We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Guesthouse ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Guesthouse ever!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I am writing on behalf of my elderly (84 yrs old) mother and her friend (here on holiday from the UK) who have just stayed there.
They particularly wanted me to write a review on this site as they said their stay was out of this world!
The guesthouse is beautifully and sumptiously decorated and they stayed in 2 extremely comfortable and very large rooms, the King and Queen, which gave them each their own little patio facing the sea. It is also only a short walk from all of the shops an amenities in Hermanus.
However, the best aspect of their stay was the service and hospitality given to them by Annatjie, Michelle and Magnolia. Annatjie in particular excelled in her attention to the ladie's needs. My mom has difficulty with walking any distance and Annatjie took it upon herself to drive and taxi them around throughout the whole visit, even taking them out for the day for nothing other than the pleasure of helping out - what a wonderful lady.
I saw for myself what a wonderful place it was as I dropped them off and picked them up and could see straight away what a fantastic time they had had.
We would recommend this guesthouse to anyone that is thinking of staying in Hermanus.

Room Tip: For those not able to use stairs - the 2 ground floor rooms facing the sea - the King and Queen - ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    161
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
82
434
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We found this amazing guesthouse on the internet and were wonderfully surprised.
The price was right; the welcome excellent; the service faultless; the room very different; the meal excellent and thus a very good night spent in Hermanus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overberg District, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Due to my work I travel a lot throughout the entire South Africa and I must say that Hermanus Guesthouse is the BEST ever experienced! The manager of the guest house, Ms du Preez, is an excellent host.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Loved the hotel. The rooms we stayed in were sea view and all so special it was hard to choose. I ended up with The Kings Room and what a beautiful room. All the bathrooms were lovely too. We couldn't have chosen anything better and we had a lovely time. The staff, especially Michelle and Anika were very friendly and efficient and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonja_L2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic saturday at the hotel --lovely breakfast and amazing service from the manager Anneike! Me and my Namibian lady friend give it 5/5 giraffes (that's the official and best of the Namibian rating system )

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beauabram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Only needing somewhere literally to rest our heads as a stop along the Garden Route I booked the Standard Suite for my partner and I.

The room is not in the B&B, it's in the carpark and was probably the smallest room you could imagine.

The front door and the bathroom door could not be open at the same time it was that small.

We joked that it was like being Dobby the House Elf and living under the stairs. This room is way too small for two people.

As i said you get what you pay for and the room was cheap.

The breakfast however was really lovely and from what I could see of the actual B&B it looked pleasant.

Next time Ill spend the extra cash to get a livable room

Room Tip: Not the standard suite!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Top quality service from Annatjie and her team. Sea view fantastic. Great walks along coast cliffs starts across the road. Walking distance to restaurants. Very romantic. We enjoyed the spa bath in the en- suite bathroom

Room Tip: We were very happy with our honeymoon room with best seaview of waves breaking behind Fick pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abriew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
908 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Property: Hermanus Guesthouse
Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing