We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #10 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Lovely guest house and lovely couple. We loved our stay at the Potting Shed and would thoroughly recommend staying there!

Matt and Karen
UK

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 577 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I were only able to stay one night on a B&B basis but Annamarie and David couldn't have been more accommodating. They were extemely helpful in suggesting where to eat and how to get into the centre of Hermanus without having to take the car. Breakfast was excellent and we had a good nights sleep. Would thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 395Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Potting Shed has certainly become our favourite spot to stay in Hermanus as it's tranquil, well managed and you feel cared for by both staff and owners there. We generally go for an evening to get away from the buzz in Cape Town, and where else is better than Hermanus?! This gorgeous place has absolutely everything you require and need and what great value for money too! I only recommend this accommodation to my friends and family and now to you, ENJOY! :)

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Within easy walking distance of seashore and central Hermanus The Pottingshed is an ideal location from which to explore this most interesting part of The Western Cape.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeteegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We visited south africa, specifically the cape region as a family during february. First to mention is, Annemarie was the first to respond to all of our inquiries pertaining to accommodation whilst planning our tour. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed with an orientation tour on the property by Doreen. Dave took his responsibility to serve a fresh "au-point" breakfast every morning with compassion, one could taste his passion in what he does. (I guess that's not typical for an ex-engineer! -)). Overall, the attention to detail is what made our stay special at the Potting Shed, we will definitly be back. Thank you Annemarie & Dave, and good luck!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

On recommendation from another guest house, a group of us stayed at "the potting shed" last week. We only stayed 2 days and the rest 3 days. The service was excellent and everything very clean. A big minus was the fact that there are no airconditioners in the rooms or even the dining/breakfast room. Rooms were small and the bathroom/toilet uncomfortable with doors opening to the inside of the bathroom. Kitchen nook next to the toilet not a good idea. Otherwise it is an excellent place to just overnight or for backpackers. A bit overpriced if you look at some other 4* places, but the friendly owners made up for that. Breakfast was perfect.
With time to come, I am sure that this place will grow into a cool, comfy b&b.

Room Tip: Two outside rooms that are much bigger and more comfortable than the inside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hettie and John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Four of us from the UK stayed at the self catering apartment for three nights from 16 January 2012. We were very impressed with both the standard of the accommodation (clean, modern, fresh and comfortable) and Annamarie's friendly service. 2 of us spend 6 months per year in SA so a repeat visit will definitely happen

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#7 of 86 in Hermanus
669 reviews
2.8 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#11 of 86 in Hermanus
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $73 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing