We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 4 stunning nights at the Hermanus Guest House. The room was beautiful and very spacious as well as spotlessly clean. The owners and staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious and the service superb. I would recommend the Hermanus Guest House to anyone wishing to stay in the delightful town of Hermanus! We are moving to Hermanus in July and will keep in contact with such lovely people. Greg and Sue.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 669 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The house that hosts the place is very beautiful, and everything, including the rooms, has a classic feel that makes your stay extremely cozy. Decoration is very nice too, with much attention to details. Our room was spacious, clean, and as beautifully decorated as the house. Staff is very attentive and breakfast is also very good, with plenty of options. While we were checking in, they offered us a delicious chocolate cake. The location is not right at the centre, but we easily walk there every time we needed and wanted. The only downside is that there are two rooms beside the garage and, if you’re staying there, you’ll be bothered since early morning by engines. Therefore, try not to book one of those rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Excelant stay .We will never stay anywhere else ever again when in Hermanus! Not only did we stay in the most beautiful luxurious room with a view on the sea but the breakfast was a definite knockout with crispy freshly baked croissants ,variety of cold meats and cheeses and so much more . Its in the heart of town and with a stroll along the beach you are in no time within reach of all the restaurants and famous little shops to browse around for hours. The staff were friendly and ever so helpful to assist us whenever !

Room Tip: All the rooms should be on ones bucket list ! Superior accommodation !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EsneRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hermanus Guesthouse has to be one of it's kind with a decoration that takes you right back in to the fairytales. It is a splendid place for relaxation and you feel as if you are in the saga the Arabian nights. If you are in Hermanus and you miss the possibility to stay at this fantastic place, I feel sorry for you.
The only thing was the bed it could have been a little bigger.

Natasha and Marika you are absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank einar f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the King's Chamber. We felt like a king and Queen in this beautifully decorated room . All in red and gold, the king-size 4 poster bed was the cherry on the top. The room had a fridge, TV and a small little sitting area. We were on the ground floor with a little patio facing the sea. The bathroom was spacious and had a shower and bath. In the evening they” turn” your bed and leave a chocolate on your pillow to enjoy. The breakfast consists of fruit, yogurt, muesli, bread, freshly baked croissants with cheese, preserves and coffee. Quite a treat. The staff were very helpful with ideas were to eat and what to do and to see. We are going back in May and taking 5 other couple along. Will defiantly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and can definitely recommend staying at the Hermanus Guest house! Great staff who were super friendly and accommodating. Central location, within walking distance into town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFrenchLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Opted for the honeymoon room with a balcony and seaview over looking Walker Bay.
A large house with safe parking at the rear of the building.
Breakfast was good albeit you had to order the night before on one of those cards where you tick the box for what you want,not something i like doing.
The ladies in charge were very nice and it was the sort of place where you felt at ease sitting around the house reading books etc.
Would not hesitate in staying here again,and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the house have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean/bManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $131 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing