We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Pelagus House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelagus House
Ranked #43 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night only in Pelagus House.
Very friendly, informed and engaged management
General room and guesthouse cleanliness and maintenance impeccable. Stylish decor and tranquil ambiance. Good breakfast, with all basic choices covered.
Convenient central location for Hermanus.
Definitely recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    40
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
26
88
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Pelagus Guest House. It is a beautiful guest house with very friendly personnel and warm and helpful hostesses. It is close enough to the the town for a stroll to the lovely restaurants and is situated close to the sea to enjoy spectacular sea views.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Not much to say about this cozy Guesthouse, perfectly located in Hermanus. The treat of the ladies is fantastic, and they make you feel like home. The rooms are correct, facilities great and breakfast and location are fantastic. I wont bother to look for somewhere else when I will be back for sure next year. Only one thing to improve, the Internet connection! (Which unfortunately I had to use due to the huge storm that passed by for 2 days).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose_Bustamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the penthouse. Two bedrooms, 3 terrasses and a great living area. Comfortable and spacious. Good breakfast. Location, just outside the center of Hermanus, is super. The ladies who run the place are very very friendly and they help with all the excursions you want. They even called us to come a day earlier for the whales and sharks because of the weather. Great service!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ferlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in Room 1 which was beautifully furnished with a stunning view of the ocean. Mara and Anneline are excellent hosts, making us feel very welcome and value guests. Breakfast was scrumptious ! The room was very well decorated and furnished, a huge bathroom with walk-in shower and large ocean view terrace. The location is perfect, a 5 minute stroll to the centre and yet far enough away to be peaceful. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best view, large terrace and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overath, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came - as always in Southafrica - without reservation but could get a seafront room. Room and breakfast were excellent, early mornings a bit noisy from the street. Got very helpfull information about things to do and for dining. On very short term a reservation for shark diviing at the same day was arranged which turned out to very good.We will come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recently we were lucky enough to stumble on the Pelagus/Nautilus guest house in Hermanus and were very pleasantly surprised by our stay. Not only was the accommodation clean, comfortable and nicely appointed but we were blown away by the friendliness and helpfulness of Mara and Annalie who together run the guest house. Our stay coincided with some difficult personal decisions and the help and support offered by the mother/daughter team was way beyond our expectations. A very big thank you to the management at the guest house ... we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 213traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.0 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.0 mi away
Nautilus Cottage
Nautilus Cottage
#11 of 41 in Hermanus
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#31 of 86 in Hermanus
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenjockity Apartments
Kenjockity Apartments
#13 of 41 in Hermanus
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#23 of 86 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelagus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagus House

Property: Pelagus House
Address: 11 Church Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelagus House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF 1 MARCH 2014 Pelagus Guest House is situated in Hermanus, South Africa - a picturesque little town, world renowned for its beauty, whales and champagne air. Our guest house offers you accommodation in Hermanus that has all the elements necessary for a stay that is truly special. Our position, our style and our dedication to the highest standards ensure that the accommodation we provide meets your expectations. A spectacular view of the ocean and the sound of waves greet you on arrival at Pelagus Guest House; you'll awake to the smell of a fresh sea breeze and seaside sounds every morning and you'll be able to relax on the patio and enjoy the vista of Walker Bay whenever it pleases you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pelagus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing