We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful little hotel where you can whale-watch from your room...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Cliff Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
On the Cliff Guest House
Ranked #20 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful little hotel where you can whale-watch from your room...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We spent one night at On the Cliff and loved it. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. However, what really sets the hotel apart is the location. From your room you can watch whales cavorting in the sea kelp just feet from the cliff's edge. The service was excellent. We visited Hermanus doing research for the Tango in Tahiti travel book. Our focus is affordable, romantic travel for couples and we were looking for a less expensive alternative to the exclusive Birkenhead House. On the Cliff feels like a small boutique hotel with a bit of a Tuscan feel. The rooms and the pool area are quite lovely. Some of the common areas are less well decorated but overall the standard is quite high. Plan on doing lots of walking along the cliff paths in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tangointahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    64
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
168
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

What a fabulous guest house - it's really a boutique hotel, without the full restaurant facilities. Amazing location and wonderful owners, who couldn't do enough for us. We were blown away by this - completely surpassed any expectations we had. We had three double rooms which were all lovely, with great views too.
There are a couple of fun restaurants for the evening within easy walking distance and it was very pleasant to come back and sit by the pool, which was a total sun-trap, in the afternoons.
We all loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly0502011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie in zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

What a find! This is a lovely guest house with fantastic views over the bay where even last week, dolphins and the resident whales were spotted. The guest house is well looked after and has large rooms, great bathrooms and all have terraces out front, there is plenty of wardrobe space, good tv and a hairdryer provided. It was actually very nice to sit on a proper sofa to watch TV in the evenings rather than only have the bed to lie on. My room was on the ground floor and still had a good view over the harbour. With a small road between the guest house and benches to see the bay from, I had a lovely early morning read from one of the benches for a few hours while taking in the early morning activities around the bay.
Charmaine and Hylton really know how to look after guests. There seemed to be several return visitors and Charmaine could even remember which restaurants they liked from their previous time. Their local knowledge was really outstanding and so their recommendations for eating places were spot on.
Breakfasts are good -excellent freshly made fruit salad, hot breakfast to order and plenty of home made muffins etc started the day off well.
I liked it so much I decided to stay an additional night and was very happy to do this.

Great guest house in a fab location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supervallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

This was our second time to On the Cliff, and we were no less impressed. Sometimes a second visit is not always the same, but in this case, it was even better. This is a fabulous place. The hosts are dedicated to making sure everything is good. The standard of the whole accomodation is superb, and the standard of cleanliness and breakfasts is second to none. We were privileged to have the penthouse suite, and if you consider booking, look at this room, it is EXCEPTIONAL! The guest house is located in a good situation and the views are superb. We cannot praise the place enough, and thanks go to Charmaine & Hylton for all they did to make our time there special. I'm sure we will be back for a third time!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

What a lovely place to start our South African holiday. Rooms were generously proportioned and looked out onto Walker Bay where the whales and their young could be seen. Great B&B with excellent hosts and very good food. would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynsiriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed two nights here, we had a first floor room which had great views over the cliffs and out to sea, and we did see whales from our (huge!) balcony once which was lovely.
The room was very big, very clean and modern, I can't fault it at all. The guest house is on the seafront road which is fairly busy, but we did not hear the traffic noise at all with the balcony doors shut.
Breakfast had a good choice, with a buffet laid out for cold food and a hot breakfast cooked to order.
It is about a 15 minute walk along the cliff path into the centre of Hermanus (the old harbour), which wasn't a problem for us. You can also walk along the cliff path in the other direction to the new harbour.
There is free secure parking on site too.
The guest house owners were really nice and welcoming, all in all it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

A superb location on the cliffs and across the road from a viewing point where whales are frequently seen in the appropriate season. The rooms are large, well furnished and very comfortable. The hosts were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane190797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.9 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#8 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#10 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#14 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Cliff Guest House

Property: On the Cliff Guest House
Address: 42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront luxury guest house with sea views from all rooms. Sauna, heated pool, pub, gym, guest lounges, bicycles and more. Situated with the cliff paths directly in front of the house and beautiful views of the whales in season from your room. Shark cage diving, whale viewing, diving, horse riding, fantastic beaches and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your On the Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing