We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay with spectacular views of the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #32 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay with spectacular views of the ocean”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We spent 3 nights at La Fontaine in Room 1 which is sea facing with balcony. The room was absolutely amazing. The location is excellent and the hospitality also very very good. The breakfasts were lovely as were the views - whale watching over breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiltleEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    34
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
115
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We visited Hermanus with the intention of staying overnight. Despite the fact that it is not the season for whale spotting - Hermanus has wonderful views and easy clifftop walks.
The town is small with good shops.
La Fontaine was selected from an accommodation guide book.
The house is everything you want from a seaside guest house. Beautifully furnished lounge and bedrooms - two with outstanding sea views but all wonderful.
Breakfast on the front terrace overlooking the sea was a delight.
Gail who manages it was most helpful.
We will return again when the whales are in season.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My sister-in-law and I stayed here for one night just to break our journey from Cape Town to Knysna. La Fontaine was the perfect choice for us. Even though we had arrived earlier than we said, the room was made ready for us which we really appreciated after our long flight from London to Cape Town.

We stayed in a twin room at the back of the house, with very comfy beds and adequate bathroom. Although the B&B is walking distance to shops and restaurants, we chose to drive at night.

The breakfast was fantastic. Very fresh and tasty, and served on the patio with sea views. We even saw whales in the bay, which we weren't expecting in December.

  • Liked — Super comfortable beds - slept like a log!
  • Disliked — Small swimming pool
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Barnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

La Fontaine was a delightful place to stay --- if only for one night. The view of the ocean was beautiful.....we even saw a 'right' whale in the morning from the patio after enjoying a delicious full breakfast . The accommodations were quite comfortable - both single and double bed rooms with large bathrooms.

Gail, the manageress, recommended an excellent restaurant for us to eat dinner that evening -- Annie's Kitchen -- a short walk into Hermanus where there are many interesting shops as well.

Excellent hospitality was appreciated - a good value for the price!

  • Liked — Location/view/ hospitality
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iluvtravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Perfect Location

Extraordinary Views - Yes you can see whales from your room.

This is a B&B and the food was great.

The staff was helpful. I wanted to kayak with the whales and they found a kayak and a guide for me. Yes that is me in the kayak with the whale.

Great town too. Safe. Although it is driving distance from Cape Town, it's worth staying here a couple of days

Don't hesitate. This is the place for everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston2Bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Stayed at this lovely B&B in August. The room was quite small but was nicely decorated and was well equipped. There was also a balcony with chairs and a table and a great view of the sea - perfect for whale watching.

Breakfast was served on the terrace and was delicious. Would definitely recommend this if stopping of fin Hermanus.


Helpful?
Thank JosieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#42 of 86 in Hermanus
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenjockity Apartments
Kenjockity Apartments
#13 of 42 in Hermanus
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Property: La Fontaine Guest House
Address: 33 Marine Drive | PO Box 1170, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing