We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #13 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a good stay at the self catering accommodation. There were a couple of quite major issues with our accommodation, however, the owners, Ann-Marie and Dave did the very best to resolve these for us. Despite these issues, we had an enjoyable stay. The rooms were all clean and tidy. The view of the sea was amazing as was the sound of the waves crashing at night. We even saw whales from the rocks, which were very short distance from the accommodation. Ann-Marie and Dave helped us sort out our trips and bookings whilst we were there and were always approachable and helpful. In fact, prior to arriving we exchanged many e-mails, during which we were given a lot of advice and suggestions on what to do whilst we were in Hermanus, which was fantastic. We did not stay in the guest house, however, the parts we saw looked lovely.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our self catering apartment John...yes we wont forget you guys in a hurry - lol! :) Shame.. it was a bit of a Fawlty Towers episode for you... things going wrong that only happen once every blue moon (we hope)... like washing machine flooding & geezers bursting! - Seemed it all happened during your stay! Guess these things are all sent to try us, and we did our best to get everything in working order ASAP - thank you for your patience and understanding.

(Glad to hear you had a good shark trip at the end of you stay!)

Best wishes to all of your family...
Annamarie & Dave xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 589 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

The apartment was fresh and clean and a good place to stop in Hermanus for a couple of days. We arrived late and quickly got the place cosy and warm. Don't let the drive there past the abalone plant put you off! We drove over to the Potting Shed guesthouse each morning for breakfast - which worked very well with an excellent breakfast, great hospitality and a good deal. Anne-Marie and Dave made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi Andrew - thank you for your review. Yes the Abagold Farm can be off putting to some people as part of the drive to the self catering apartments. Guess it looks a bit industrial. However, as you know - once you are in the complex it's a beautiful place with well kept gardens, swimming pool area and squash court - and the Abalone building cannot be seen from the apartments. Guided tours of the Abagold farm take place every day at 11.00 and are very interesting. It's a great place - (conservation for perlemon) which has been illegally poached over the years.

Warm regards,
Annamarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at The Potting Shed, staff very welcoming and friendly. Excellent breakfast and rooms clean and tidy. Also the location is great with a shrot walk to the Whale watching spots and to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi Georgina,

Thank you for taking the time to review us - glad you had a lovely time.

Good wishes,
Annamarie & Dave :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My father and I stayed only one night but it was very enjoyable despite terrible weather in the area. Annamarie and Dave were extremely friendly and helpful both before and during our stay. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the wetroom was fantastic. We had a lovely time and I would definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review...Glad you enjoyed The Potting Shed...Hope next time the sun shines for you - Hermanus is so much nicer on a sunny day.

Annamarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We only stayed 1 night, but would have stayed longer if we had had more time! The rooms have been renovated in August this year and are not only perfectly clean, but also arranged very lovely and beautifully (though small). The hosts were very friendly and also very helpful with chosing and booking activities. Their selfmade breakfast was delicious and also arranged very lovely. If you want to go to Hermanus - especially famous for whale-watching, even from land - we really recommend this quiet, neat and friendly place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

thank you - what a stunning review! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were driving down the Garden Route and had seen some wonderful sights en route, eg Super Tubes at Jeffries Bay, 1000 year old Yellow Wood in Tsistikama and Dolphins swimming through the Heads at Knysna and then, to cap it all, Whales breaching at Hermanus - How good was that!! Our accommodation, provided by The Potting Shed, was luxurously spacious and access to nearby rocks in the sea providing us with wonderfull views as waves crashed in. The Owners were very friendly and had provided for a really comfortable self catering experience. So, we head out to Cape Town, refreshed and invigorated, with such wonderful memories to treasure. Wishing Anna-Marie and Dave all the best and with warmest regards from your Cypriot-British friends, William and Ann Berdy

Room Tip: All good rooms with separate self catering sea side rooms exceptional value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you so much William and Ann for coming back to the Potting Shed - what more can one hope for than that! See you again soon.

all the best,
Annamarie & Dave x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We landed in the Potting Shed as a part of a package tour. We stayed only one night. The place is very nice, The hosts Annamarie and Dave are very friendly. Quality of the room, cleanliness and breakfast is of a high standard.
We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us - much appreciated.

Warm regards,
Annamarie & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#19 of 87 in Hermanus
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
694 reviews
2.8 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $70 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing