We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts - wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour Vue Guest House
Ranked #17 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had such a wonderful experience at Harbour Vue - we only stayed one night but we wished we had a week there! Our family of 4 arrived very late (after 11pm) as we had flown in to Cape Town that evening and our flight was delayed. Sanmarie was waiting up for us and was so kind despite the late hour; she had even left us a tray with all kinds of snacks, 2 bottles of wine, and water. It was the perfect late night dinner after our horrendous travel day. Due to a miscommunication we had requested one bedroom to be made up as twin beds but it was made up as a king when we arrived, and Sanmarie insisted that we take another empty room to avoid an adult brother and sister having to sleep in the same bed. On top of that, she did not charge us for this 3rd room and actually refused to let us pay for it the next morning when we tried! The accommodations were incredibly comfortable and clean. Barry is a wonderful host who served us an incredible breakfast the next morning (fruit, cereals, homemade bread and muffins, along with strong coffee and a full English breakfast if desired). We couldn't believe how much we loved our very short stay at this property and would stay there again in a heartbeat - next time for much longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Vue Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 340 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a perfect property for our quick one night whistle stop whale visit! Barry is extremely genuine and friendly and was only too happy to accommodate all our requests - iron and early Brekkie. His breakfast was excellent too- fruits salad, cereals, cooked and delicious muesli bread and bran muffins. Our room was large and had a great view of the bay- I could have sat there watching the whales all day. Barry's suggestion for dinner was also spot on and very well priced honesty bar. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thank you to the staff at Harbour View for making our stay in Hermanus truely memorable. Nothing was too much trouble, and they created a home-from-home enviroment for our family. We loved it!! Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights to allow us time to explore Hermanus and the surrounds. Good clean bedroom, breakfast room and lounge. Our room had sea view and balcony, just great for chilling and whale watching. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mtn963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a very pretty guest house just opposite the ocean where one can view whales without even leaving one's room. Barry is a friendly, personable host and the rooms are comfy and attractive. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied as well. My only quibble is that noise carries quite a lot in this house although, to be fair, it didn't stand in the way of a good night sleep in the comfortable bed. This is a solid offering at a good price and we were pleased with our night at the Harbour Vue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for a 4-day weekend in early October and were very pleased with our choice. We were in the Fynbos room which has an ocean view. The host, Barry, makes an amazing cooked breakfast and is very knowledgeable about the area and we followed a number of his suggestions and were delighted. Visiting De Kelders is worth the 30 minute drive and the Rotary drive up the hill rewards you with an amazing view of Hermanus. We would definitely stay there again. Next time I would like to see more TV channels on offer since the guesthouse is rated 4 stars. There were two pay-TV channels. Sanmanie, the owner of Harbour Vue, also runs Oskars in town and the food there is well worth popping in for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDLRJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife & I have stayed at Harbour Vue a number of times....& the fact that we keep going back speaks volumes.....the rooms, the service & the tasty breakfasts are all first class. Barry has become more of a good friend & is ALWAYS prepared to go that extra mile to accomodate one!

Room Tip: ....definitely a room with a view of the sea....especially so when the whales are in the bay!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
930 reviews
0.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.0 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Vue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Vue Guest House

Address: 84 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $19 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Vue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bay and the new harbour in Hermanus, Harbour Vue Guest House offers superb 4 star luxury accommodation for business or leisure. The suites are tastefully and individually decorated with high quality finishes, each with en-suite bathrooms. Views are simply spectacular. Relax on the balcony while sipping a sundowner ... life doesn't get better than this. From the Neptune, Fynbos and Southern Rights you can lie in bed and watch the Southern Right Whales at play in the bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harbour Vue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing