We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so nice to view the whales out of your armchairs on your private terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Eleven Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Second visit to this guesthouse, same room (the suite no 8) : a big room on the first floor, with private terrace and yes, again we could see whales out of the comfort of our armchairs, a great experience.. on top you get an excellent breakfast, huge choice of fruits and yummy pancakes. Hermanus is also a very nice village to walk through. We had lunch (again) at Bientang's cave, so recommendable, but make sure to make reservations weeks upfront or you might be disappointed, we also had dinner in Auberge Burgundy and have mixed feelings on it, food was doable but really nothing more, but then again in Hermanus we didn't find yet a 'real good' restaurant for dinner. Next day although we had lunch in La Vierge wine estate, it's a few kms outside Hermanus on the hemel and aarde road, but food was excellent and paired with even better wines..
So for us, next visit to Hermanus: Ocean Eleven again !!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 324 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at Ocean Eleven for 2 nights on our honeymoon in October 2011. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and, as we were early, our room was not ready so we were invited to relax in the lovely, cosy lounge where we were served tea and cake. The website makes Ocean Eleven look very minimalist and simple but in reality it actually has more character than that with a real colonial feel to it.
We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was huge with a big lounge area, walk in dressing room and lovely bathroom. The suite also had 2 balcony areas one looking out to sea and the other overlooking the swimming pool. We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing on the balcony in the lovely sun chairs and were lucky enough to see whales close to shore from the comfort of the balcony. The staff on reception were very helpful and recommended restaurants, booked trips and organised taxis for us. Our only word of advice would be to prepare to be flexible if booking whale watching boat trips as we were advised by Ocean 11 to go for the 3pm trip which was then cancelled due to high winds so we wasted a day, we didn't feel the risk of cancellation was made clear to us at the time and were a little disappointed. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone visiting Hermanus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

As part of a major birthday celebration friends and my wife and i 'did' South Africa. Hermanus was on the itinerary because of the whales, and it didn't disappoint (we actually saw more whales from our room balcony in Ocean Eleven than we did on the whale watch cruise). At each stage of our holiday we upgraded to the best and this guesthouse more than met the criteria for making our holiday special. lovely rooms, lovely people; great views; excellent breakfast, and the staff could not have been more helpful.

Could not rate this guesthouse highly enough

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 1st floor balcony rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvw1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is truly a beautiful guesthouse located with spectacular views of the sea, which can be enjoyed from your own personal terrace. Staff are very friendly and helpful! Our room was very spacious and elegantly decorated. Breakfast was also good served in a beautiful setting again with views of the ocean. We would stay there again immediately!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The location and setting of the guesthouse is spectacular - we had the chance to watch two whales mating right under the cliffs in front of the guesthouse. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the only issue I found - but nobody else from our party brought it up as an issue - the mould in the bathroom in the mastic around the shower cabin. Otherwise the hotel was spotlessly clean.

You can take advantage of the complimentary port wine, chocolate and crisps in your room or muffins and port wine in the common lounge. The breakfast is a combination of cold buffet with the choice of a la carte eggs, English breakfast etc.

The staff were really nice, friendly and helpful. The receptionist promptly arranged boat whale watching and shark cage diving with their preferred and reliable providers.
During our stay - two nights- the free wi-fi didn't work, the receptionist suggested the local mug & bean restaurant to get connected. This was annoying but seems to be a common problem in South Africa.

All in all, a lovely spot in Hermanus with great sea views.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon. It really is a beautiful guesthouse in the most incredible location. The rooms and the communal areas of the guesthouse were beautifully decorated and nice little touches like complimentary sherry. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The location is simply stunning, right on the cliff, with an undisturbed view of the bay. We were there in September and saw Whales from our balcony - great location!
The only thing that let this place down, and stops it getting an excellent rating was the breakfast, which was a little disapointing, I think it's because it was a quiet time of the year so things had been on show a few times.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon and were considerably underwhelmed by the Guest House.

Let's start with the positives: our room was massive (big even for a 5* hotel), the view is awesome (we managed to lie in bed and watch whales), the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were good.

However.... the place completely lacks character or the personalised service you would expect from somewhere like this. The room cleaning service was poor (rushed whilst we ate breakfast), staff didn't try and engage with us and we received a number of anonymous phones calls where the caller hung up (all at about 7pm each evening).

Worst of all was the fact that the bathroom had no blind/ curtain and therefore anyone on the footpath outside the guest house could easily see us in the shower on the toilet! This we found completely unacceptable and we resorted to piling cushions by the window to give us a bit of privacy.

Overall: Characterless and well overpriced........ but the view is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#7 of 86 in Hermanus
669 reviews
1.9 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#12 of 86 in Hermanus
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#2 of 86 in Hermanus
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Eleven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Eleven Guesthouse

Address: 11 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $185 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Eleven Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Eleven is an Olde Worlde, Cape Cod, Colonial-style guest house, situated on the famous cliffs of Hermanus. The picturesque mountains beyond gently embrace the phenomenal, all encompassing vista of the bay. The main house of Ocean Eleven was built with all the high ceilings, tall windows and teak floors that made Colonial architecture so utterly elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Eleven Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Eleven Guesthouse Hotel Hermanus
Ocean 11 Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing