We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely guest house with lovely owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
On the Cliff Guest House
Ranked #23 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2012

lovely location by the coast, nice and safe walk to the town via the coast.
Food in town is awesome recommended by the owner Charmine, we were also allowed to have breaky in town part of the deal, a lovely touch!

You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipsy_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 283 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

Whales were easily spotted just a hundred meter from the cliff in front of the guest house. A fellow guest told us they saw whales from their balcony before joining us on the cliff. The room was just right for our family of 2 adults a child and a toddler. When we arrived, they had prepared 2 single beds in addition to our king sized bed as they were “not informed of the age of our children”. But when the lady owner saw that we had a toddler, she immediately offered to replace one of the single beds with a baby cot. As it rained on one of the days we were there, we asked her for recommendations on what we could do. She told us to try have a cup of coffee at De Kelders which is about 30 mins away. We went and found Coffee on The Rocks, and were rewarded with sunny weather, great peanut butter milkshake and endless display of up to 7 whales near the coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top floor if you want to whale watch from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyChern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We found the owners to be friendly and helpful and as we were hoping to see the whales were delighted when Charmain called us to come and see a mother whale with her baby swimming nearby.
We found Hilton and Charmain to be great hosts. Our accommodation was excellent a large comfortable rooms with balcony overlooking the sea. The eating opportunities in Hermanus were varied and excellent. We would certainly strongly recommend On the Cliff in Hermanus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was the first place we chose to stay at the beginning of our first ever trip to South Africa, and it certainly set a high standard. We had an upstairs en-suite bedroom with a king size bed, plus an adjacent lounge. The view from the room was over very quiet Westcliff Road to fynbos covered cliffs and the ocean - we couldn't stop looking and smiling.
The guest house is spacious and attractive. The owners are helpful and friendly. It was particularly nice that they came and chatted during breakfast - excellent breakfast by the way.
During our three night stay we never used our car, preferring to walk along the cliff top path either into town, or to the new harbour. It would have been safe to walk back after our evening meals, but we chose to use the local tuktuk. Taxi rides are not normally this much fun!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would certainly return should we visit Hermanus again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Hermanus, the owners and staff at One the Cliff were friendly and helpful and our spacious, modern room looked right out to the sea. It was a short walk into town along the coast path, saw loads of Southern Right Whales and despite indifferent weather had a wonderful few days. The owners recommended a number of places to visit and to eat, all of which were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in Hermanus for two nights in october. The On the Cliff Guesthouse is a grate place to stay. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. We stayed on the first floor and saw several whales from the balcony. From the garden you can walk right on to the cliff path for a walk to the town centre or for whale watching. The hosts provide good service, and travel and diner tips. The breakfast is good, though during our stay sometimes a bit chaotic.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are good for whale watching from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We loved our huge room with the wonderful view of the sea. It was so quiet and peaceful with only the sound of the waves breaking on the rocks to interrrupt the silence. Late one afternoon we had a couple of drinks from the honesty bar and sat with them on our balcony as the sun went went down - glorious! We saw lots of whales while in Hermanus including one from the hotel breakfast room! The walk to the town along the cliff path was delightful and we met several little dassies along the way. Another novelty was the tuk tuks Charmaine ordered for us to take us into town at night. We very much enjoyed talking to Charmaine and her hubby, they were very friendly and natural.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.7 mi away
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
681 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#11 of 86 in Hermanus
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#21 of 86 in Hermanus
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#7 of 86 in Hermanus
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Cliff Guest House

Address: 42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $91 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront luxury guest house with sea views from all rooms. Sauna, heated pool, pub, gym, guest lounges, bicycles and more. Situated with the cliff paths directly in front of the house and beautiful views of the whales in season from your room. Shark cage diving, whale viewing, diving, horse riding, fantastic beaches and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your On the Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing