We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermanus Guesthouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saldanha, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

You walk into this place, B&B? No, you work into a place you totally forget about the world out there. You feel important, as if you the only guest. You just want to relax, you don't want to go out for a walk, you just want to stay and feel this calmness of this place grow into you to stay there for your trip back home. Annatjie and Natasha, thank you for an awesome, relaxing time. The place are beautiful, clean and tidy. I really don't have words, all I can say...A MUST TO EXPERIENCE THIS PLACE BY YOURSELVES...Me and Andre loved every moment.

Room Tip: Room 2 sea view and and a private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Annamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    155
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
72
419
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We only stayed two nights, what a shame, should have booked longer. Lovely place and setting. wonderful staff and accommodation.breakfast the next morning was well portioned, and advise us on where to go and what to the same day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Situated just across the road from the sea and rocks. The room was spotless as was the rest of the superb house. The hostess was very keen to ensure we had a good stay, which was the last night of our trip to S.A. Breakfast was really nice as was the room. Even the outside of the house looked like it was cleaned daily, all the glass panels on the balcony were spotless.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor sea facing room. Well worth the extra as you sit on your balcony enjoying the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekmartlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went to Hermanus on our honeymoon, and stayed here for a couple of days. The place is awesome, especially the hosts make you feel comfortable. Our honeymoon room had a nice decor..like those in fairytales, with a sea-view. Got to see whales right from our room's window. The breakfast is really very good..and the croissants we had pretty much were one of the best ones we've ever had. Would definitely recommend the place.

Room Tip: Value for Money, Sea view rooms area must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nitinojujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Location is Fantastic - great views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Rock Cliff Walk path is straight across from the Guest House plus it is an easy 3-5 minute walk to the centre of Hermanus.Service is excellent - Annatjie and Natasha could not have been more helpful or professional. Breakfast was a treat.

I would not stay anywhere else when I go to Hermanus and would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Sea Facing Upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haypet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

this was the launch of my south africa trip and boy was i pleased with this decision. great location and, especially important to me, a place with old style character and a soul. service was with a smile and made me feel welcome in this strange country. the spectacular vistas of hermanus make this area a must, and if you come this way, try hermanus guesthouse!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was at Hermanus Guesthouse in August 2012 with my boyfriend, we fell in love with this place and the lovely people who work here. It was all excellent, it's a comfortable, warm, welcoming place where every detail is so well taken care of, with such good taste. The two ladies at the reception were so adorable. We would have never left this place if we didn't have to continue our journey through South Africa. I would go back to Hermanus not only to see the whales but also to have the opportunity to stay in this beautiful place again. A jewel. Thanks to the staff and sorry for writing only now.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We stayed in the black&white room, I can't remember the number. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Property: Hermanus Guesthouse
Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing