We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Altdorf Bei Nurnberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“An excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A very nice accomodation. The staff and the owners were always efficient and helpful. Not only nice restaurant and trip recommendations were given to us, but also the reservation and booking have been taken care of.

The rooms feature a calm yet stylish atmosphere of a modern African style.
The Potting Shed can only be highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thomas_hildebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us - it's much appreciated.
Hope it's not too cold in Germany at the moment?
Warm regards,
Annamarie & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    167
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
116
330
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very nice B&B located in a quite area of Hermanus. Many stylish details.
The car can stay in a small yard directly on front
of the entry and absolutely secure. Friendly owners who can give a lot of tipps.
We can recomment this stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Always a pleasure Dirk to advise our guests on where to go - we love Hermanus and want everyone else to enjoy it too. Many thanks for taking the time to review us. :)

Best wishes Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a great stay (unfortunately only for 1 night). The couple that ran the GH were very friendly & welcoming. They were very knowledge about the local area, from first hand experience. We stayed in the top room and barely noticed the sloped ceilings. Breakfast was good & varied, there was free car parking and easy walk to the harbour and hermanus town centre.

My husband and I wish that we could have stayed longer. Overall good value for money. Have already recommended it to other travellers !

Room Tip: Attic studio room with outdoor loungers & kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21NPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you Nish for making the effort to review us - I know how busy we all are. Hope to see you another time - and for a bit longer. x

All the best,
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

this is a fantastic hotel, everything in excellent, very comfort to stay,the room is beautiful,good service,good breakfast ,feels like home........we really enjoyed so much in this place,I think it is the best hotel in hermanus for sure

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Aww - what a nice comment to say you thought of us as the best - thank you!
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a good stay at the self catering accommodation. There were a couple of quite major issues with our accommodation, however, the owners, Ann-Marie and Dave did the very best to resolve these for us. Despite these issues, we had an enjoyable stay. The rooms were all clean and tidy. The view of the sea was amazing as was the sound of the waves crashing at night. We even saw whales from the rocks, which were very short distance from the accommodation. Ann-Marie and Dave helped us sort out our trips and bookings whilst we were there and were always approachable and helpful. In fact, prior to arriving we exchanged many e-mails, during which we were given a lot of advice and suggestions on what to do whilst we were in Hermanus, which was fantastic. We did not stay in the guest house, however, the parts we saw looked lovely.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our self catering apartment John...yes we wont forget you guys in a hurry - lol! :) Shame.. it was a bit of a Fawlty Towers episode for you... things going wrong that only happen once every blue moon (we hope)... like washing machine flooding & geezers bursting! - Seemed it all happened during your stay! Guess these things are all sent to try us, and we did our best to get everything in working order ASAP - thank you for your patience and understanding.

(Glad to hear you had a good shark trip at the end of you stay!)

Best wishes to all of your family...
Annamarie & Dave xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The apartment was fresh and clean and a good place to stop in Hermanus for a couple of days. We arrived late and quickly got the place cosy and warm. Don't let the drive there past the abalone plant put you off! We drove over to the Potting Shed guesthouse each morning for breakfast - which worked very well with an excellent breakfast, great hospitality and a good deal. Anne-Marie and Dave made us very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Andrew - thank you for your review. Yes the Abagold Farm can be off putting to some people as part of the drive to the self catering apartments. Guess it looks a bit industrial. However, as you know - once you are in the complex it's a beautiful place with well kept gardens, swimming pool area and squash court - and the Abalone building cannot be seen from the apartments. Guided tours of the Abagold farm take place every day at 11.00 and are very interesting. It's a great place - (conservation for perlemon) which has been illegally poached over the years.

Warm regards,
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at The Potting Shed, staff very welcoming and friendly. Excellent breakfast and rooms clean and tidy. Also the location is great with a shrot walk to the Whale watching spots and to the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Georgina,

Thank you for taking the time to review us - glad you had a lovely time.

Good wishes,
Annamarie & Dave :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Property: The Potting Shed Accommodation
Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing