We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a stay”
Review of Auberge Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Provence
Ranked #2 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Very close to Hermanus shopping & you have private access to the cliffs in order too see the whales. Beautiful setting & very romantic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    52
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
339
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2009

The Auberge Provence is a beautiful guest house, superbly managed by Belinda and provides the ideal location to view whales and visit the surrouding area. The staff are friendly and deliver wonderful service. A must stay guest house if visiting Hermanus.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolferSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We have stayed twice at AP; I hope to return to Hermanus and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. My wife and I awoke one morning to the sound of whales 'blowing' right in front of our room - that should tell you about the location! Go for the first floor front rooms if possible. Belinda the Manageress attends to everything - dinner bookings, trips, golf - whatever; she can almost kill one with kindness but if you want to change something she has arranged for you it is never a problem - she really doesn't mind. Breakfast is prepared fresh to order, the rooms are excellent. 10 minutes walk from 'downtown', 2 minutes in the car. AP even has an all night security guard, not that I ever felt initmidated in Hermanus. Writing this makes me want to go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I originally came to Hermanus to see the Southern Right Whales. I have now been three years running to see these beautiful animals. The experience was enhanced by Belinda and her team at the Auberge Provence. The place is spotless, friendly, unhurried and the staff are always helpful.

My tip would be to ask for a sea view room, sleep with the window open and be serenaded by the whales singing and playing in the ocean below. This is a reality not a good marketing ploy.

Loved the whales, loved Hermans and loved the Auberge Provence.

Rob Clark

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This modern and peaceful haven is very nicely decorated.Our room overlooked the ocean with plenty of whale activity.
Friendly and helpful staff.
A drive into town to eat at night - a little far to walk after dark. Taxis are plentiful though.
A very nice guest house. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenilworthHyacinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We spent two nights of our honeymoon in the capable hands of Belinda and her staff at the Auberge and are now firmly in love with Hermanus. The accomodation is elegant, comfortable and beautifully positioned on the clifftop with a view that makes you excited to wake up in the morning. On our second morning we watched the whales from our bed!!!! The breakfast is AMAZING! From the fruit smoothies to the bran muffins and full english . . . yum! The manageress is very friendly and booked us our two evening meals at local restuarants. We would recommend the Harbour Rock! We also went to Bientangs Cave which is a must. Great White shark diving nearby was also brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Gorgeous place, magnificent service, friendly people...everything was perfect. We would recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
919 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Provence

Property: Auberge Provence
Address: 25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge Provence 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the cliffs, overlooking the whale watcher’s paradise of Walker Bay is an intimate French Provencal retreat.Built around a romantic central courtyard, with a cool charcoal and travertine pool, you can enjoy sumptuous breakfasts under a grapevined terrace, on the seafront or opposite the fireplace in the stylish dining room. For a romantic getaway choose a suite with your own Jacuzzi or plunge pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing