We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a restfull stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Gum Country Estate
Ranked #11 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a restfull stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2009

When we arrived I was unsure about the hotel but as our stay progressed I did not want to move on. The staff were so friendly and helpfull and if a mistake occured we laughed together and it was quickly rectifed. It is a place to totally unwind and relax. Food excellent but a set menu at night but they would provide an alternative if asked. Again breakfast was excellent.
Aimee is the new manager and she needs to be given time to put her make on the hotel rather than being compared all the time to the previous couple, her enthusiasm is great.
Two small downsides, no airconditioning but we slept with the frenchdoors and windows wide open. Area around the pool needs to be more inviting.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestSussexWhitefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hello WhiteFox

Thank you very much for your review of Blue Gum, I am truly glad that you enjoyed your stay here.

Unfortunately Aimee and her husband Geoff have moved back to Cape Town but myself and my wife (Aimee's older sister) have taken over the running of the lodge. We are pleased to say that the lodge is 100% family run and owned once again.

We would love to invite you back to Blue Gum when you are next in RSA to see the changes and upgrades made to Blue Gum. It still remains a very special place where one can relax in peace, tranquility and endless luxury.

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    57
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
139
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

My partner and I, our children age 5 an 18mnths stayed for 4 nights in January 2009.

The welcome was warm and we were delighted with our spacious and well furnished mountain view room. The staff at Blue Gum made the children especially welcome and prepared individual meals for them each night served in the fabulous restaurant a few hours earlier than other guests.
The setting really is perfect, we relaxed immediately. In particular we loved the public areas, the comfortable lounges and a shady deck area where you could enjoy the golden sunsets.
The area offers plenty of activities and Blue Gum provide a comprehensive well written guide. For families, the neighbouring “cheese factory” offers a splendid setting for lunch. The children still talk about it and their friendly black Labrador.
Perhaps of most importance, we felt our children were safe and happy there. The suite type room had a separate, connecting , room for the children to sleep. It was nice to be able to relax after dining without distressing about waking the youngsters!

It’s also worth noting that Blue Gum is only 20 minutes away from some fabulous safe beaches in Hermanus.
We concluded that overall, Blue Gum have a fantastic offering. There are minor drawbacks; the food is not quite up to the appropriate standards, it always looked first class and appealing but some flavours were lacking.
South Africa offers outstanding food in many establishments and Blue Gum need to ensure that their chef maintains the culinary experience and hence the lodge’s competitiveness.

To sum up; we found our booking was professionally handled, the staff warm and enthusiastic, the wines enjoyable and fairly priced. The room and setting really surpassed our expectations.

Would we visit again? Certainly. We cherished our short time there and wish the enthusiastic new young management team success.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuarthw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hi Stuart

Thank you for such a great constructive review. Myself and the Blue Gum team thank you for making the effort to write it. A lot has changed in the three years since you have been at Blue Gum. We are still aiming to maintain that high standard of service and hospitality you experienced on your last trip.

However, we have certainly raised the bar when it comes to our food, it is now of an extremely high standard and our young chef is getting better every day. We urge you, when next in SA, to come back to Blue Gum and experience it once again. I assure you, you will not be disappointed

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We had a lovely relaxing stay at Blue Gum. The kids loved it and went horse riding and quad biking. We found that the staff were very attentive. The rooms are lovely, we had a mountain suite with views of the mountains. The food was very good. It is very quiet and this suited us as we'd just been to Cape Town. I would recommend it if you wanted to get away from it all and totally chill out!

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank saldav9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hi Saldav9

Thank you for reviewing Blue Gum Country Estate. I apologise for the extremely overdue response, but I would like to say, even now, 3 years on, that it is most appreciated.

Blue Gum is still a fantastic spot to "chill out" in and I warmly invite you back when you are next in South Africa and the beautiful Whale coast area.

Kind Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We did a lot of research before booking our hotels in SA and were charmed by all the reviews we read about Blue Gum. Sadly these reviews are out of date and the nice little touches (like homemade cakes in the afternoon and port and cheese waiting for you in your room) no longer exist here. We've since noticed it's not made it into the new Greenwood Guide and after a little more research it's being sold which explains the lack of love in the place.
Although it's a very pretty little place it feels very un-loved and it's dreadfully managed. We were booked in for 8days but left after 4. Difficult to find any staff when you want them, the food is a set menu and is very average - not the gourmet delight we were expecting. The pool area is quite nice but the pool is dirty and it's uncomfortable sunbathing with gardeners lying about the garden. There were never clean towels by the pool, several times we had to go and find staff who grudgingly went and got clean ones.
There was not one major thing that happened just a series of small incidences that started to make us uncomfortable so we packed our bags and left on New Years Eve determined not to see the New Year in, in such a depressing place.
There are plenty of lovely places to stay in SA but this is definitely not one of them.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisapointedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Hi DisapointedLondon

Thank you for taking time to review Blue Gum Country Estate. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the poor service received on your visit.

However, in 3 years a lot has changed at Blue Gum. If you are ever in South Africa again I would love to invite you to Blue Gum to witness the changes first hand and experience the excellent service and quality product we always strive to offer our guests. Hopefully we can change your name to NotDisappointedLondon!

Thanks and Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

I have just returned from a two day visit to Blue Gum and could not recommend it highly enough. All the staff were delightful, they are all specifically trained by Blue Gum and have real pride for their work. They organised several excursions for us with a few hours notice - one being quad biking in the next door estate White Water Lodge which was brilliant. The owner took us through a game reserve which he is currently developing and then up into the hills - it is stunning and he was full of knowledge about the area.
The food at Blue Gum was another highlight, they do breakfast and dinner and you can request lunch or organise a picnic if you like for the middle of the day.

There is so much to do here you will not get bored!

  • Liked — It was spacious and so much better than I expected
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hi Rose

Thank you for a fantastic Review! We at Blue Gum still aim to go of our way for our guests. The Stanford area in the Overberg has grown somewhat in the last 3 years since you were last here but it still remains as beautiful and picturesque as ever.

We still have a wealth of activities on offer from Whale Watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, quad biking, mountain biking and walking trails... the list goes on

We also have fabulous Wine Estates, Beer Tasting and food of the highest standard.

I urge you to return

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

The owner's of the Blue Gum are to be commended for encouraging the their staff to develop job skills and for encouraging their employees to take an active role in the management of the estate.

The lodge is in a country setting with animals on the premises, a walking trail, and is near a cheese-maker, wineries (we especially enjoyed the pinotage wine and the Skilpadvlei Winery), and is close to both whale watching and shark care diving.

The food at the Blue Gum, especially the dinner prepared by Patricia, was as good as any we have ever eaten, anywhere.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Eating the excellent food leads to unwanted weight gain.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stkrebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Hi Stkrebs

Thank you for the review. I am thrilled you enjoyed Blue Gum when you visited. We are still actively involved in the community and the development of skills. We encourage our staff to always better themselves, strive to be more and always give 100% in everything they do.

I hope you will return one day

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa :Blue Gum Country Estate
Date 26th. October 2007
A TripAdvisor Member, Rome Italy
Absolutly great and excellent staying.
Amazing furniture, rooms.
The three sisters are very very very kind, nice and helpfull.
I suggest this amazing b&b to all those who find an excellent service and enjoy staying in a relaxing and cosy atmosphere.
Thank you very much for all,
un grande ciao
Maurizia Picca

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chiccasub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Maurizia

Grazie mille! We are very glad you enjoyed your time in the Overberg area of Hermanus and Stanford. We hope that the next time you return to South Africa you will consider staying once again

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermanus
12.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
13.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
12.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gum Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Country Estate

Property: Blue Gum Country Estate
Address: Blue Gum Farm R326 Road Portion 3 Klein River Kloof ERF 660 Stanford | R326, Hermanus 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Gum Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Gum Country Estate is hidden in the valley that ascends towards the small town of Stanford, just outside Hermanus. The estate is a working wine farm and developing vineyard. This magnificent 130 acre piece of paradise is perfect for those seeking an alternative route and destination to the garden route or a relaxing break from the city. The delightful estate, nestled among ancient Blue Gum trees, overlooks the leafy banks of the Klein Rivier and encourages guests to relax in tranquil beauty and endless luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Gum Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing