We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little find”
Review of Les Baleines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Baleines
Ranked #43 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little find”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were looking for an affordable stop-over in Hermanus on our first stop on the Garden Route. We were pleasantly surprised with this little guest house which offered spacious and airy rooms with a little terrace, and located only a short walk from the beach. It is charmingly decorated with a nice sea-side feel. And the morning breakfast was delicious! Note: You need a car to get here as it is a few kms from the centre of Hermanus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS_travel_bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    52
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
116
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed at Les Baleines for two nights while travelling the Garden Route. You go to Hermanus for one thing – whales. While it was late in the season we thought it was worth the chance. We were lucky to see a mother and calf both from shore and on an excellent boat trip.
Clearly the guest house had had some cancellations (UK weather) as we were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite of two large comfortable bedrooms connected by a sun terrace (particularly appreciated by our teenage son who was spared having to share a room with us!).
While Les Baleines does not provide dinner (but they do book a table at a restaurant in the town centre for you), they did serve a filling cooked breakfast with toast and fruit. The hotel manager and owner made a point of welcoming us and ensuring we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robannabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in SA in Dec 2010. Given it was our honeymoon we were allocated a beautiful suite on the groundfloor. It was very spacious and opened out on to the pool deck outside.

The views from the window were excellant, out onto the ocean which was about 2K down the hill. Bathroom was exceptional. However there was a definite musty smell in the whole house which was quite off putting. Got the impression it was not in use year round?

The service was only average i'm afraid. You got the distinct feeling that it was more of a B&B style than anything - i.e. dont look for anything more than breakfast and room cleaning. We looked for assistance on a couple of small questions but no answer from the reception. The breakfast was quite average.

Location was very poor, it is advertised as in Hermanus but it is really about 10mins drive east in a residential street; so it is impossible to find if you are driving at night. and of course you have to get a taxi if you want to have a drink in hermanus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmhiabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Hermanus was our first port of call having commenced the Garden Route following a few days in Cape Town in September 2010. Darn glad our sat-nav guided us right to the door otherwise we might never have found it as it really is quite a bit out of town. The perfectly pleasant Oscar guided us to our room which was one of the most comfortable and impressively appointed rooms we stayed in throughout our trip, easily surpassing accommodation in supposed 5 star hotels we had previously stayed in.

HOWEVER!! There in agreement with many others here, we couldn't but derive the view that there is something seriously lacking here. Having spoken together about for a considerable period afterwards we agreed that what the place lacks is a soul. The procedure whereby everything is done by way of phone from the reception area perhaps embodies this best. Whether the lady of the house is in the room next door or lounging by a pool on the other side of the world we really couldn't tell. The place lacks a front of house personality, it lacks all personality!!

The pre-booking of restaurants for both nights of our stay grates somewhat but we really wouldn't make much of an issue of it given the distance to the centre of town. (Regular restaurant ok, pizza restaurant mediocre). Having seemingly the only taxi driver on speed dial from reception is more annoying though especially when charged relatively extortionate rates (though he is a perfectly friendly fellow). The pre-booking of the whale watching trip really does take the biscuit though and was cancelled as soon as we realised it had been done on our behalf. You just can't shake the feeling of kickback city.

Breakfast was very disappointing though, easily the worst we had in SA, partook of some decent granola and guava juice but the eggs were disastrous, completely overcooked and the string tied toast really annoyed us particularly given that the toast was served virtually cold.

5 out of 5 for the room alone, 1 out of 5 for the rest of our stay, hence 3 overall. Afraid we just could not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HandM1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

I have read the reviews from previous guests at this Hotel? and concerns re-the inviisible stafF, I personally prefer this. We spent two nights at Les Baleines and the first night we were the only guests, it felt like home from home. The staff were there but not crowding us, just if we needed them. The taxi service? to the town was ideal as there is not a dedicated taxi company in Hermanus. The room was fabulous straight out to the pool and Theresa and her staff were very welcoming and friendly. So comfortable

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cags1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

What a lovely hotel. Really quiet. It's hard to call it a hotel it's actually a guest house with a lovely pool. Didn't see much of the staff, but when we did, they were charming. Lovely place for a one night stopover on your travels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

A very comfortable guest house, with good views of the ocean. We were welcomed by the Duty Manager, but unusual for a small guest-house, never met or saw the owners. Wedid not much like being told that we had been booked (unconsulted) onto a whale watching trip and a dinner reservation had been made for us at a restaurant in Hermanus (although both could be cancelled). It was also a surprise that Les Baleines was more than 4km from the centre of town and that a taxi (if we wanted a drink) was essential. There was a phone link to a very expensive (as it turned out) taxi man, who clearly had a cosy relationship with the guest-house. Breakfast was disappointing. A fellow guest had to bang on the kitchen door to let the staff know we were all waiting; and no offer was made of more toast or coffee at the end of the meal. Indeed, the staff were invisible until we checked out.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AntandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
2.9 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
527 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Baleines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Baleines

Property: Les Baleines
Address: 193 10th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Baleines 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Les Baleines Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing