We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town March 2014”
Review of FrancolinHof

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FrancolinHof
Ranked #47 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We certainly enjoyed our couple of days at FrancolinHof, the rooms were large, airy and incredibly well kept. The dining area and food served was awesome, this opened out onto an open patio area which was common to the adjacent rooms. From the dining room we could look out over the mountains and could see the many birds and other small wildlife hanging around due to the proximity to the mountain. Mary and Jean are fantastic hosts and their local knowledge of activities, eating places, etc. was amazing, their recommendations were good and their willingness to help was incredible. we would recommend FrancolinHof to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor units have a nicer patio than the upper rooms with small verandahs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Many thanks for making the time to write this review. We do appreciate it.

It's always great to show off Hermanus to our guests from over the mountain - different pace and different kind of special.

Thank you for coming to stay and I do hope you'll visit Hermanus again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards from Jean too
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 169 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very nice guesthouse, quiet, lovely rooms, nicely decorated, home away from home, wish we could have stayed longer. Very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful views of the sea, close to Grotto beach. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inge c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear John and Anne

Thank you so much for this lovely review - we enjoyed having you all to stay. I'm pleased you found the information in our books helpful and that didn't get up from breakfast hungry! Tonight is another lovely evening and a number of our guests are having take-out supper on their balcony or patio.

Our best wishes to you all for the rest of 2013 and I hope that it won't be too long before you visit this part of the coast again.

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We took some friends to stay with us and we all had a wonderful time here. We were greeted by Jean with a welcome pot of tea, and then shown to our spacious rooms where there was even a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us each. The rooms were on the ground floor and each had a little patio so that you could sit out and admire the views out over the garden to both the mountain and also across the bay to the main part of Hermanus. In the booklet explaining about the guest house there was even a very comprehensive guide to the local birds so that you could name all the different ones that you saw. Mary was an exceptional hostess and nothing was ever too much trouble for her. She made all the reservations for us for our meals out (be sure to travel by tuktuk) and also booked the whale sighting trip. Any question we had about whether a certain place was open and to what time was met by her dashing off to ring up and find out. There did not seem to be anything which was too much trouble for her. The breakfasts are really fantastic and are lovely to eat sitting looking out at the lovely fynbos.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John and Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear John and Anne
Thank you for this lovely review and I'm pleased that our suggestions were helpful - and the tuk-tuk. My car was giving problems last week and I used it then too - it's tempting to feel 'on holiday' more often!

Today the whales were putting on a wonderful show and seemed to be enjoying the glorious weather, as are the rest of us.

Jean joins me in sending our best wishes to you all for the rest of 2013 - and for a wonderful 2014! Oh my goodness, it's dreadful to be writing that already.
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the beautiful house at the end of the road and was welcomed by Mary! She is such a warm and sweet lady who made sure we were well taken care of, in terms of food and activities. She gave us a good recommendation for dinner at quayside cabin and even help us called to confirm our shark cage diving trip!

The room is clean, spacious and gorgeous! We had the seagull room on level 2 and it has the most amazing view ever (even the husband who is usuallu stingy with compliments said this is the BEST VIEW amongst all the guesthouses we have stayed in)! From our balcony, we had amazing views of the mountains, the coast and beautiful flowers and birds! We took a walk up the mountains at the back of the house one day which was really nice too!

Breakfast was also great with lots of variety of cold and hot choices!

The house is in a nice spot away from town! So would only be convenient if you drive or like to walk a fair bit!

All in all, ★★★★★!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review Audrey, it is so kind of you. Not only are you our 100th reviewer but also our first from Singapore. Much appreciated and do thank your husband too for giving our view his vote of approval!

I'm glad you enjoyed Hermanus and I do hope that your memories of your time here will remain with you for many years - at least until you return again.

Warm regards to you both
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This beautiful guesthouse has great big comfy rooms upstairs with a gorgeous view of the beach and the mountains. I absolutely loved the fynbos surrounding us, with a lovely garden behind the property. We took a beach walk along the promenade just before the rain set in and were treated to a few whales playing in the waves. Breakfast was such a treat, service was so friendly- we are very keen to go back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dssimonsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Moira

Many thanks for writing such a lovely review after spending only one night with us. We enjoyed having you all to stay and look forward to meeting you again in the not too distant future. I do hope that your daughter will come back to visit us, next time with her husband too.

I hope you had a lovely drive over the Swartberg Pass and that the road was fine after the heavy rains.

Warm regards from Jean too,
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked on recommendation and were delighted with the rooms. Jéan and Mary gave us a warm welcome and fabulous breakfasts. The house is close to Grotto Beach with a lovely cliff/shoreline walk through the Ferkloof Nature Reserve Cliff Path. At the back of the house is a nature reserve leading to the mountain behind and to the side/front, wonderful views over Hermanus Bay. The rooms are very spacious, impeccably clean and the ensuites were modern and it was a delight to stay there. 3 nights were not enough! Sitting on the balcony watching the sun rise over Hermanus was magical, especially followed by the breakfasts which had everything imaginable. This was well recommended and our hosts have a wealth of information about the area if you need any advice or recommendations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satravelforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Manager at FrancolinHof, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us so soon after you returned to Birmingham. Jean and I were away for a couple of days and I must have missed the email notification of your review!

We enjoyed having you all to stay - and I'm so pleased you also feel there is a lot to do around here and that three days isn't enough time to explore all. It is a privilege for us to share information on Hermanus and our stretch of coastline - as you probably realised we're pretty passionate about it!

Our very best wishes for the last few months of 2013.
Warm regards from us both
Mary
PS I love your TripAdvisor Alias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked at late notice - but were very happy we did! Stayed with friends and their 2 daughters - one celebrating her 21st when we were there. Mary gave us a lovely warm welcome and delicious tea and cakes on arrival! Very comfortable rooms, and Mary gave excellent advice about restaurants, booking one for us, and also booking a tuk tuk taxi to take us and pick us up - a great suggestion, good value and fun, even on a cool winters night! At breakfast (tasty, lots of choice, and lovely service) Mary presented a bottle of bubbles and a cake to the 'birthday girl' - a very thoughtful touch to make the day even more special. The house is in a beautiful position next to a nature reserve, fantastic flora and fauna. We stayed for just 1 night, but would have been very happy to stay for many more!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for this kind review - we enjoyed sharing in the 21st birthday celebration! Always a fun time. I'm pleased you enjoyed the tuk tuk - it's an excellent service and a lot of our guests find it a very convenient ride, especially in the evenings. Next time you come I hope you'll take time to walk in the mountain behind the house or in the Fernkloof Reserve - this is such a rewarding time of year with lots of different flowering plants. All the best for the rest of 2013. Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
740 reviews
3.3 mi away
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FrancolinHof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FrancolinHof

Address: FrancolinHof Guest House | 44 Tenth Avenue, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $55 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FrancolinHof 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views of both the sea and mountain from all luxury en suite rooms, individually decorated with best quality furnishings and toiletries for your comfort with attention to detail. Relax on your patio or balcony. Very near to the beautiful beaches, Cliff Path and walks on the mountain start in our garden. Bordering Fernkloof Nature Reserve, FrancolinHof is surrounded by indigenous plants (fynbos) and a wide variety of birds. Peace and tranquility near Hermanus centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing