We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the seafront, brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #32 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had booked the top floor room with terrace overlooking the sea, and it exceeded our expectations by a large margin. The few days we stayed there were memorable. Clean, lovely friendly and efficient staff. Great breakfasts simply cooked and served. Our room was a delight and was clean and light with a huge bathroom and large terrace. Safe parking and a strong internet connection were included. Thank you Gail, we will be back.

Room Tip: Choose one of the two top floor front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 176 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just returned from wonderful 10 night stay with Gail Lewis at La Fontaine. This was our 2nd. stay
at this lovely home. Room Nr. 1 and 6, both oceanfront with terrace, are "heavenly". The bed, bath and amenities are absolutely wonderful and first-class. The entire home and garden is immaculately clean,maintained and decorated with great attention to detail. The breakfast is delicious and made to order - not to mention the spectacular setting it is served in !! The staff is doing a great job to make the guests very comfortable and Gail is a terrific host who truely and genuinely cares for her guests.
We hardly can wait to return to La Fontaine B&B our home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Rooms 1 and 6 if you like to spoil yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had three wonderful days at la Fontaine during February 2013..Gail made us feel very welcome and proved to very helpful in suggesting restaurants and places to visit.The location is excellent with sea views and only a short walk to all amenities. The breakfasts were freshly prepared and eaten in a lovely environment, listening to and watching the waves breaking in the bay. We shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at La Fontaine during August 2012....sadly just for one night. Gail & her staff made us feel very welcome. Although we know Hermanus fairly well, we were not too familiar with restaurants...so we had to rely on Gail's knowledge. She was very forthcoming with tips wich were helpful. Our room was beautiful & we did not want for anything. The guest house is situated in the centre of town right on the cliffs...ideal for whalewatching form the glas enclosed verandah where breakfast is served...brilliant. We hope to return sometime.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which offered far more than what we ever expected! Ocean views. A rather large s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location, hospitality and food. Comfortable room with a fabulous view but sadly the whales were away when we visited. Gail was a fabulous hostess. If you like dogs you'll love the place. Recommendation for restauarant (lemon butta) was also spot on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Myself and my husband ( both early 60's) along with our 24yr old daughter stayed at La Fontaine on 20th August at the start of our 'Garden Route' trip. Unlike the last reviewer, we found La Fontaine, the rooms and owner excellent in every way. After a good deal of internet research on places to stay in Hermanus we booked La Fontaine as it looked and sounded really nice , just what we wanted -sea view and as it was winter in SA you could see the whales from the guest house( which we did). My husband and myself had a mountain view upstairs room whilst our daughter had the sea view /balcony room also upstairs.. We thought the bedroom areas were of a good size, as was the bathroom. We were greeted by a very friendly lady with her 2 dachshaunds,breakfast in the dinning room overlooked the cliff and sea with a fantastic view. If we ever travel to South Africa and Hermanus again we would not hesitate to stay at La Fontaine again.Our stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have wonderful views read the information on each room before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillydavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were due to stay at La Fontaine for 2 nights but the owner's family celebration, spanning 3 generations, were all staying there. For our benefit (as well as theirs, presumably!) they offered to move us to a very good room at the best hotel in Hermanus - The Marine. It was our 25th wedding celebration so for us that was brilliant. However, I must say that during our short stay at La Fontaine, I was not terribly impressed - the room was very small with outdated ensuite facilities. Gail, the manager, was very embarrassed about the situation. The b&b was certainly not up to the standard of those we have stayed in in Cape Town and along the Hermanus coast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlw5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#41 of 86 in Hermanus
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
On the Cliff Guest House
#21 of 86 in Hermanus
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Burgundy
Auberge Burgundy
#18 of 86 in Hermanus
710 reviews
1.7 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#12 of 86 in Hermanus
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 33 Marine Drive | PO Box 1170, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $122 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing