We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Ranked #12 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2011

It was an excellent place to stay indeed. We trully recomend the Potting Shed as accomodation to stay in Hermanus. Thanks a lot for the warm welcome David and Annemarie. [---]

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 623 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

At the Potting Shed we were awarded a warm welcome on arrivall. The owners were very helpful in advising us of where to eat and booking tables for us. The eating place they suggested was fantastic, so good we ate there two nights in a row. Although the potting shed was set back from the Sea Front the walk along the Sea Front was lovely. Although there are no taxi's as such the Tuc Tuc was a cheap way of getting about. This again was suggested by the owners. We told a fellow guest that it was our Honeymoon and they must have told the owners so they made our breakfast the following day special with balloons, flowers etc. Thank you Dave and Ann Marie for a lovely stay, see you again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40DeliaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Potting Shed is a great place to stay. Its not far from the city center and the walk along the cliffs was beautiful. Hermanus is a lovely place with a great atmosphere and we loved just sitting watching the whales. We were due to go shark diving while in Hermanus but unfortunately it was cancelled for the four days we were there due to the weather. Annamarie at the Potting Shed was really helpful and arranged for us to do the sharkdiving when we were in Mossel Bay instead so we didn't miss out. The guest house was very clean. There is parking and a small pool - which the kids loved!! Lovely breakfasts - the kids especially loved the pancakes!!! Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
Thank Elaine767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at the self catering apartment of the Potting Shed. This is located about 5 mins drive from the bed & breakfast. It is a lovely quiet location on the beachfront. You can hear the waves breaking on the rocks and enjoy the security of 24hr secure gated access around the complex. There is parking, gardens and a swimming pool you can use. Lovely clean and fresh 2 bedroom apartment with sun loungers and fully equiped kitchen with a braai. Anna Marie and David are wonderful, They made us feel welcome right from when I enquired about the accommodation and even more so when we arrived. There are some great restaurants in Hermanus and coffee shops, as well as shops hidden away. The Old Harbour is great for whale watching, we also saw lots at a near by village called De Kelders. Park in the car park and sit and wait! Whilst there visit 'Coffee on the Rocks' as the owner is lovely & great vantage point for seeing whales. We also saw dolphins from the Old Harbour in Hermanus. There is a local market each day by the Harbour and you can get some great bargains. Anna Marie can reccomend some lovely places to visit, she makes you feel welcome and is very knowledgable of the local and surrounding areas. Make sure you visit and sample some of the local vineyards, we visited Spiers as we were travelling from Cape Town down to Hermanus. We were charged 30 Rand each and could chose 6 different wines to sample in some wonderful surroundings. There is also a Cheetah enclosure where you can get up close and stroke them, the kids had a great day as well as the adults! Would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlf30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Potting Shed.We received a very warm welcome and we felt at home straight away. It was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were lovely and served with lots of smiles. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The outside was immaculate too. Its position was great with easy access to the coast walk and the mountain walks behind.
Cracking value! Well done Annamarie & Dave.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Potting Shed is a very nice place to stay. Hosts are very friendly and breakfast is full and excellent (fresh fruits, etc). This accommodation is not far walking from the city center. We highly recommend this address.
Everything has been thought (even the lavender branch on the sheet).
The swimming pool is very small but the place is very tidy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christelle4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We've stumbled by accident on The Potting Shed. What a pleasant accident the was! Even though our stay was only for 1 night, we would highly recommend The Potting Shed to any traveler. Dave (owner) is is a great host and he is going out of his way to make you feel right at home. Thanks for a great experience, we will most definitely recommend you to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.8 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#14 of 88 in Hermanus
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#23 of 88 in Hermanus
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#15 of 88 in Hermanus
168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#6 of 88 in Hermanus
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $84 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing