We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable, pleasant and well run”
Review of Milkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milkwood Lodge
Ranked #36 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
middlesex
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable, pleasant and well run”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We were two couples travelling together and stayed at Milkwood Lodge for 5 days during February.
What we particularly loved is the spaciousness of the rooms and bathrooms with the private patios onto the garden. The rooms were recently refurbished and the crisp white linen and towels made the rooms very inviting. There is a good size swimming pool with loungers and a communal patio with barbeque facilities.
The venue is within easy walking distance from Grotto Beach and the Cliff path. The centre of the Village is only 5 kms away - a 10 minute drive or an hour+ walk on the cliff path. The Hermanus Golf Course is less than 3 kms away. We would recommend Milkwood Lodge to any discerning visitors to Hermanus and will certainly return in future

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pobabs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Linda and Georg are great hosts. Our room was large, very clean and comfortable with a large adjoining bathroom - tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge were provided. We had our own balcony which led to the ample sized swimming pool. We could walk to Grotto beach or drive to the centre of Hermanus in a few minutes. Breakfasts were delicious, a self serve buffet and a hot meal cooked to order, service was excellent. Laundry was returned the same evening. The house is set in lovely gardens with a large barbecue area. Off road secure parking available. We are already planning to return there next year !! Fred and Jane, Cheshire, England.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We have just returned from our Honeymoon , most of which was spend based at the cottage at Milkwood Lodge. We have stayed there now for several years and knew that it was the perfect base for our honeymoon.Everything was exactly as we knew it would be - perfect. Linda and Georg are perfect hosts and do everything possible to make evryone's stay as good as possible. The rooms are beautiful and are decorated and maintained to a very high standard.The excellent staff keep everything spotlessly clean.The pool area is quiet and comfortable and a perfect honeymoon retreat. The beautiful beach and ocean are a short distance away and the ocean can be heard in the quiet of the evening.
Breakfasts were amazing as always with freshly prepared fruit salad different each day, delightful yogurt and pancakes. Cooked breakfasts and continental all include top quality ingredients.
There is lots to do in Hermanus and surrpunding area for Honeynoone couples - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wylliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We found the B&B quite easily to be met by Linda under the Milkwood trees in the garden. What a place! our room was gorgeous, sumptuous and very elegant. The clever use of furnishings and miles of fabrics made it feel like a 5* hotel. I was so impressed. The breakfast service was excellent and the staff courteous. The room had everything we had missed in prevoius accommodation - fridge, mobile air con unit, cork screw and ice cubes!!! I wish we had stayed there longer .............. but maybe next time!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0pHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

This really is a super place to stay in Hermanus. We stayed for 2 nights and found the room spotlessly clean and very spacious, with tea and coffee, an English plug point, plenty of towels etc. A fridge was provided too; stock up on drinks at the nearby 7-11 store down the road. Bathroom was huge, with the usual toiletries etc provided. Large patio doors lead out onto a terrace. Pool looked nice but was too cold for a swim when we were there. Short drive into Hermanus (5 minutes), 5 minutes walk to the gorgeous Grotto Beach. The owner Linda could not have been more helpful & friendly with great hints and tips about the town and further afield. My daughter wanted to see the Whale Crier, so she even telephoned for us to find out where he was. Sumptuous breakfast spread and cooked to order in very tasteful dining room. Negatives? - no sea view (not a problem for us considering how great this place was), wi-fi signal not strong enough for use in room (but can be used in the main house). Errr...that's it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachc146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Milkwood Lodge on our Garden Route trip booked through Trail Finders, this accomodation wasn't in the brochure but they'd sold out of the normal accomodation and offered Milkwood as an alternative..
This was very spacious, well appointed and comfortable place to stay with very helpfull and friendly owners and staff. The breakfast was excellent and on both mornings we had a good chat with the owners.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil1969_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulgong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We arrived in Hermanus early evening from the east, and drove from that side of town to the other looking for suitable lodgings. My daughter said she had seen a nice looking B&B on the edge of town. She was not mistaken. What a wonderful experience we had. The room was spacious, the view dramatic, the food delicious and the pool refreshing, after a long day's driving. The hire car had developed a squealing noise, and being a little concerned, mentioned it to our host. Well, within a flash she had organised a replacement car should we need it!. With amenities and the can-do attitude of the owners, we would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Milkwood Lodge if visiting Hermanus.

  • Liked — The relaxed feel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whale Coast Villa
Whale Coast Villa
#54 of 86 in Hermanus
11 reviews
3.3 mi away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#21 of 86 in Hermanus
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Blu
Villa Blu
#19 of 86 in Hermanus
320 reviews
5.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Lodge

Property: Milkwood Lodge
Address: 152-154 Seventh Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milkwood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guesthouse offering B&B or self-catering within walking distance of two of the swimming beaches and seafront cliff path in Hermanus. Fully equipped luxury one bedroom cottage has two day beds in the lounge/living room for children. All rooms have private entrance and private patio with direct access into the garden. We cater for all dietary requirements, healthy, hearty and vegetarian options available. Secure off street parking, swimming pool and huge garden. Only 3 kms from the Hermanus Golf Club and 5 kms from the centre of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Milkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing