We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatsic stay in a beautiful house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
On the Cliff Guest House
Ranked #21 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed with our sons, aged 12 and 14, from 20-23 Aug 2008. Great rooms! My wife and I enjoyed the 1st floor views, and the boys liked the fact they had "their own garden" downstairs. Everyone was happy and the whales put on a show too. But it is the easy and charming style of Charmaine and Hylton as hosts that really make On the Cliff. Many thanks to them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grantem2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 286 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2008

Stayed at property for 2 nights and we echo all the comments of previous review. We knew from past comments that it should be good and it didn't disappoint.

The house is absolutely gorgeous and the bedrooms are fantastic. You can see the sea from ground floor but without hesitation, the first floor rooms are amazing. The sea views are fantastic and as we were there in middle of whale watching season, you could sit in bed or on balcony and spot whales. We saw loads of Southern Right whales.

If you have a ground floor room then not a problem as the cliff walk is yards away and it is just beautiful to sit out on the many benches gazing at the ocean.

The rooms are spacious, clean and generally very well appointed.

The breakfast was very good and Charmaine is a lovely and very interesting host.

This place sums up why we try to use Trip Advisor to source lovely bed and breakfast places which give you far better rooms at a price which is lower than hotels. The personal advice from hosts is also worth a lot.

We loved Hermanus as well. Perhaps the town is nothing special but it is so relaxing just walking along the cliff path. This is a town with a very safe feel which you cannot say everywhere in South Africa. We had no concerns walking to/from town at night.

The Harbour Rock Restaurant was recommended by Charmaine and this was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubagary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

On the Cliff is a must stay in Hermanus, Charmaine is the friendliest host we have ever met & made out stay in Hermanus truly memorable! The view from our room was out of this world, upon being shown to our room Charmaine was helping us spot whales straight away! The standard of the room is very high with under floor heating being a great addition to the room in winter, it had everything & more we needed. The breakfast was great & it was really nice of Charmaine to take time out of her day to sit with us & tell us some amazing stories! She booked us on a great whale watching tour & recommended some great restaurants! I cannot recommend On the Cliff enough, you must stay here if you are thinking of visiting Hermanus. They have private parking & a friendly guard dog, Princess, a great honestly bar & have direct access to the cliff paths! The best guest lodge we stayed in on our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gembo_notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Cannot recommend this lovely guest house highly enough! Charmaine and Hylton are wonderful hosts - they could not do enough for us but were never imposing. Our room was most impressive - very large, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were lovely and offered plenty of choice. The house was in a very good location - right on the cliffs as the name suggests (across a not too busy road) at what we thought was the nicer end of town. In front of the property is a locally famous cliff path that is well maintained and gives good views of to sea. Of course Hermanus is famous for whale watching. Sadly we missed that particular pleasure by a month or so but in season you could sit on your bed or balcony and watch them just a few yards away! There are a number of beaches in and around Hermanus - we thought the best was Grotto Beach at the other end of town - miles of white sand and quiet even in mid summer (but with clean loos and a handy place for lunch or drinks close to the car park). Charmaine recommended that we try the Harbour Rock restaurant (above the working harbour). We went twice and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, the food and the wine. Would recommend booking or suggest arrive early as it is very popular. We would not hesitate in recommending this very impressive guest house to our best friends and we would certainly return next time we are in Hermanus. Final tip - if you take the coast road back to Cape Town - look out for Stoney Point. Thanks to Hylton's excellent suggestion we found a colony of native African penguins - there are still boardwalks and a small entrance fee but much less Disney and more rugged than Boulders on the Cape Peninsula!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Anderida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at On the Cliff guest house, and once again had an amazing time! The house and rooms are extremely comfortable, spacious and elegant. Views are breathtaking! And at the pool and relaxation areas, one can only feel at home. The lovely hosts, Charmaine and Hylton are welcoming, happy to assist, and great breakfast conversationalists. A definite recommendation! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BeanTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

On the Cliffs is a wonderful guest house situated in an ideal location with wonderful rooms and more importantly terrific on-site owners. My husband and I loved our visit at On the Cliffs and Hermanus and we really enjoyed Charmaine and her husband Hylton (not sure if that's the spelling).

Our room was terrific (very spacious) and the balcony to relax and watch the whales was incredible. Often when staying at a guest house/B&B the owners are either not there or if they are, they keep a distance. Not Charmaine and Hylton. During breakfast they are right there in the breakfast room conversing with their guests and sharing stories. We very much enjoyed the discussion/conversation.

There was a little joke between the four of us about 'people' who carry laptops but they were even gracious and kind enough to allow us to use the internet to send a quick e-mail home.

I would return to this guest house tomorrow and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

On the Cliff, Hermanus has a fantastic position overlooking the Indian Ocean. Make sure that you get a first floor room and you can watch whales (Sept - Nov) whilst enjoying a sundowner on your balcony. Our room was ENORMOUS, very comfortable and quiet. Charmaine and Hylton are wonderful hosts and Charmaines excitement at seeing the whales is delightful. Their breakfasts were superb and will see you through until evening!

Charmaine had taken the liberty of booking restaurants for us before we even arrived, because Hermanus is very busy at this time of the year. But her choices were spot on - indeed the meal that we had at Harbour Rock was one of the best. Their seared tuna was fabulous. If you have a restaurant in mind then I suggest you get Charmaine to book it before you arrive.

Whilst On the Cliff is on the main cliff road, it is never really busy, and there is no traffic at night. So don't let its proximity to the read put you off. It really isn't a problem.

On the Cliff is a superb guest house and we are very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.7 mi away
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#8 of 87 in Hermanus
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#20 of 87 in Hermanus
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#45 of 87 in Hermanus
164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#23 of 87 in Hermanus
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Cliff Guest House

Address: 42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $90 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront luxury guest house with sea views from all rooms. Sauna, heated pool, pub, gym, guest lounges, bicycles and more. Situated with the cliff paths directly in front of the house and beautiful views of the whales in season from your room. Shark cage diving, whale viewing, diving, horse riding, fantastic beaches and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing