We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of House on Westcliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
House on Westcliff
Ranked #20 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed one night at House on Westcliff on a weekend trip to the fantastic Hemel en Aarde Valley wineries. The bedroom was spacious, clean, well decorated and quiet, facing out onto the garden with pool. From just outside the B&B there are magnificent views of the ocean and surrounding mountains. The centre of town, new harbour and cliff-side walk are only a short distance away. The breakfast served in a lovely lounge was very nice: fresh fruit, juice, tea/coffee, fresh breads and cheese, cereals, jams and cooked eggs/tomato/mushrooms. Plenty of safe gated parking available.

I'll definitely recommend and return

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonidies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 230 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our first choice was Harbour Vue Guest House, because we stayed here 2 years ago and had a wonderfull memory of Barry. But there wasen't vacancy and Barry send us up the street to the House on Westcliff.
The place is also very good, a woderfull garden with pool and relaxing areas, the lounge/breakfast room with an honesty bar (a thing that would never worked in Germany) very big and comfy
The room we got was a king size, good shape and decorated with a heart for africa.
Breakfast was very delicious, fruit salad in a half pineapple, cereals, yoghurt, all you need for a long day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here one night after flying into Cape Town as the drive was only an hour or so. All the rooms face a beautiful garden area and just a very short walk away is the coastal path you can take for a very long walk. It provides stunning views so it is a great idea to stay here and save money vs. staying in a place with a sea view.

The breakfast was fantastic and the room was very well done. We stayed in the last one on the room block that had a double bed with a smaller day bed for a third. The host was very concerned I was too tall for the day bed (I was by a bit) but I knew that when I booked it and it was no problem at all. She was VERY concerned and wouldn't let it go so I give her a lot of credit for that!

Parking is tight but behind a gate and the spaces are well organized so there is room for everyone. Whales were an easy find on the coastal path and just minutes from the room.

Overall a great value and well worth a stay of many nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragtimeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent three nights here as the guidebooks seemed to indicate that there was more than just whales here (too true!) Lovely bedroom with huge bed and plenty of hot water. Re-filled plastic bottle of water in the fridge might not be to everyone's taste but environmentally sound. We saw whales every day of our stay and had a truly memorable holiday here. Huge breakfast set us up very nicely for the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We only stayed one day and wished we had stayed longer. Both the B and B and Hermanus itself are delightful. Our hostess couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful, the room everything we hoped for and the breakfast simply couldn't have been bettered for choice and quality (oh - and the subdued background music both on arrival and at breakfast was exactly to our 4 tastes). Really pleased that we took the time to take our hostess's advice and do the cliff top walk before we left - stunning! All in all, an A1 experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASBBisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We spent 3 nights here, very impressive! Our room was spacious, clean and great en-suite. Very quiet spot, secure, and a lovely 30 minute stroll along the cliff path to town centre. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us alot of useful information about the area. Introducing us to the 'Portfolio' book of B&Bs in S Africa helped us select some other great places to stay during out trip to SA. Mant thanks to Roseanne in particular.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed two days only, but enough to enjoy the town, surroundings and the house itself. Beautiful rooms, great beds, very clean. The breakfast and the garden are wonderful, and there is a charming living room to enjoy when the weather is not good. Service was excellent, both ladies running the business were truly helpful

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bio_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.5 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#30 of 87 in Hermanus
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#19 of 87 in Hermanus
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cliff Cottage
Cliff Cottage
#26 of 87 in Hermanus
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on Westcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on Westcliff

Address: 96 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $63 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House on Westcliff 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the cliff paths overlooking Walker Bay is House on Westcliff. This boutique Bed and Breakfast comprises six charming rooms furnished with eclectic African and European design combining the best of antiquity with modern comfort and features. Exclusive thatched en-suite rooms are spacious in layout with individual furnishings and offer the discerning guest comfort and privacy. All rooms have individual entries which open out onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your House on Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing