We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and stylish hotel - worth a visit!”
Review of Les Baleines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Baleines
Ranked #42 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A relaxing and stylish hotel - worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I travelled to this hotel with my son and husband a week ago and was really pleased with the facilities available and I would recommend this highly. The location in a residential area on the outskirts of Hermanus was initially a surprise but this small boutique hotel does not disappoint once through the door. It is stylishly decorated with good facilities such as small pool, sun loungers, small bar and a snooker table. There are some lovely touches including plenty of reading material/reference books. There are some great sea views from this property and there is a road/path down to the beach about 10 minutes walk away. The hotel has a relaxed atmostphere and this has the desired result. Staff are welcoming and made us feel at home rather than in a hotel - even with a child! The only and very minor downside was the temperature which was a bit cooler than wished in the room but this was overcome by putting on the air conditioning to warm it up!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    52
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
116
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Rooms very comfortable, we were upgraded, and the public rooms very nicely furnished.
Sundeck overlooking the ocean with an small but adequate infinity pool and plenty of sunloungers. No staff on at night but an honesty bar was provided and access codes/keys to the building were provided. Memory keys on the telephone were available for contacting the staff out of hours and for booking taxis. The hotel prebooks restaurants for each evening, which we were very grateful for, but these can easily be cancelled/rearranged to suit the client. In season they provide the same service for whale trips, very useful if only staying for a short period. A nicely presented full breakfast was provided and Teresa, the proprietor was on hand to offer suggestions/guidance for the days activities. Thank you Teresa & Oscar for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tednsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This was our first stop in SA and was just far enough to travel after a long sleepless journey.
We were made very welcome by Oscar who took our heavy cases to the room and showed us around. Theresa (the owner) then introduced herself and made sure everything was satisfactory. They had booked us into a restaurant in Hermanus but we had been there before so cancelled as we wanted to try somewhere else.
The rooms were very spacious with air conditioning. (I know this sounds obvious but not all places do have AC)
The breakfast was very good and we were made very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were looking for an affordable stop-over in Hermanus on our first stop on the Garden Route. We were pleasantly surprised with this little guest house which offered spacious and airy rooms with a little terrace, and located only a short walk from the beach. It is charmingly decorated with a nice sea-side feel. And the morning breakfast was delicious! Note: You need a car to get here as it is a few kms from the centre of Hermanus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS_travel_bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed at Les Baleines for two nights while travelling the Garden Route. You go to Hermanus for one thing – whales. While it was late in the season we thought it was worth the chance. We were lucky to see a mother and calf both from shore and on an excellent boat trip.
Clearly the guest house had had some cancellations (UK weather) as we were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite of two large comfortable bedrooms connected by a sun terrace (particularly appreciated by our teenage son who was spared having to share a room with us!).
While Les Baleines does not provide dinner (but they do book a table at a restaurant in the town centre for you), they did serve a filling cooked breakfast with toast and fruit. The hotel manager and owner made a point of welcoming us and ensuring we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robannabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in SA in Dec 2010. Given it was our honeymoon we were allocated a beautiful suite on the groundfloor. It was very spacious and opened out on to the pool deck outside.

The views from the window were excellant, out onto the ocean which was about 2K down the hill. Bathroom was exceptional. However there was a definite musty smell in the whole house which was quite off putting. Got the impression it was not in use year round?

The service was only average i'm afraid. You got the distinct feeling that it was more of a B&B style than anything - i.e. dont look for anything more than breakfast and room cleaning. We looked for assistance on a couple of small questions but no answer from the reception. The breakfast was quite average.

Location was very poor, it is advertised as in Hermanus but it is really about 10mins drive east in a residential street; so it is impossible to find if you are driving at night. and of course you have to get a taxi if you want to have a drink in hermanus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmhiabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Hermanus was our first port of call having commenced the Garden Route following a few days in Cape Town in September 2010. Darn glad our sat-nav guided us right to the door otherwise we might never have found it as it really is quite a bit out of town. The perfectly pleasant Oscar guided us to our room which was one of the most comfortable and impressively appointed rooms we stayed in throughout our trip, easily surpassing accommodation in supposed 5 star hotels we had previously stayed in.

HOWEVER!! There in agreement with many others here, we couldn't but derive the view that there is something seriously lacking here. Having spoken together about for a considerable period afterwards we agreed that what the place lacks is a soul. The procedure whereby everything is done by way of phone from the reception area perhaps embodies this best. Whether the lady of the house is in the room next door or lounging by a pool on the other side of the world we really couldn't tell. The place lacks a front of house personality, it lacks all personality!!

The pre-booking of restaurants for both nights of our stay grates somewhat but we really wouldn't make much of an issue of it given the distance to the centre of town. (Regular restaurant ok, pizza restaurant mediocre). Having seemingly the only taxi driver on speed dial from reception is more annoying though especially when charged relatively extortionate rates (though he is a perfectly friendly fellow). The pre-booking of the whale watching trip really does take the biscuit though and was cancelled as soon as we realised it had been done on our behalf. You just can't shake the feeling of kickback city.

Breakfast was very disappointing though, easily the worst we had in SA, partook of some decent granola and guava juice but the eggs were disastrous, completely overcooked and the string tied toast really annoyed us particularly given that the toast was served virtually cold.

5 out of 5 for the room alone, 1 out of 5 for the rest of our stay, hence 3 overall. Afraid we just could not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HandM1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
2.9 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
525 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Baleines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Baleines

Property: Les Baleines
Address: 193 10th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Baleines 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Les Baleines Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing