We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Gum Country Estate
Ranked #13 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for one night as a resting stop as part of our drive from Cape Town to Plettenberg, having done the shark cage diving in the morning in Gansbaai.

From the reviews and pictures, it looked like a nice place that was convenient, but when we arrived, I was ready to change our plans to spend a night or two longer.

To start off with Stanford is beautiful - gentle rolling hills and open fields that sets a stunning backdrop for this estate. The estate itself is positioned at the base of a large hill and is set amongst their own vineyards and olive trees. Once you come up the drive, you're greeted by beautiful gardens which the rooms look on to.

The room we had was very spacious and felt more like a small villa with a terrace than a room. Very nicely designed, with a bit of a colonial feel to it.

Other features which make this a real gem are:
- The pool, which is large enough to do lengths in and has a great view of the vineyards
- The restaurant had fantastic food and I understand is very popular with those not staying on the estate
- The trails - If you get a chance, go for a walk around the estate on one of the marked trails

Overall, you cannot help but relax and feel revived when you stay here.

Couple of bits of feedback:
- The last bit of the drive up to the estate could be slightly better signed and might be nice to have a gravel drive
- The tennis court looked a little old and we both thought it would be a good idea to turn this into a vegetable garden which could be used by the fantastic restaurant

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Tom

Many thanks for the wonderful feedback, it is most appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects and that you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated - that is 100% what we are aiming to achieve!

Thank you for the constructive criticism - our roads are normally in much better condition but due to our lingering winter in South Africa they have taken quite a hammering recently. And I love the idea of turning our tennis court into a veggie garden (we are also considering a spa). My father-in-law built it himself so it is a bit of a DIY tennis court (and he is quite attached to it). We are attempting to change his mind :)

Safe travels, and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    57
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
138
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Blue Gum is our destination of choice when we need to get out of the city and unwind. All the things you expect for a quality experience are there, however what you don't find in a lot of places is the human aspect. At Blue Gum it feels like the extension of family, everyone is so kind and so interested in you. More than worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barryshawlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Barryshawlewis

Thank you for the wonderful review. Blue Gum is all about family and about making each person that enters our estate feel welcome and rested and at peace. I am happy that you and your beautiful family feel this way. I look very much forward to our next meeting.

God bless

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the mountain cottages which were very spacious for our family of 5. Anton and staff were very helpful and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, the food was superb! It was great being able to leave the kids on our room watching a DVD while we enjoyed a kid free meal! The weather was very wet but we could still appreciate the wonderful setting and landscaping. A great couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Francesca

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your experiences at Blue Gum, I am so happy that you and your children enjoyed your time with us. Our family rooms are ideally located so as to allow a romantic dinner for the parents whilst the kids are safe and not to far away.

I shall pass on your wonderful compliments to all concerned. Many thanks and safe travels

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this small lodge. We were very happy with our stay. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff friendly and very helpful, the pool being black surprisingly warm for November and a good size, the food very tasty and well presented. If you can't afford the prices charged by nearby places like Grootbos this is a more than adequate alternative. We liked the informality and felt very much at home.
We would definitely recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear HasHout

Many thanks for the review, I appreciate you taking the time to post it. As Blue Gum is a family run business we are going for a comfortable, welcoming and informal atmosphere so that our guests feel like they are at home, part of the family but still pampered and special.

Many thanks for all the wonderful compliments I shall pass it onto all my staff - we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was not our first visit to Blue Gum country lodge and neither our last. it was a rainy and cold weekend and we had the honeymoon suite, after 25 years we are still on honeymoon, with an open fire place, a deep bath with a view and a huge king size bed.
Dinner was a wonderful experience and staff were so friendly. Anton the manager came to greet us and have a chat.
Lying in bed with only the glow of the fire and the rain on the roof- what can more can a couple want.
At breakfast there was a fire burning to chase away the cold and the the flapjacks was delicious.
Previously we have been with our kids, and they were well taken care of and there were many activities to keep them busy.
Excellent choice for couples and families.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is a very good choice. Any room in the manor house is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyLamprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Kitty

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves at Blue Gum!

We pride ourselves in being a destination that it suitable for both family and romantic getaways, and I am pleased that you were able to experience both. Perhaps next time it will be with the kids again :)

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have been visiting Blue Gum Lodge regularly for many years! We can honestly confirm, that it remains our first choice for a relaxed break!! Anton and his team, leaves no stone unturned, in order to ensure that all our needs are catered for. We find, the accommodation to be "homely" and comfortable and the food to be exceptional. We have just re-booked for a weekend in October again. Further more there is also a lot to do around Blue Gum, such as the Cheese Farm next door, The Brewery near Stanford and of course the villages of Stanford & Gansbaai itself!! Excellent wine cellars in the area as well. The best however, is just to lounge around Blue Gum itself, either at the pool, or on the Tennis court. They are also "child friendly", which is nice when you visit there as a family (like we do).
ALL IN ALL, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Room Tip: We usually stay in the "Mountain Rooms" They also have "family rooms" there as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Daan

Thank you so much for your time in posting this lovely review - it is most appreciated. We are glad that Blue Gum has become a "home away from home" for you and your family, and you are all most welcome. We take pride in the service we provide and it gladdens my heart to see families like your own returning to Blue Gum, as I can see we are doing something right, and creating the type of atmosphere were people feel comfortable, welcomed and relaxed.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, God Bless!

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our second stay at Blue Gum. Anton and his team again exceeded our expectations. The service was personal, with attention to detail. No request was too much effort, with the staff being attentive but not intrusive. The rooms were warmed with a wood fire and were well fitted out, the only issue being that the hairdryer gave some problems. However, it was the meals that stood out for us. While the choice was not extensive, the meals were superbly presented, tasty and well proportioned. All this is spite of the bridge to the Estate being washed away the day before. Even then we were phoned by Anton and directed via an alternative road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Andre

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us - and I certainly appreciate you letting me know about the problems with the hairdryer, I have replaced it.

I am also happy that you enjoyed the rooms, service and food - we are always striving to go the extra mile in these departments. I am happy that a "way was made" for you to come out to Blue Gum, we hope to see you very soon.

God bless

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
12.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
12.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
10.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
15.7 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gum Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Country Estate

Property: Blue Gum Country Estate
Address: Stanford | R326, Hermanus 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Gum Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Gum Country Estate is hidden in the valley that ascends towards the small town of Stanford, just outside Hermanus. The estate is a working wine farm and developing vineyard. This magnificent 130 acre piece of paradise is perfect for those seeking an alternative route and destination to the garden route or a relaxing break from the city. The delightful estate, nestled among ancient Blue Gum trees, overlooks the leafy banks of the Klein Rivier and encourages guests to relax in tranquil beauty and endless luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Gum Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing