We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, well-located guest house in whale-watching capital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
On the Cliff Guest House
Ranked #20 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly, well-located guest house in whale-watching capital”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Hermanus, the owners and staff at One the Cliff were friendly and helpful and our spacious, modern room looked right out to the sea. It was a short walk into town along the coast path, saw loads of Southern Right Whales and despite indifferent weather had a wonderful few days. The owners recommended a number of places to visit and to eat, all of which were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    65
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
169
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in Hermanus for two nights in october. The On the Cliff Guesthouse is a grate place to stay. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. We stayed on the first floor and saw several whales from the balcony. From the garden you can walk right on to the cliff path for a walk to the town centre or for whale watching. The hosts provide good service, and travel and diner tips. The breakfast is good, though during our stay sometimes a bit chaotic.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are good for whale watching from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We loved our huge room with the wonderful view of the sea. It was so quiet and peaceful with only the sound of the waves breaking on the rocks to interrrupt the silence. Late one afternoon we had a couple of drinks from the honesty bar and sat with them on our balcony as the sun went went down - glorious! We saw lots of whales while in Hermanus including one from the hotel breakfast room! The walk to the town along the cliff path was delightful and we met several little dassies along the way. Another novelty was the tuk tuks Charmaine ordered for us to take us into town at night. We very much enjoyed talking to Charmaine and her hubby, they were very friendly and natural.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We could not believe it when we arrived - huge room with terrace and sea view; beautiful courtyard pool and sitting room. It is about 20 minutes' walk from downtown Hermanus, but that was half the joy of it: the walk along the clifftops into town was just stunning. We could see whales breaching in the bay as we ate our breakfast. We stayed in a lot of beautiful places during our holiday but this one stood out as the best of the lot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gharghur, Malta
Level Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The guest house is lovely and Charmaine and Hilton are the perfect hosts! If you are lucky enough to stay there ensure you get them to tell you a few tales about their safari expeditions. House has a small swimming pool and sunny courtyard if you want to chill out. Of course there are the terraces overlooking bay and, if you're lucky, whales.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarWilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The owners are wonderful and clearly have worked hard and smart for many years to build this business. Great all around.. Cant fault it!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglophillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We spent one night at On the Cliff and loved it. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. However, what really sets the hotel apart is the location. From your room you can watch whales cavorting in the sea kelp just feet from the cliff's edge. The service was excellent. We visited Hermanus doing research for the Tango in Tahiti travel book. Our focus is affordable, romantic travel for couples and we were looking for a less expensive alternative to the exclusive Birkenhead House. On the Cliff feels like a small boutique hotel with a bit of a Tuscan feel. The rooms and the pool area are quite lovely. Some of the common areas are less well decorated but overall the standard is quite high. Plan on doing lots of walking along the cliff paths in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangointahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
641 reviews
2.3 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Cliff Guest House

Property: On the Cliff Guest House
Address: 42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront luxury guest house with sea views from all rooms. Sauna, heated pool, pub, gym, guest lounges, bicycles and more. Situated with the cliff paths directly in front of the house and beautiful views of the whales in season from your room. Shark cage diving, whale viewing, diving, horse riding, fantastic beaches and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing