We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pelagus House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelagus House
Ranked #42 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Davis, California
1 review
“Superb hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Upon our arrival at Pelagus guest lodge we were greeted by two very friendly ladies. We were shown to our room and given a tour of the property. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable with a beautiful view. The garden is beautifully kept and everthing on the inside and outside are clean and well maintained . We has lunch at a Restaurant recommended by our hosts which was excellent.. They also recommended activities and a wine tour was quicly organised for us for the next morning. All our bookings was made by the ladies.Breakfast was superb with a big buffet table and the omelets were to die for.Although the guest houses was fully booked and the diningroom packed Mara and Analine had time to talk to all their guests and made them feel welcome and that while they prepared the hot breakfasts. We cannot thank them enough they made us feel like royals. Your hospitality was overwhelming

Room Tip: TRy any of the room they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    40
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
25
88
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

A Well located,clean guesthouse with a good breakfast offered is ruined by the incompetent and rude management team of mother & daughter. You as guest dare not question their authority and the way they run "their" guesthouse.The manageresses took it very personal when i merely questioned a couple of issues :
1. My room had a bath only and i would have preferred a room with a shower-no attempt was made to swop the room with another
2. The whole gusethouse is under lock-down from 4pm onwards.You cannot open the slding doors to enjoy the view or cool breeze.There are no aircons which means with everything closed ,the whole house becomes very warm.Your options are to stay in your room with a ceiling fan or make use of a upstairs zoned balcony.You are not allowed to use the part of the balcony that runs in front of the honeymoon suite.
3. The parking area has no shade except 1 palm tree in the middle.I saw other guests park their vehicles under the tree for some relief from the hot sun and did the same.The next morning when i arrived for breakfast i was reprimanded for parking under the tree.A note was also left on my windscreen. What upset me was that i was chosen to be made an example of and the other guests who made the same infringement before me was not treated in the same manner.
4.Because i found both manageresses unaccommodating with no empathy for their gusts needs and concerns i requsted to speak to the owner.This seemed to upset the manageress even further.I was told that the owner(who is the mothers brother) does not speak to guests.All i wanted to do was sort the issues that i had out with the owner ,in a amicable and civil manner.

I was told that they do not have time for "difficult" guests and was asked to take my things and go.They found it within their right to get personal with me ,yet they were happy to take my money.
We came to an arrangement that i would leave the next morning and pay only for the days spent and not the remainder of days booked.
The next morning when i handed my keys in, the mother threatened me that her brother Derrick is not somebody to play with and that he will get the rest of the money out of me.
I was told to get in my car and get out of there immediately. I was chased out of there like a stray dog.
It seems that the manageresses motto is "It is their way or the highway." It also seems that they bend over backwards for the overseas guests but not for South Africans.
Not once was the question put to me : "what can WE do to make your stay more pleasant?"
Another thing i found strange was the 1 hour time window for breakfast - between 8 & 9 am.
I have never come across such an arrangement at any hotel/guesthouse.
The mother/daughter combo have zero people skills and i have NEVER been treated this badly by any hotel/guesthouse or any service provider for that matter.
Absolutely shocking!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANDREAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pellanauta, General Manager at Pelagus House, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We concur with Andreas C – it was indeed a “HORREBLE EXPERIENCE” for us a management as well. In all our years in hospitality management we have never come across such blatant hostility and illogic anger. This guest was requested to park his rented vehicle in an allocated parking bay (8 days into his 14 night booking). For some reason this totally enraged him to such a degree that he wanted to check out immediately. As this was during our high season he was informed that he will be liable for the room rate should we not be able to sell his room for the remainder of the nights he booked but did not stay. He still owes us money for 3 nights and we suspect this is why he has now written this awful review in an attempt to hurt the Pelagus brand and insult its managers but also as an attempt to get his account waived in return for removing this review. He was never given any personal information regarding the owners of this establishment whom are not personally related in any way to management. When he requested that the owner contact him he was informed in a very polite professional manner that management is authorized to handle all complaints as this was a family owned but management run business. He made his own conclusion as to the relationship between owner and manager. When he insisted on having the name of the owner, it was revealed to him by management. He was informed that the outstanding account will be recovered from him and that in an extreme case the owner will become involved. His comment of the owner not being someone to play with is completely untrue and again he is aiming at implicating the owner and hurting the Pelagus brand. We might mention that during his stay this guest had very harsh words and comments about our wonderful local taxi service, complained about the way our gardener trimmed his plants and made rude comments about other guests’ driving abilities. We have already requested that this review be removed due to a host of violations of Tripadvisor guidelines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night only in Pelagus House.
Very friendly, informed and engaged management
General room and guesthouse cleanliness and maintenance impeccable. Stylish decor and tranquil ambiance. Good breakfast, with all basic choices covered.
Convenient central location for Hermanus.
Definitely recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Pelagus Guest House. It is a beautiful guest house with very friendly personnel and warm and helpful hostesses. It is close enough to the the town for a stroll to the lovely restaurants and is situated close to the sea to enjoy spectacular sea views.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Not much to say about this cozy Guesthouse, perfectly located in Hermanus. The treat of the ladies is fantastic, and they make you feel like home. The rooms are correct, facilities great and breakfast and location are fantastic. I wont bother to look for somewhere else when I will be back for sure next year. Only one thing to improve, the Internet connection! (Which unfortunately I had to use due to the huge storm that passed by for 2 days).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose_Bustamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the penthouse. Two bedrooms, 3 terrasses and a great living area. Comfortable and spacious. Good breakfast. Location, just outside the center of Hermanus, is super. The ladies who run the place are very very friendly and they help with all the excursions you want. They even called us to come a day earlier for the whales and sharks because of the weather. Great service!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ferlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in Room 1 which was beautifully furnished with a stunning view of the ocean. Mara and Anneline are excellent hosts, making us feel very welcome and value guests. Breakfast was scrumptious ! The room was very well decorated and furnished, a huge bathroom with walk-in shower and large ocean view terrace. The location is perfect, a 5 minute stroll to the centre and yet far enough away to be peaceful. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best view, large terrace and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Nautilus Cottage
Nautilus Cottage
#11 of 42 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenjockity Apartments
Kenjockity Apartments
#12 of 42 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#31 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#6 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#22 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelagus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagus House

Property: Pelagus House
Address: 11 Church Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelagus House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF 1 MARCH 2014 Pelagus Guest House is situated in Hermanus, South Africa - a picturesque little town, world renowned for its beauty, whales and champagne air. Our guest house offers you accommodation in Hermanus that has all the elements necessary for a stay that is truly special. Our position, our style and our dedication to the highest standards ensure that the accommodation we provide meets your expectations. A spectacular view of the ocean and the sound of waves greet you on arrival at Pelagus Guest House; you'll awake to the smell of a fresh sea breeze and seaside sounds every morning and you'll be able to relax on the patio and enjoy the vista of Walker Bay whenever it pleases you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pelagus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing