We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Infested with millipedes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Gum Country Estate
Ranked #12 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Infested with millipedes”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The location is stunning, the staff are friendly and the rooms are nicely decorated but the whole place is overrun with millipedes. I don't mean a few, I mean 10s of hundreds! They swarmed the outside doors and made their way into the halls, bedrooms, bathrooms and we're coming up the bath drains.
I couldn't sleep from sheer fear of the vast quantities. My sister, in another room was having nightmares, as it wasn't just our room that had the problem.
We also had a problem with no hot water in the room, rectified by letting us use another rooms facilities. Which turned out to have no taps on the shower!
They were polite and accepting when we refused to pay. It was a real shame that they are so over run with the tiny creepy crawlies because otherwise it's a lovely place full of charm.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank H_crawf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCE, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear h_Crawford

Many thanks for the review, and my sincere apologies that it was more like a night from a horror movie than a relaxing holiday for you and your sister.

I appreciate that there are positive points to your review, I have passed these on to relevant staff. However, the stay was obviously marred by the millipedes. We affectionately refer to these creatures as "Songololos" in South Africa. They are found all around South Africa (including urban areas) but certainly not normally in the numbers you experienced.

Our policy is to thoroughly clean the rooms before guests check-in as well as when our guests are having dinner. A clean is also done the next morning when the guests are having breakfast (if they stay more than one night). Cleanliness is of out-most importance, so I can guarantee you lack of cleaning was not the cause. All my staff were busy sweeping them away basically 24/7. However, they just kept returning - from where? No-one knows. Today (2 days after you were here) there are very few to be seen. Thus your poor experience was unfortunately down to timing.

We have had a very wet summer and the water table is very high. This, I imagine, may be the cause. We are also on a very rustic piece of farmland. We are certainly not a sterile urban environment, we are very much a part of the nature here. Thus, unfortunately, bugs, creepy crawlies and insects are very much a feature of life that we (and most South Africans) have come to terms with. It is, obviously, a little strange (and scary) for people from a city environment or from another country when they are met with natures creepiest things.

I would like to point out to all that read this review that this is not a normal occurrence (as evidenced by the fact that this is the only review that has mentioned it in 7 years). This was a freak of nature and one that I really had no control over. Obviously it still caused you great discomfort and unease. Your husband did mention to my manager that there was almost a phobia type fear. Thus, I am certainly understanding of your comments.

Once again, accept my sincere apologies - and safe travels. Hopefully they will be bug free

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    57
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
139
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We absolutely loved our time spent at the Blue Gum Country Estate. From the friendly, welcoming service, to the exquisite room we stayed in- you can’t find a better place to spend a quiet, relaxing weekend away. We highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCE, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi SamanthaO

Many thanks for taking the time to review your time here at Blue Gum - we are thrilled you enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you back very soon

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent a very peaceful 9 nights at Blue Gum in February and loved it - and we really wished we weren't moving on to another area when we left. The location and food are wonderful, but the service deserves a special mention since they really go out of their way to help in any way they can. Our daughter was unfortunately quite poorly when we arrived and Anton was so helpful organising visits to his family doctor which took a lot of the stress away from us trying to figure out where to go in a foreign country.

Blue Gum has the perfect set-up for people travelling with small children, with cottages very close to the excellent restaurant - although it is equally suitable for couples staying in the beautiful suites. This meant we could go for dinner in the evening within child-monitor range of our daughter who was asleep in her room (which we could see) only a minute away. This only failed once when we couldn't get her to sleep so they brought our dinner to our room for us instead. Breakfasts were excellent and they were happy to tailor the early tea they made each evening for our daughter to her/our requirements. She also loved the playground outside the restaurant. To top it off, they also hand-delivered a cable to our next location about two hours away when we forgot it in our room when we checked-out! You don't get service like that very often. We hope to return and will recommend Blue Gum to everyone considering a trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: The Mountain View Family cottage was perfect for us with a second bedroom for our toddler but for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ShirlsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCE, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear ShirlsA

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Blue gum. My only aim of running Blue gum is to create memorable experiences for my guests and to allow them to relax and unwind. Thus I will always endevour to go out of my way to facilitate my guests needs and requirements. Having children of my own, I certainly realise how stressful it can be travelling with them (especially to a foreign country) so I am so glad I could recommend and organise for our beloved family Doctor to tend to Eva.

Safe travels and I hope to see you all again in the future

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

"The perfect way to escape the hussle and bustle of CPT. Attentive staff and family members made this a highlight of our SA holiday. Relaxed and informal, though elegant, well worth a trip. Raka vineyard and Klein River cheese farm on the doorstep are well worth a visit."

Room Tip: We had a great suite with a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCE, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Ben

Many thanks for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your time here. Stanford and the surrounds are a lovely place to explore the picturesque Overberg area. We are glad you found our little piece of heaven, we hope to welcome you back soon

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and were very glad to have done so. Our room (Honeymoon Suite) was very comfortable and spacious and nicely furnished. Breakfasts and evening meals were very good. Anton was very helpful and all in all it was a very relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite was great with huge bath in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 381276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCE, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear 381276

many thanks for the review - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Blue Gum. I am glad we were able to offer you peace and relaxation whilst you were here.

Our guests are never just a number when they stay here ;)

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great views everywhere you look. Breakfast was excellent. Service was very good, although I recommend not to use the laundry service; we had to use this for some baby clothes and underwear and did not check if there was a price list because earlier stays on four star (wine) estates near franschhoek did not charge anything. Now it cost us approx Euro 40,- (ZAR 600,-) which is quite expensive.
Wifi is only available in the restaurant (and is very slow). It would be worth to expand this so it becomes available in the cottages and/or at the pool.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dulk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Dulk1

Many thanks for the review, we are glad that the majority of your experience was a positive one. I must apologise for the 2 points you touched on that were not so positive.

It is standard at any hotel in South Africa to charge for laundry, and it is never my aim to overcharge customers for any service I offer. I have done careful research as to the cost charged in other hotels of the same star rating as Blue Gum or better and our prices are by far cheaper than most. I do apologise that you feel you paid too much,

On the point of the wi-fi, we are unfortunately in a rather rural area and thus the service providers do tend to neglect us. We have no hi-speed cables in the area not reliable cellular broadband so we rely on a local company that provides us with what I like to call "farm internet".

Wishing you and your family a great 2014

Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We extended our stay from 4 to 7 nights, which says enough.
Lovely cottages, spacious grounds, tasteful diners, nice staff. Great stay with kids who get special treatment f.e. kidsmenu if you want.

We would love to come back.

Room Tip: We liked to have the extra room for our one year old daughter, gave us room to r Relax during her n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CERAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear CERAmsterdam

Many thanks for the lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed your time here and were able to relax. Having kids of my own, I know the great need parents have to just be able to feel that their children are safe and secure and also having a wonderful time. i am happy we were able to provide this.

My wife and I have traveled extensively in South Africa and have come across very few places that are truly child friendly so it is a major goal of ours to create an environment like this at Blue Gum.

We hope to see you all again in the future

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermanus
12.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
681 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
10.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
917 reviews
13.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
5.1 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gum Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Country Estate

Property: Blue Gum Country Estate
Address: Blue Gum Farm R326 Road Portion 3 Klein River Kloof ERF 660 Stanford | R326, Hermanus 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Gum Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Gum Country Estate is hidden in the valley that ascends towards the small town of Stanford, just outside Hermanus. The estate is a working wine farm and developing vineyard. This magnificent 130 acre piece of paradise is perfect for those seeking an alternative route and destination to the garden route or a relaxing break from the city. The delightful estate, nestled among ancient Blue Gum trees, overlooks the leafy banks of the Klein Rivier and encourages guests to relax in tranquil beauty and endless luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Gum Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing