We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abalone Guest Lodge
Ranked #17 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Start with the one negative........long walk from the town centre

The rest is all positive, staff are all very friendly and helpful, welcome drink on arrival is a nice touch, they will book excursions on your behalf, provide helpful information and serve breakfast at a nice leisurely pace and to order

Rooms are very spacious and clean and the views of the whales from the terrace are great

Excellent pathway along the coast is great for whale watching and a trip down the coast to Bettys Bay to see masses of penguins is well worth it

Thouroughly recommend Abalone although a car is essential for getting about

Hermanus is a lively town.....until 8pm omwards and then it is deadly quiet.......try "The Burgundy" restaurant for a quality meal, exceptional service and great price


Jim & Charlotte, Aberdeen Scotland

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    94
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
279
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
javea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed there two nights as we wanted to see the whales and this was an excellent location,- really near the cliff top and with a lovely cliff top walk to Hermanus.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the food and service good and the whole building was immaculately kept. We loved the modern open style and all the art work. Comfortable large rooms,good beds. What more can we say!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have view of sea but so does the lounge,large terrace and dining area. Garden rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivienne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights @ the end of our tour. You cannot fault the rooms, bright & airy, the breakfasts, cooked fresh, the staff, so helpful & the view, exceptional. The only set back was the distance to the town centre. We had a car but it meant 1 of us could not drink when we went out @ night as it was concidered not safe to walk. I would certainly recommend this guest house which really is more like a hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view or a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at Abalone 2 nights during our honeymoon on Sept 2011. We relly liked the place but we did not like at all our room because it looked into the garage. If you go there you MUST have a sea facing room, it was a great mistake of our travel agency not to book one for us. Also you could have a garden facing or a mountain facing room but we had this room garage facing and it was really bad. The place is really nice and the staff is nice and friendly, it's a good place to stay in Hermanus but you MUST have a seafacing room because that's all that Hermanus is about: watching whales! And you do not want to have to keep you curtains shut all the time because anybody passing by can look inside, you must have a nice view outside and some privacy. Especially during your honeymoon. Good place but we were unlucky with the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here as a stop over on our honey moon journey of South Africa. The place is very clean and safe and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was tasty and filling. We only stayed one night for take this review for what it's worth. My wife and I had no complaints, the price was a bit high for the off season, but I never tried to bargain. A nice clean guest house which would serve as a nice base to explore the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cndhoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great B & B - well , more a hotel than only does breakfast.

Terrific sea views particulalry from certain rooms on the first floor. Helpful staff and simple but delicious breakfasts.Very comfortable room - good shower in en-suite too.
Location [ about 40 min.walk to Hermanus along coast path and road ] , is lovely. Car drive to town only 5 minutes or so.

Room Tip: Rear rooms on first floor face the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveG226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed for 1 night as a stop-over en route from Cape Town to the Garden Route. The whole property was recently renovated so is very modern, comfortable and well kept. Our room was huge with direct access to the coutyard with the main lounge area just a few steps away. The main draw though is the direct access to the cliff path from the back garden. You can walk along the path into Hermanus (approx 25 mins if you don't stop to look at the whales, it took as an hour as we stopped frequently!) or for miles in the other direction. The staff were friendly and cooked us very tasty breakfast.

You need a car to drive into the town for dinner as it's a bit too far to walk. There wasn't anyone on site overnight, this wasn't a problem for us and the property is very secure but some travellers might prefer to have someone available.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have sea views but it doesn't matter as the lounge/breakfast area does and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
908 reviews
1.9 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Guest Lodge

Property: Abalone Guest Lodge
Address: 306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abalone Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone Lodge, situated on the magnificent ocean front of Hermanus. Abalone Guest Lodge offers luxury accommodation for travel, business or leisure. Abalone Guest Lodge has direct access to the well-known Scenic Cliff Path that makes Hermanus the Land Base Whale Watching Capital of the World. Abalone Guest Lodge is situated on Siever’s Point, a landmark seafront position midway between the town centre and the beautiful Blue Flag beaches of Hermanus. We recently added a sauna treatment room and gym for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you to our tastefully decorated en-suite accommodation that offers you every luxury as well as unrivalled views of the ocean and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abalone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone Guest Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing