We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to the sea and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #10 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2010

when i booked at the pottingshed - self catering i was concerned with good accomodation, well we got that but, the package included a magnificent location - you literally walk out onto the beach, excellent service (nothing was too much trouble) and very nicely appointed aparments. we rented two next to each other for our two families and found them to be spacious and comfortable, thank you very much - we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammil19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 584 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2010

This was our second stay at the Potting Shed Guest House. Our hosts, David and Annamarie, were friendly and welcoming. The rooms beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. A great choice of breakfasts with three eating times to choose from.
We really enjoyed the five minute walk down to the cliff paths of Hermanus, and strolled down for fresh air before breakfast.
We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Received a rather frosty reception, after reading a recomendation in the Lonely Planet guide, we were disappointed and would not recommend this place or stay here again,

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank sheffieldmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walmestwelcome, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

The guests that wrote this report did not actually stay at our accommodation. They had made an "enquiry" via email, stating as many do, that they would like to stay. However, they did not return the booking forms or pay a deposit. Therefore the reservation was never confirmed and we presumed they had changed their minds.

When they arrived at our Guest House (unexpectedly to us) we were fully booked. The gentleman was very angry that he didn't have a room and his wife had to tell him to "calm down". My husband phoned several guest houses and personally took them to a B&B as it was dark and may not have been easy to find . He also lent them a cot at no charge. They said they wanted to stay with us for the next few nights - so we held an apartment for them. The next morning they abruptly dropped off the cot saying they had found alternative accommodation.

In the mean time we turned away other guests who wanted to stay a week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I was anticipating a basic B&B for the money. What a pleasant experience. Staff and owner were great and the room, though a standard hotel size (no it was not small) was very clean and comfortable. Has everything you need for a pleasant stay. Would recomment it, and the town.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

My husband and I spent a fabulous 4 nights in Hermanus and staying at The Potting Shed added to the experience. We found Annamarie and David so friendly and helpful. They were able to recommend local places to visit and even arranged a private vineyard tour with Percy who also gave us a guided tour around Hermanus. The experience of whale watching was one of the highlights of our stay and they told us of the best viewing places. We also wouldn't have known about Stoney Point at Betty's Bay where there is a huge colony of penguins which is a must-see. They recommended The Harbour Rock restaurant for our 'last night meal' and that was brilliant! We first had a drink in The Geko bar next door and watched the sunset before going to this very popular restaurant for a beautiful meal which finished off the Hermanus part of our journey along the Garden Route perfectly! Our room at The Potting Shed was very comfortable, it had rather a small shower room but it was perfectly functional. There was a pool which, unfortunately, I never managed to go in but did sit and read by it once! It was no more than an easy 10 minute walk to the sea front or into the town itself. We found so much to do that we easily filled our four days. We would totally recommend The Potting Shed to anyone - couples or families. If we ever go back along the south coast again we would certainly stay there. Please note - Annamarie loves chocolate buttons!! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

daveand anne-marie couldnt do enough for us, briliant folk, beautiful place to stay and would recommend to all

im sure we'll be back one day guys

THE NUTTALL FAMILY
XXXXXXX

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed with David and Annemarie for 3 nights and they were friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable and has some nice homely touches. The breakfast was delicious and always served fresh and on time! We loved the veranda where it was great to sit and have a drink and quiet read. We even used the pool one afternoon which was very relaxing. All-in-all we can say we would thoroughly recommend this friendly, comfortable guest house!
Lynne and Ken Troupe
(Egypt)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynneleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.8 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#14 of 86 in Hermanus
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#22 of 86 in Hermanus
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#7 of 86 in Hermanus
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $68 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing