We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star service in 3 Star accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Potting Shed Accommodation

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #13 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“5 Star service in 3 Star accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed in the Pottingshed penthouse and what a treat it was. Newly renovated and space galore. The hosts and staff really do go the extra mile to make sure you have a geat experience. It's a 5 minute walk down to the cliff path or into town. They gave excellent avice on all the leisure facilities, plus the wine estates and restaurants. What a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi Duncan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. So glad you liked our new studio room/penthouse. Hope to see you again soon in Hermanus,
Regards,
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    163
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
114
322
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarschot
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

we stayed here as part of a 4 week S-A trip and were really surprised that afterwards it turned out to be one of the more expensive hotels we stayed . Location is ok to go to town during the day ( a nice walk along the beach ), but at night you really need a car as parts of the way back along the main road didn't feel particlarly safe. breakfast was ok and the lady in charge quite friendly, but the main problem we had with the potting shed was about the (size of) the room. I could just fit into the bathroom and in the bedroom we couldn't even leave our suitcase opened next to the bed as there was no place. we really had a locked-up feeling and were happy we stayed just one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michalinho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on our property. I'm very sorry you did not find the room an adequate size. Most people find they are ok for a short stay. In April all rooms will undergo major renovations including new floors and ceilings, extending the bathrooms and installing fitted cupboards, flat sceen TV's on the wall, blinds instead of curtains - I think this will give a sense of bigger space. Were you a walk - in or did you book through an agent?? Did you stay in December or January? Reason I ask, is that if you came through an agent you may have paid more than R350 per person a night for (Rates in January increased to R385 to cover inflation). We are one of the cheapest 3 star guest houses in Hermanus so I'm surprised that you found us expensive at either R350 (prior January 1st) or R385 per person with full breakfast. It sounds as though you had a standard room?? It's a pity that you didnt' tell us at the time you thought the rooms was too small as we do have others. We have 2 spacious family rooms, a large studio apartment and self catering units. If you come to Hermanus again - please dont' right us off - let us offer you something more along the line of what you are looking for. I'm sorry to hear you felt unsafe at night. The town is about 5-10 minute walk max from the guest house and although I can’t say Hermanus is crime free (where in the world is?) it is a relatleviy safe place to be. On average 90%+ of our guests walk in and out of town at night - myself included and never experienced a problem. We do have a Tuk Tuk that transports guests for around R75 return and R45 one way (for up to 6 guests). This should have been, and hopefully was suggested at time of check-in. It is suggested in the information pack in the rooms and Tuk Tuk business cards are displayed on the desk at reception.

Regards,
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uitenhage
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Really a nice spot to stay, unfortunately it was only one night, but felt like home.
Breakfast was lovely and the child ate every mouthfull which say's it all. Also the hosts make you comfortable, butat the same time give you privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Potting shed on the 2nd of january. This is a great location to stay in at
Hermanus.
The owner and his wife are very nice people with great hospitality. The rooms are very nice and clean. The owner gives you a lot of information about all the things you can do in Hermanus. The breakfast is also very good. We stayed for one night and had a very good time!

Fred and Christa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Christa & Fred,

Thank you for your time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Many thanks & hope to see you again soon.
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

found you by chance(lucky us) the whole set up was very well planned. Dave and Anna-marie run the place in a very friendly and efficient fashion.Breakfast was very good even extra pancakes for my other half! All in all an excellent place to stay and i will recommend the potting shed to friends and family.

cheers Steve Blake

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your positive review. Always so nice to get happy feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed the panckaes. I'm adding homemade Granola to breakfast cereal table from next week - been practicing that one on the family!

Regards,
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lovely place to stay, very well looked after and delicious breakfasts! A very short walk to town. Only way to make it perfect would have been a sea view - but then I'm sure the price wouldn't have been so perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taraanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Dave and Anna-Marie sure make you feel part of the family. The room are so luxurious and well thought out. Thank you for this great experience!! WOW. The room are beautifully decorated; the bath is to die for. Luxury is an understatement. Extremely excellent constructed room for a newlywed couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review Chantel. Glad you liked our new room. We actually hosted our first wedding at The Potting Shed in January and the ceromony took place on the deck up there.

Regards,
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#2 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Property: The Potting Shed Accommodation
Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing