We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Hermanus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of FrancolinHof

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FrancolinHof
Ranked #41 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Hermanus”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Francolinhof is a little way out of town but we had a car so it was no problem at all and it is very close to the start of the coastal nature trail where you can spot whales.

The rooms are lovely and there are great little added extras like a glass of port when you get back from your evening out. The owners are friendly and give great advice on where to eat and what to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us - we do appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed the little extras.

There is a lot to do in Hermanus and I'm glad you found our suggestions helpful.

All the best and I hope you will one day return to do some of the other things that are not possible to fit in to a short stay!

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked this lodge last minute, called up the owners (so sorry can't remember names) and they secured the booking straight away, didn't even require a deposit. We arrived the next day, the lodge is on the edge of town, up an avenue right at the end. WHAT A LOCATION!!! Mountains in the garden and we had an awesome balcony overlooking the ocean, I was watching wales breaching from the balcony, unforgettable. We had a new room, The Francolin Room, massive room, massive bed, great bathroom - everything was fantastic. As with most guest houses in SOuth Africa, the breakfast was fantastic, the honesty bar was cheap and the staff fantastic. If you are looking for a quiet lodge with fantastic views thats only a very short Tuk Tuk ride to town then stay here!

Room Tip: Francolin room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Eric

Thank you so much for this review - much appreciated. I am so pleased that we were your 'last minute' and that it worked out so well for you. The sunset was magnificent tonight ! I hope we meet again in the not too distant future and that next time it will be a 'long in advance' !!

Take care
Mary - and my husband is Jean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great setting having the best of both with the mountain on one side and sea views on the other. Room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Hospitality and service was excellent resulting in a fantastic and relaxing stay. A little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjenkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello Kelly

Many thanks for this review and I hope that you both had a good break over the weekend without little ones to wake you up before dawn breaks. All the best and I hope we'll see you again in the not too distant future.

Take care
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent 2 fantastic nights at the FrancolinHof this August. The place is great, right in the middle of nature, with a wonderful view of the mountains and the sea, and whales can definitely be seen from the balcony of your room: what a great thing to see when one wakes up! The rooms are large and very combortable and pleasant, very quiet and they all have a wifi connection. We also loved the breakfast and the warm hospitality of our hosts. They also recommended a great restaurant in town were we had 3 out of 4 meals! We could enjoy an unfortunately too short walk from the house in the surrounding mountains and it was brilliant. The only thing is that we couldn't stay enough to enjoy fully...
To be recommended, definitely!
Chloé & Bobby - Mauritius.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrembokayitesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Chloe and Bobby, what wonderful review, thank you so much.

Next time you stay longer and then you can walk up to the beacon! And all long the cliffs - and Grotto and ... It was very good to meet another couple from Mauritius and I hope that we will one day visit your most beautiful island where our daughter and son-in-law had their honeymoon.

Take care
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

4 of us stayed here for our one night in Hermanus, and were not disappointed. Even with the rain and heavy winds on arrival Jean still greated us with a friendly smile and even booked us a table for lunch at Quayside cabin( which I recommend). The guesthouse itself is beautiful, with small touches of items clearly Mary and Jean have collected over the years. The room is spacious, with underfloor heating in the bathroom ( which gave my feet a lovely toasty feeling), and wall heaters for the room. The view out the balcony goes on forever, and if the weather was a bit better we would have just sat outside there for hours admiring it.

Every other review on this guesthouse was correct on breakfast. The food is ample and the pancakes at the end were a treat. Would go back there in a heartbeat. Thank you Mary and Jean for the lovely stay and see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you Chantal for taking the trouble to write a review from 'up north!! It was good to have you all to stay and a pity that you could only manage one night in Hermanus. Next time ... And then it will probably be a different breakfast treat !

Take care and keep warm!
Mary and Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The rooms are large and very clean, overlooking the nature reserve and a 5 min walk to the beach. We had a brilliant time with a very attentive and hospitable hosts, who make a brilliant breakfast. I can highly recommend the place! The only thing they can do better is give free wifi, but I am being picky!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for this lovely review and for taking the time to write one! Glad you had a good time. You are absolutely fair about the wifi - not being picky at all! It embarrassed us to charge you but it was the only way that we felt able to ensure that our limit was not exceeded on a weekly basis. When that happens no-one has access until our service providers up our limit. Again.

BUT, since yesterday, 1st July, we are 'uncapped', which means no more paying by our guests and wifi use is free. At last!

Take care, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here in June of 2009. Arriving in the evening, we were greeted by the lovely hosts who allowed us time to settle in before making a reservation at a recommended restaurant. When we returned from dinner in the evening a complimentary glass of port greeted us all. Asking us what we were hoping to do in the area, Mary was later able to book our shark diving experience as well. The finishings of this b&b, the great location and hospitality and the fantastic breakfast created a memorable stay for us.

I'm returning with a friend in December/January and look forward to reliving the experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaredRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you so very much for this review - after all this time! I am deeply grateful that you still remember us and look forward to seeing you in the relatively near future!

Kind regards and our very best wishes
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#34 of 87 in Hermanus
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anha Casa Guest House
Anha Casa Guest House
#25 of 87 in Hermanus
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Francolin Manor
Francolin Manor
#59 of 87 in Hermanus
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FrancolinHof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FrancolinHof

Property: FrancolinHof
Address: FrancolinHof Guest House | 44 Tenth Avenue, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — FrancolinHof 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views of both the sea and mountain from all luxury en suite rooms, individually decorated with best quality furnishings and toiletries for your comfort with attention to detail. Relax on your patio or balcony. Very near to the beautiful beaches, Cliff Path and walks on the mountain start in our garden. Bordering Fernkloof Nature Reserve, FrancolinHof is surrounded by indigenous plants (fynbos) and a wide variety of birds. Peace and tranquility near Hermanus centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing