in Garden
Whale breaching in Walker Bay taken from our window
Duiker walking across lawn in early morning
Male Pin-tailed Whydah resident in garden
Dawn breaks from the window
Sunset from rear of apartment
Family group of Penguins swimming past window
Male Pin-tailed Whydah resident in garden
Sunset from the window
Dawn from the window
2 Southern Right Whales cruising past the window
Shore front residens only pool
Top-floor locations makes for amazing views but low window makes us unsuitable for small children
Single bed on the enclosed verandah can be used for 5th guest or as a settee when not in use
Private garden, Braai area and shore front gazebo dining area
View from balcony towards Grotto Beach and Stanford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hermanus, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andyliba6
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great Vacay Spot”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Georgus apartment with superb ocean views.stunning classy decor. Safe. Secure.Perfect location if you want a break from the big city chaos and hustle and bussle. conviently situated to all the resturants and shops. Rooms were comfortable. I would definitely visit here again. Thank you to Phil for making our stay a really comfortable stay in Hermanus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thanks Andi for this lovely review - welcome again anytime - I am sure there are some wine farms you missed !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauladelo
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning View”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The apartment was clean and comfortable with all the amenities but above all was the amazing view from the enclosed balcony. Lovely to see the whales, albeit at distance, whilst sitting on the balcony with a glass of the complimentary wine that greeted us! Would be wonderful in warmer weather with the windows open.
There was a handy supermarket just across the road, and just a few minutes drive into the town centre.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thank you Paula for your kind comments and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again very soon! All the best. Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
247LiveLi...
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

On my latest visit to Bayview, I had 3 friends staying with me. They loved the place as much as I did. On our first afternoon, we were too lazy to go out for dinner, so walked down to the pool area below our apartment, where there is a braai and eating area on the rocks, and we drank bubbly and nibbled on a few snacks purchased at the supermarket conveniently situated across the road. We walked along the cliff path into the centre of Hermanus, which is a lovely 20 minute walk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you for the positive feedback. So glad that you enjoyed the apartment and area. Looking forward to seeing you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinM
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Homely Apartment in a magnificent setting”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked to return in 2018. The walk to town along the cliff path was superb and the ready access to a supermarket and petrol station was useful. Sitting in the conservatory just watching the sea is what a holiday is about. There are plenty of outstanding wioneries within easy reach, many with excellent restaurants.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
Hi Vin,
thanks so much for the kind comments and glad you had such a good holiday
We look forward to welcoming you again this time next year!
All the best
Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjlHerts
herts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous view from a large balcony”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Well equipped apartment on the top floor overlooking the ocean. The balcony is enclosed but can be the front part of the windows can be opened. An easy 15 minutes walk to shops and excellent restaurants. A short drive to beaches, pretty villages and nature reserve. Spa supermarket across the road which sells most things.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Dear Jane,
thanks so much for taking the time to review the property.
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful town and area.
Have a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
All the best
Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovettjea...
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect Hermanus location.”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Bayview is a very spacious, comfortable apartment with probably one of the best views in Hermanus. The views over Walker Bay from the sea lounge are fantastic and it it is very hard to drag yourself away from watching the waves crashing over the rocks. Totally relaxing.
The apartment is really handy for the Eastcliffe shops just across the road and it is a very pleasant walk in to Hermanus along the cliff path. The choice of restaurants is excellent and we enjoyed some great meals and wonderful wines.
The apartment is well equipped and Philip , the owner was extremely helpful in giving us lots of information prior to our visit. We were so pleased to have found Bayview and we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from the sea lounge
Liked least: nothing really . A larger TV would have been good .
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Thank you Jean for your kind words - it's so heartening to be able to share our little spot of "heaven on earth" with like minded souls. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Have a happy Christmas. Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
247LiveLi...
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is now my second time to stay at Bayview! Wonderful location, and with all the conveniences that a holiday maker could want. The basic items like coffee and tea and even biscuits are available. It is extremely comfortable, and difficult to find the energy to go for the lovely walks along the rocks, as the place is just so lovely, you don't want to go out! My only complaint is that the whales were obviously cross with me as they didn't come and say hello!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Thank you for these kind words from our "frequent flier" always a pleasure to welcome you. And we look forward to hosting many more times over the coming years! Muito obrigado! Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing