We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale watching Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
On the Cliff Guest House
Ranked #19 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Whale watching Paradise!”
Reviewed September 20, 2009

The owners Charmaine and Hylton really do make this place, as does the view from the rooms. We arrived around 6pm and were shown to our room on the ground floor by Charmaine and Hylton. The room was spacious with 3 single beds with massive double doors and a view to die for. We took our Pinotage and 3 glasses down onto the cliffs and sat on rocks/bench and had perfect sundowners. A whale even came along to say hello and make our evening!

Charmaine and Hylton booked a table for us at Harbour Rock, which was just perfect. Great food and we took our own wine 'Robertson - Springfield - Life from a stone'. We got up at 6.30 and went to the Point to watch the sunrise and whales playing before enjoying a leisurely breakfast chatting to Charmaine and Hylton. They are so passionate and knowledgeable of the area. We could have sat their all day chatting as they really are fantastic hosts. Hylton has a wicked, dry sense of humour and a twinkle in his eye when telling stories. They recommended that we went to Grotto beach for a walk, which really didn't disappoint. The following day Charmaine and Hylton booked a Whale watching trip for us, which was good, although, I have to say, we saw more whales from the shore and didn't have to suffer the sea-sickness and dent in our wallets!

I have to say, Hermanus really was a highlight of our 2 week trip along the garden route and I would recommend 'on the cliffs'. We had a great stay and thank Charmaine and Hylton for making it so special.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    64
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
168
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Charmaine and Hylton, the owners, are fantastic. They will organise anything for you, know the town really well and are so laid back that you feel that you are settling into a family home as welcome members. You are given your own keys and are free to come and go as you please. Can't get a taxi back from town, call and they will pick you up. The rooms are large and very comfortable, the place is spotless. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We chatted for ages after breakfast and were never made to feel that we should clear out and let them get on. This really is somewhere that we will return to and certainly recommend to all our friends. And to the person who thought that the dining room was outdated, it has either been re-done or tastes differ, we found it quiet and tasteful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukeyAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at this guesthouse in the main suite. The room was huge (had a large sitting room, large bedroom and bathroom/dressing area) and views were amazing. The location is handy, located along the cliff walk for easy access to Hermanus which we were assured was very safe. Views from the walk were great too.

There was handy off street parking and its only a couple of mins drive from the centre of Hermanus.

Would definitely recommend this guesthouse - try get a room on the first floor for those amazing views though!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillysocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed for one night at Onthecliff, and it was lovely! The owners were away, but Dennis & Estelle made us feel very welcome and accommodated our every need!
It is gated guest house with off road parking. You are given your own fob key, so you can come and go as you please.
We were given the 'Pieter suite' after I had emailed Charmaine requesting something "romantic & secluded". She did not disappoint us! The suite was HUGE! It had a separate lounge area, with a sofa overlooking the ocean through patio doors. The bedroom was very nicely decorated, with a very large bed, and again, patio doors leading onto what can only be described as a very, very large balcony! There was a walk-in wardrobe area, that lead into a lovely bathroom where there was a bath big enough for two which again, overlooked the ocean. There was also a separate shower.
The balcony was the entire length of the suite and was amazing for whale and dolphin watching.
Breakfast was nice, but we felt that the decor of the breakfast room was a little dated and it let the rest of this lovely guest house down.
We requested a taxi, but Dennis kindly offered to drive us to our chosen restaurant, and then picked us up from there when we were finished!
We would recommend the 'Harbour Rock' restaurant which isn't in town, but overlooks the ocean. Go for drink in 'Geckos' next to the restaurant first, where you can watch seals playing in the surf. The barman will take your drinks through to the restaurant when you're ready to eat. If you like fish, have a fish platter for two or more, absolutely delicious!
We would definitely recommend the guest house, and we would suggest that you go for a first floor room as the views are better if you're whale watching.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary73Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Completely agree with the other positive reviews. We staying at On the Cliffs for 2 nights on our honeymoon on the garden route. We had a room on the 1st floor with a large balcony to watch the whales from - and they didn't disappoint, with two whales 100 yards off the cliff on full view the moment we stepped into the room!

The guest house feels like a private home, but very nicely laid out with large rooms. Charmaine was very welcoming and ready to give advice on activities and sights.

The location is perfect - right on the cliff path for walking into town in one direction and within walking distance of the harbour in the other (for evening meals at the splendid seafood restaurant (Harbour Rock), although take a torch for the return walk along the unlit coast path!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentishtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at the On the Cliff for two nights as part of our honeymoon. Charmaine was brilliant - very welcoming. She also booked our restaurants for us which were great. The view from our very large bedroom was amazing and it was only a short walk to town. We can highly recommend.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriTreadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in November 08 after carefully researching (using Trip Advisor) where to stay & were not disappointed. If you stay anywhere in Hermanus this is where it must be. We were given an upgrade to the penthouse suite & it was amazing. It had a huge sitting room, bedroom & a bathroom with views of the bay & a balcony.The views of the bay with the whales was out of this world & a short cliff top walk took us into Hrmanus in 15 minutes. You must give On the Cliffs a try.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, freshness, views.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Cliff Guest House

Property: On the Cliff Guest House
Address: 42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront luxury guest house with sea views from all rooms. Sauna, heated pool, pub, gym, guest lounges, bicycles and more. Situated with the cliff paths directly in front of the house and beautiful views of the whales in season from your room. Shark cage diving, whale viewing, diving, horse riding, fantastic beaches and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your On the Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing