We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
“WOW !!!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at Hermanus guesthouse for the second time. The rooms had been refurnished and upgraded since our previous visit and looked stunning. We arrived on a cold, rainy day and were welcomed by a cup of coffee in front of the fireplace. We had a room overlooking the ocean and spent a lot of time on the balcony. We were lucky enough to see several whales right in front of our room. Breakfast was a highlight and the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 5 days exploring the cliffs and town which is only a short walk away. We received 5- star treatment and enjoyed every moment!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard to think of anything negative
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Felisity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    159
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
77
431
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2008

we have stayed for one day at Hermanus and spent the night at Hermanus guesthouse. The place looks like a palace very impressive. The service was excellent and the breakfast was great. Since we spent only the night we took a cheaper room - Garden suite which was really nice but next time we will take one of the eight rooms inside.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sbeneli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Our stay at the Hermanus Guesthouse was an absolute treat,it exceeded our expectations by far. The guesthouse is minutes away from the town,close enough to walk,but away from the noise of the town. Our room had a sea view and was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated...realy extraordianary, it made us feel like royalty. We noticed that every room is decorated differently and it is incredible to see what they did.

Breakfast is great,beautifully garnished and tasty,with a wide range of hot and cold food and fresh fruit salads to choose from. A lot of love and attention went in to the preparation of breakfast.

The Guesthouse is on the ocean,and we heard the whales!! We could not believe our eyes when we were drinking coffee on our patio and saw whales right infront of us.

The staff was friendly,well informed and reccommended fabulous restaurants close by. There is a lovely promenade leading to town which is great for a scenic walk. And not to mention the fireplace in the living room, its welcoming and cozy on a rainy day.

Thank you Elmie we will surely come back!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank marikaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We arrived in Hermanus after a long drive. Tired and dispirited, we went to the local Information Centre, who gave us a list of available accomodation. Luckily we tried the first on the list, which turned out to be the Hermanus Guest House.. We did not need to look any further. Secure parking, an entrance which took us direct into a breathtaking downstairs lobby,and a welcome from the staff which was exactly what we needed. The open plan layout has to be seen to be appreciated, and the breakfast area is something to behold. Our friends opted for a downstairs bedroom/sitting room combo; we just chose an upstairs large, tastefully decorated ,airy bedroom. Access to the upstairs is via a grand (Gone With the Wind style) staircase. You choose the substantial breakfast by a ticky box slip the night before, but this does not indicate the side buffet of cereals,yogurts, cheeses. meats which are also available. We were absolutely spolied for choice. This establishment has rooms for every taste and every pocket. Situated only a few minutes walk from the Town Centre and even less from the Coastal Path, with all it has to offer,we found it an excellent base. Would we return to the Hermanus Guest House.? You can bet on it. Next year, but pre-booked, as we do not want to take any chances. Until then, our thanks to a wonderful staff, for making our stay so enjoyable. Cheers.!!

  • Liked — It was perfect.Clean,met all needs,tastes and budgets. Central. Wonderful staff.
  • Disliked — I could not find fault.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cushion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Before we arrived we did not think it possible for a 'Guest House' to be 5 star rated but how wrong we were. The rooms are fabulous, ours (Milady's Suite') especially as it had a balcony looking out to sea from where we could see the whales, albeit at some distance. However it was only a 100 yard walk out to the low cliffs for superb sightings at most times of the day.

The staff could not have been more attentive to our every wish and the breakfast was both an enjoyable meal and an artistic delight.

If you book in here you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Overall quality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brianglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed at this lovely guest house recently. the location is super just opposite the bay where we often saw the whales from our balcony. We walked along the cliff path also just opposite early each morning to watch the whales swimming near the shore- a wonderful experience. The receptionists Natasha and Dylan were charming and very helpful and professional. the room [no 6] very spacious.clean and comfortable with balcony and amazing view.

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Our disappointment with Hermanus Guest House began on our arrival outside! Not only was it like Fort Knox, but there was a burnt-out shell of a property adjacent.
Things only got worse on seeing our room as the décor had changed from a lovely modern bedroom in neutral colours as seen on the website (on which we had based our booking) to a “chic, boutique” style room. There were two pairs of heavy drapes, a large carpet hanging on the wall, 12 cushions/pillows on the bed and various dust collecting trinkets hanging on the walls including a child’s lace dress on a hanger – all very claustrophobic. The balcony had chairs but no tables. These were inside on the landing without glass, waiting to be repaired.
The breakfast was mediocre – the fruit salad, served in a small dish was predominantly banana and melon, and the fried breakfast arrived cold on cold plates albeit with a pansy flower on top – all very pretty but unnecessary.
We are normally very easy to please and have experienced the most amazing accommodation in South Africa (see our other postings) and this was a disappointment. In a nutshell, the Guest House has changed its style with the bedrooms having received a make-over and the owners have gone for ambience but not for substance.
After 2 days we realised the owner was on site and asked to speak to him. We found him to be extremely unhelpful. It seems the rooms were changed in March and although we booked in June, we had not been informed of the change. We would certainly NOT have booked a room had we seen a photo. We complained to him that the website was still showing the old rooms some 7 months after the change.
The other two staff members Dylan and Natasha were pleasant and the whale watching was good.
Incidentally, on arriving in Cape Town some 3 hours later, we logged on the H G H site to find it had been closed down. The following day we looked again and found the website up and running and the photos changed.
However, the Guest House was spotlessly clean and tidy but our main complaint was that the rooms we booked from the website had not been provided.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Attitude of owner
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThreeLegsIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Property: Hermanus Guesthouse
Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing