We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, modern very homely accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at The Potting Shed during my short visit in Hermanus in June were I spent my night in the self catering studio. I loved the accommodation! Upon arrival I met the owners David and Annamarie and they showed me the guesthouse which was at that stage in its final stage of complete renovation. All rooms are very clean, comfortable, cozy decorated and they really make you feel at home. The bed was very comfortable and so was the bathroom with both a bad and a shower. Furthermore, the Potting Shed also has self catering apartments located close to the beach. Although I haven't seen a whale during my visit myself, others might be lucky spotting one from these apartments! I could recommend The Potting Shed to any couple who is visiting Hermanus. The PottingShed really won't disappoint you!
Thank you David & Annamarie, hopefully see you soon again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas_891991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

I loved your review - thank you so much for taking the time - hope to see you again soon.
Annamarie & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 626 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a one night stay at the Potting Shed on our way through from the Garden Route to Cape Town and we were very pleased with our accommodation. Dave & Annamarie were very hospitable and welcoming and gave us plenty of information on local amenities and activities, offering to help us book trips etc if we needed to. There was a large group staying at the Potting Shed whilst we were there which can usually be a distraction, but our hosts were superb - I highly recommend the pancakes for breakfast! The decor is quirky and very cool - beautiful murals painted on the walls. Lovely stay, thank you!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Huggsieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. So gald you had a good stay and enjoyed our hospitality. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Annamarie & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife is getting on for 83 and I am 86+ and the family is my son and his wife, his son and his wife. We have been stopping at the Potting Shed since they opened 8/9 years ago and on average we stop there 4 times a year and always for our birthdays...WHY ???
Our very good friends, Annamarie and David are also the proprietors and are busy at this time with a massive revamp which is additional to the day by day keeping all things spruce.
We do not go to see the whales, they are a side show, we go because although we live in Cape Town, they and the way we are treated, are, for us home from home as it is for many others from all over the world and as such they ate an irresistible draw card and will carry on being so.
The Potting Shed also has additional self catering 'homes' near the harbor where my sons family always stay but join us for a superb breakfast. We are both disabled by the way but still cant keep away and will be there for my wifes birthday in October and probably before them.
It is impossible to put into writing, real feelings, you must go but book well in advance as they are usually full up, by the way, they have a honeymoon suite but not for just married, so ladies, why not be suggestive with your husband and they have a swimming pool for cooling off.
I am unable to think of any country in the world you will not find in the visitors book and all we talk to could not be happier that they chose the Potting Shed. When you speak to them and as like as not Annamarie, ask her about Connie and Roy, by the way, they came all the way from Hermanus to Cape Town for my 85th birthday and they will tell you why.
Look forward to meeting you at The Potting Shed, you MUST choose them, they are the very best. See you.......Connie and Roy

Room Tip: Let Annamarie choose for you, just tell her your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyandConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello Roy,

It 's always a pleasure to welcome you and Connie (and other members of your family too) at The Potting Shed. Looking forward to seeing you again next month. It's so lovely to have guests returning time and time again like yourselves year after year - and several times a year at that..

Keep well, Annamarie & Dave XX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a wonderful time in The Potting Shed. We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in the big room which is now renovated perfectly and some days at the seaside flat. Even in April we were able to see whales.
Annemarie was very helpful in booking wonderful tours (riding, township tour, White shark diving).
We would always visit this place again.

Dieter from Germany

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hi Dieter,

Thank you for your reveiw and staying at The Potting Shed. It's great to get such a good response form guests. See you soon we hope.

Regards,
Annamarie & Dave :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked this stay for two nights wanting a self catering unit for our family. The owners were very welcoming and when we arrived we were given directions to the Whale Rock Estate where the self catering unit was based. This estate was very pretty and one row back from the beach and rather large waves!
Needless to say the view was fantastic!
Our children were very excited to go in the pool which is shared with other units on the estate, it was freezing with no loungers to relax around the pool which was a bit of a shame.
This place is a good base for exploring the area, we felt that you would need to get a car into Hermanus centre due to the location of the Whale Rock Estate, especially at night.
The estate has security and is surrounded by a high fence etc...
The unit is well equipped, clean and comfortable for a family stay.

Room Tip: this estate had access to a squash court, and the pool was very cold and hence not great for small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClairH669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you Claire for your review. Glad you enjoyed Hermanus. Hope to see you again.

Best wishes,
Annamarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a friendly and comfortable B&B at a reasonable price. I had stayed here two years ago on a paragliding tour and sought it out again for lodging with my wife. Rooms are neat and tastefully decorated, the breakfast copious, and the service impeccable including hints for restaurants and visits in the area. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Richard,

Thank you for returning to our guest house. Alwasy gret whenpeople come back!

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Regard,s
Annamarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Potting Shed Guesthouse. Despite the wet and windy weather we had a lovely stay. We stayed in the self catering Studio apartment. The apartment is neat and clean and so cosy, perfect for a couples weekend away. The bath is amazing. The guesthouse is close to the main road and the cliffpaths.The owners are warm and friendly and make you feel at home immediately. I would give the Studio apartment a 4 Star rating. WIll definately return for another stay.

Room Tip: The Studio apartment is a must for couples, as it is private and cosy with a lovely sundeck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.8 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#14 of 88 in Hermanus
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#21 of 88 in Hermanus
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#16 of 88 in Hermanus
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Venusta
Villa Venusta
#12 of 88 in Hermanus
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $85 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing