We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Vue Guest House
Ranked #17 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed March 25, 2009

What a find! We stayed for only one night during our recent South Africa trip but we couldn't have asked for better. We had the Southern Right Suite which gave us superb sea views, satellite TV, a king-sized bed, a huge walk-in shower, a separate spa bath, and his'n'her wash-hand basins. All this for the equivalent of less than £100. Plus a breakfast that seemed to go on for ever. Sanmarie and Barry do everything possible to make sure that their guests feel at home, including the national flag on display for their arrival. We have no hesitation in recommending Harbour Vue to others.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    47
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
241
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Our stay at Harbour Vue was faultless, we had a sea facing room which was lovely, the staff were friendly, helpful and professional and I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to even the most critical guest. The rooms were spotless and were even made up while we were at breakfast. The breakfast also was lovely with a large selection to choose from i.e. full English or cold buffet. We very much hope to be able to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIlivedhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My wife and I so enjoyed this guest house last year that we decided to visit again. And we're so pleased we did! The house and rooms are still every bit as luxurious and comfortable; Jan and the lovely SanMarie still as welcoming as before. But now there is an added bonus in the form of the wonderful Barry! Nothing was too much trouble for him and our stay, although sadly too brief, was made that much more enjoyable thanks to his ready humour and personal attention. This place is firmly at the top of our favourite places to stay and it will take something really special to knock it off its lofty perch.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms and the views from our balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThePitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

This is a real gem, Managed by Barry who is a real character and can't do enough for you. Whatever your nationality Barry will have your country's flag flying upon arrival (nice little touch).
The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is a feast.
The guest house is situated about 20 minutes walk to the town along the most beautiful cliff path which is a great experience to walk to town after breakfast watching the whales.
Pretty safe to walk to town at night, but I would recommend the road rather than the cliff path (very dark).
Off road parking available, but no problem if you had to leave the car outside in this safe residential area.
There are many guest houses near to town but I would highty recommend this one.
My wife and I only planned to stay one night but liked the guest house and Hermanus so much we stayed for three.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good location and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Etypejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

We stayed in Hermanus at Harbour Vue for 2 nights in December, based on other reviews, and we were not disappointed by our choice.

Our room faced the sea and had a large bath and separate walk-in shower. It was the perfect place to sit and enjoy the views with a glass of wine, before heading out to dinner.

Barry was the perfect host, right from the initial welcome. Although we did not see any whales from our room, Barry rang across the bay to track them down. We felt we were very lucky to see them so late in the year!

Harbour Vue is approximately 30-40 minutes walk from the village centre and it is safe to walk there during the day.

We ate at two places situated at the new harbour, about 10 minutes walk. Both served good food.

We really enjoyed our stay at Harbour Vue !

  • Liked — You were so comfortable, it was like home !
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarkAddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We stayed at Harbour Vue for one night this past August. It felt like we were staying at a home away from home, rather than a guest house! Everything from the ambience to the breakfast was wonderful. We had a gorgeous view of the ocean from our bedroom, although we didn't see any whales from our balcony. The location was perfect too, since it is only a short walk to the pier from where you can take whale-watching trips.
Sanmarie and Barry were truly thoughtful hosts. We were surprised and grateful when they went completely out of their way to deliver our passports and wallets to us, which we had forgotten in the bedroom safe.
We hope to get a chance to visit again soon!

  • Liked — Warm hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoMoDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

All the reviews which say how wonderful this guest house is have got it right - it is such a lovely place to stay and Barry is such a character! We would not hesitate to stay here again; our room was so comfortable and attractively laid out. With the whales right outside (and in the pretty town of Hermanus) it really was the perfect place to stay.

  • Liked — The beautiful room and sea views (and whales)
  • Disliked — Not applicable as everything was lovely.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Vue Guest House

Property: Harbour Vue Guest House
Address: 84 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Vue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay and the new harbour in Hermanus, Harbour Vue Guest House offers superb 4 star luxury accommodation for business or leisure. The suites are tastefully and individually decorated with high quality finishes, each with en-suite bathrooms. Views are simply spectacular. Relax on the balcony while sipping a sundowner ... life doesn't get better than this. From the Neptune, Fynbos and Southern Rights you can lie in bed and watch the Southern Right Whales at play in the bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Vue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing