We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent winter weekend retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Gum Country Estate
Ranked #10 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent winter weekend retreat”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been to Blue Gum Estate twice for two separate weekend retreats. The rooms are big, well furnished and tastefully decorated. The fire places in the rooms make it the PERFECT wintry weekend retreat.

Thanks to both Anton and Taryn for a great stay. I'll be back soon.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms at the bottom of the Estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hi Sam

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Blue gum. My staff and I are pleased you enjoyed yourself. Winter is indeed a special time at Blue Gum. There is nothing quite like relaxing in front of a fire with a glass of good red wine.

I hope that you have the time to return soon

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    57
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
137
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had a really great time at Blue Gum Country Estate. It has the perfect mix of old world charm and modern amenities. The staff are very friendly and attentive, making you feel very welcome and relaxed. I will be definitely go back to Blue Gum Estate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveKusel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Dave

Thank you for the fantastic review, I am glad you enjoyed yourself at Blue Gum. We hope that you can escape the busy city again and come and enjoy the tranquility of Blue Gum in the near future

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Blue Gum for three fabulous nights during the coldest and wettest winter we have seen in ages, not only were we toasty warm in our gorgeous room next to the fire, we ate like kings and generally got to chill out and relax. Anton and Taryn have really got it right and do everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, they get the little things spot on which goes a long way. It is close to everything and we did an awesome day trip through Napier and Bredasdorp to Elim for wine tasting. It was the wettest winter in a while, and the bridge on the way in was under water on our second day, so we ended up having to stay on the estate for a whole day, but there was no shortage of things to do, we hiked up the mountain, took the estate's mountain bikes for trip around the farms and played tennis on their tennis court. All in all they looked after us incredibly well and we would definitely go back, in fact, I cant wait! I have recommended Blue Gum to all our friends and family!! Thank you again, Blue Gum team, for a really awesome little holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear CapeTownKate

Thank you for taking the time to review Blue Gum. Tarryn, myself and our staff are glad you enjoyed yourselves. We are always striving to add little extras that make a stay at Blue Gum extra special.

I am very happy you made your way safely home, and once again, apologies for keeping you captive for a few days :). The bridge has been fortified and the lagoon in Hermanus has burst it's banks so we should be safe for another 5 years.

We hope to welcome you back very soon

Warm Regards

Anton, Tarryn and the Blue Gum team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here two nights in the middle of the wet and chilly SA winter and we loved every minute of it. Nice hospitality from the owner and staff and fantastic meals designed by one of the former chefs at Ruebens Restaurant in Franshhoek.
This place is close to everything (Hermanus, Stanford, Hemel and Arde valley, Elim and the southernmost point of Africa) and the value for money is great. Go and enjoy!
Claude and Anna Laurent
professors

Room Tip: We were in Lion room. A suite - fantastic room with a view over a valley and vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Claude and Anna

Thank you for the kind review, my staff and I are greatly pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Travelling in the heart of SA winters can be tough and we believe Blue Gum offers something warm and special even when the weather is so bad.

It was a great privilege to have met you both, you really are extremely sweet people. Thank you also for the advice regarding my sons sickness, it put my mind right at ease.

I certainly hope you return soon

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A big thank you to Anton and the staff at Bluegum for making our weekend stay such a memorable one. The setting is so beautiful and tranquil - the perfect spot to unwind and all our needs were catered for - from a welcoming cheese platter and sherries on our arrival, to a lovely welcoming fire in the dinningroom while we feasted on the most scrumptious food and then a cosy fire waiting for us in our bedroom on our retirement to bed.

The rooms are beautiful, luxurious and comfortable and you are made to feel extremely at home.

I would definitely recommend a stay at the Bluegum Country Estate.

Jillian and Allan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Jillian and Allan

Thank you so much taking the time to review your time at Blue Gum. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay! My staff and I are always aiming to make people feel right at home and we have tried to create an atmosphere where are guests feel relaxed, comfortable and welcome at all times. I am glad that we could host you and share our hospitality with you

You are both most welcome any time at Blue Gum

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

As the first stop on a two week road trip encompassing 3 500 kms and 5 different destinations, Bluegum proved perfect in facilitating our "transition" from stressed urban working parents to relaxed and contented gypsies. Within about 5 minutes of our arrival the beautiful green surrounds and quiet atmosphere had worked their magic and the memories of the previous day's frantic pace and hectic workload had faded. Little touches such as the complimentary port and cheese platter in our room and our host, Anton's understated attention and care, were the icing on the cake. In retrospect we would have liked to have stayed a little longer to allow us to properly explore this magnificent area and its potential for hiking and mountain biking - but since it is so close to our own home in Cape town, we consoled ourselves with the thought that we could easily return in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear James and Michelle

I am happy you had a successful road trip and made it back to the urban jungle safely. Thank you for your kind words and encouragement, it is most appreciated.

I certainly hope you do find time in your busy schedules for a return visit to Blue Gum, we would be happy to welcome you back

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had such a wonderful break at Bluegum! The staff were so accommodating the rooms were just beautiful and so comfortable. We felt like we were just so spoilt and Blue Gum went that extra mile to make us feel truly relaxed and on holiday. We also loved the restaurant - the food was amazing! I would definitely recommend Blue Gum to anyone looking for a perfect getaway with or without the kids. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68Linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Lindsay, Grant and Ethan

Thank you for staying with us at Blue Gum, we are glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to welcome you all back very soon!

We will always aim to provide a little extra to make all our guests feel truly at home, and knowing how hard it is to travel with kids, it gives me great pride to know that we could make it easier for you and your baba

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
12.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
12.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
13.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
10.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
11.7 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#15 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Gum Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Country Estate

Property: Blue Gum Country Estate
Address: Stanford | R326, Hermanus 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Gum Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Gum Country Estate is hidden in the valley that ascends towards the small town of Stanford, just outside Hermanus. The estate is a working wine farm and developing vineyard. This magnificent 130 acre piece of paradise is perfect for those seeking an alternative route and destination to the garden route or a relaxing break from the city. The delightful estate, nestled among ancient Blue Gum trees, overlooks the leafy banks of the Klein Rivier and encourages guests to relax in tranquil beauty and endless luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Gum Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing