We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service I ever got!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Ranked #8 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best service I ever got!”
Reviewed April 16, 2009

This place is amazing. We only stayed 2 nights but could have stayed a whole week. It is beautiful and offers the best service one could wish for!
This even started before we even got there. We came in the high tourist season and since the staff worried about not getting tables at local restaurants during the time they contacted our travel agency and checked if it was OK that they had booked restaurants for our stay. The chosen places were wonderful (one directly at the harbor, just a 5 minute walk away, the other one a lovely small seafood restaurant) and not pricey at all! Food was delicious!
Then - when you check in you get to put down a time when you want your morning tea to be served to your room! Never had i even imagined something like that.
It was a bit chilly there and when we got cold we simply called the reception and within few minutes we got a tray with tea, fresh coffee and cookies to our room - free of charge! Breakfast buffet was lovely, too.
There is a lady that offers massages - we took a hot stone massage and it felt just great!
Also, the staff was very helpful booking activities: like boat trip (the whale season was over so they suggested an eco tour) - when the weather was rough in the morning, they informed us it was cancelled but went through lenghts to book something else (horse back riding through the Fynbos).
Rooms were great, too, the garden and pool lovely. It is a perfect place to relax and enjoy South Africa!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keppu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    78
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
193
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nIreland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Stayed here for one night and loved it. Will definitely be back to stay longer. Beautiful building, extensive garden and each room decorated individually. Staff friendly and loved the honesty bar!
Bracing walk along cliff top to village centre which has lots of little shops, restaurants.

  • Liked — hotel appearance and atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nIrelandPcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

An exceptional Guesthouse in relaxing and beautiful surroundings. Our room was large and restful with garden views on 3 sides.

We were only there 2 nights but could easily have stayed in the Guesthouse a month.

A warm thanks to everyone there who made our stay so delightful and a special mention must go to Bertha (the Basset Hound)

I would also like to mention a charming little restaurant recommeded to us by the owners. The Cuckoo Tree. Well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosemaryHermanus, Owner at Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2008
Hello there,

What wonderful things you wrote about the Lodge. Thank you so much and very much appreciated. I don't check TripAdvisor that often and came across your review this morning much to my surprise! Do come back and see us again sometime.

With very best wishes from us all

Two leggeds, four leggeds (particularly Bertha) and floaters

SHELAGH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2007

The Whale Rock Lodge in Hermanus was a superb place to stay! My wife located the website via Google. We took a chance and hit the jackpot!! The facilities are 5 star, the owner and staff (particularly Handli) very hospitable and helpful and the price -- reasonable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the Whale Rock Lodge to anyone seeking a beautiful respite in the Hermanus area.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kappara, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2006

Two nights in this place felt like being back at home. Walking into the reception you are greeted by friendly dogs; all the furniture is classical/ antique and every area is elegantly appointed. Our suite was extremely comfortable, with large french windows overlooking the perfectly manicured lawn. There is a large pool in the gardens and two ponds full of lovely Japanese koy fish.
Complementary afternoon tea is served wherever you are on the premises and port is served in the evening!
Breakfast is cooked fresh for you, with a good selection to choose from.
The staff were all very helpful in suggesting and booking restaurants and the obligatory whale watching cruise! They even went out of their way to send our passports on to our next destination after we forgot them behind in the room safe!!

  • Liked — Home comforts
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room facing the gardens
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.0 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
662 reviews
3.5 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
886 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Rock Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Rock Luxury Lodge

Property: Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Address: 26 Springfield Avenue | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Whale Rock Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Rock Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge is considered to be one of the most beautiful buildings in Hermanus and recently had a complete internal makeover into a warm contemporary style. Situated across the road from the New Harbour and the start of the cliff path, it is but a 3 minute walk down to the edge of the cliff and a 5 minute drive to the centre of town. The Lodge has 11 beautifully decorated en suite Rooms & Suites, extensive and well manicured lawns and gardens, a koi pond and probably one of the the largest swimming pools in Hermanus and it is solar heated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whale Rock Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing