We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whale's Tale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whale's Tale
Ranked #79 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Omagh-Co.Tyrone-Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed in a deluxe room for one night as part of our honeymoon. We found the Whales Tale a bit eerie as we were the only guests in the building. Also, it is located quite a bit from central Hermanus. This was not a problem for ourselves as we had a hire car and there is secure parking here. Our room was big with a very good sized balcony. The room was pretty basic, but the ensuite was lovely. We were staying out of season, so we didn't see any whales and this was probably why the Whales Tale was empty. Breakfast was adaquate. Hermanus itself is a nice place and we ate in a nice restaurant overlooking the sea (can't remember the name, but it was organised by staff at the Whales Tale).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

This is a lovely guest house and I am surprised at those who have been critical.Yes, it is a little out of Hermanus but it is unlikely people would be here without a car.I found the people friendly and helpful. It is a good idea to book restaurants for you and it was no problem if you wanted them to cancel these. The pool areas were lovely and we really felt at home here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We arrived later than planned and were met by Theresa the owner. she fussed over us and the children and was obviously (and quite rightly) very proud of her business and of Hermanus.

Theresa had booked us a table in a local Italian restaurant and taxi transfers for us. Aslo, she had reserved us places on a whale watching boat for the following morning. What excellent service! At this time of year (whale watching time) the restaurants and trips can be very booked up and this forward planning helped us a great deal.

We were shown to our rooms, which were booked as interconnecting. The main room was enormous with a huge bathroom (gorgeous walk in shower) and styled in a comtemporary manner. The children's room was accessed via a private balcony (with sun recliners) and was as big as ours and the bathroom even larger!!!

The house is built on different levels and is furnished in a comtemporary/seaside theme. All the communal areas were large and light with lots of activities for residents (games, books, toys). The bar area (help yourself) was well stocked and had a pool table. Ouside the decked sun area had a small pool.

There are sea views from the property and it is possible to see the whales from the balcony!!

The property is situated on the outskirts of Hermanus, so you do need a taxi to get into the town in the evening. However, just a short stroll down from the property is the coast path which takes you through the nature reserve with access to beautiful white sand beaches, spectacular cliff top views and the ability to view the whales from the coast. We walked into Hermanus from the property via the coastal path, which took us about three hours (with plenty of stops). The children (9 and 11) found this walk OK - but were tired towards the end. Once in Hermanus a quick drink and meal soon revived us!

We only stayed for two nights and on reflection we would have liked to have stayed longer to make the most of the property and the location.

Hermanus has a really great vibe. The bars, restaurants, galleries and shops make this a worth while destination if you're travelling the Garden Route or taking a break from Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlife1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Although a few miles from Hermanus the properlty was stylish and really well furnished. We were given a tour of the house by Oscar upon arrival and promptly saw whales bobbing up and down in the sea from the pool view! We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Lovely breakfasts and very polite staff.
We also went out on a whale spotting boat which was excellent and saw whales, seals and penguins - magical!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

A georgeous guest house with amazing rooms, a little off the beaten track, you can walk in to the town centre, but not lots of streetlights, we had a car, so it was great.

On arrival they had provisionally booked us on the whale watching trip, which we could cancel if we wanted but at least we knew we had a space - which was fantastic and definitely not something to miss - we saw literally hundreds of whales, and some babys. We also saw lots of whales from the shore which was a great sight. I couldn't reccommend Hermanus and the Whales tale enough - fantastic, beautiful place and great hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We arrived in Hermanus coming from Cape Town. We were quite disappointed by the location of the hotel as we had no car and it was an hour and a half walk from the town of Hermanus. The hotel itself was clean but quite sterile and cold. We were also taken aback by the fact that restaurants and excursions had been booked on our behalf without our permission and with no mention of the cost. While you could cancel the reservations, we thought this was a little too liberal. The manageress tried to come across as friendly and helpful in recommending trips and places to eat, but she just came across as obnoxious and overpowering.
We went on two trips while we were there, Whale watching from the Harbour, which was good, apart from the sea sickness! We also went shark cage diving with Bryan MacFarlane who is a bit of an enigma down there! That trip was phenomenal, we saw 15 different great whites and were well looked after.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in Hermanus, mainly because of Francois a taxi man who brought us around and made our stay memorable. We won't be returning to the Whales Tale, mainly because of its location, if you are planning on staying, make sure you have a car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

The owner of the whales tale is incredibly unfriendly.She was sarcastic, patronising and rude and for tis reason I would avoid this guesthouse like the plague

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abc123_org
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
3.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale's Tale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale's Tale

Property: Whale's Tale
Address: No 29 11th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale's Tale 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Whale's Tale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing