We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first stop, not disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“first stop, not disappointed!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

this was the launch of my south africa trip and boy was i pleased with this decision. great location and, especially important to me, a place with old style character and a soul. service was with a smile and made me feel welcome in this strange country. the spectacular vistas of hermanus make this area a must, and if you come this way, try hermanus guesthouse!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    161
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
84
437
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cesena, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was at Hermanus Guesthouse in August 2012 with my boyfriend, we fell in love with this place and the lovely people who work here. It was all excellent, it's a comfortable, warm, welcoming place where every detail is so well taken care of, with such good taste. The two ladies at the reception were so adorable. We would have never left this place if we didn't have to continue our journey through South Africa. I would go back to Hermanus not only to see the whales but also to have the opportunity to stay in this beautiful place again. A jewel. Thanks to the staff and sorry for writing only now.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We stayed in the black&white room, I can't remember the number. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This guest house is situated on the coast road, a few minutes walk from the centre of Hermanus. What a stunning and wonderful reception area this building has, which immediately made me feel very relaxed and at home.

I stayed in the main building of this excellent establishment and found the staff extremely friendly & helpful, infact they made you feel like a personal friend and I believe one cannot ask anymore of anyone than that.
.
The rooms were of a very high standard and breakfast was superbly presented and of a very good quality. When you stay here, do ask the staff about their South African restaurant in town, which I visited and where I had a wonderful meal at a very reasonable price.

I do hope to return to South Africa next year and this guest house will be at the top of my list to stay at again when in Harmanus.

Top marks and well done to all involved

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOakley_aio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This B&B is ran with a lot of love and attention to the details. It is a very calm and relaxing place. You will find 3 basic rooms in the backyard and fantastic theme suites in the main house. We stayed in the "Queens Room" which is decorated with royal furniture of the late 19th / early 20th century style. Rooms in the main house offer a Spa Bathroom and are very spacious. The breakfast is just marvellous and you'll find all delicious food of the Western Cape. Just on the other side of the quiet street are the cliffs where you can watch the Whales between August and December.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated in a special theme, choose during your online booking what fits you best. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldcitizen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We got married that morning and then headed to Hermanus; so excited to be having our mini honeymoon of sorts, and to possibly see whales, eat good food, get some rest, and stay in an amazing guesthouse. IT ALL CAME TRUE! Especially the part about the guesthouse. We are in our mid twenties, so a bit younger than all the other people staying there, but we were still treated with respect, and welcomed. Hermanus Guesthouse was perfect in every way. The room was immaculate, the breakfast was filling and well prepared. We stayed in the Victorian room. It is the biggest, and a little more pricy than the others, but very, very, much worth it. Jacuzzi bath, spacious bathroom, and ocean view to die for. Luxurious decorations and trimmings. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea and air con all available in the room. You share the balcony with two other rooms, but there is a wall to separate you, so there is a sense of privacy. The location is also perfect, you are a 5-10 min walk away from the town, which is full of great shopping spots, restaurants and grocery stores. Go to Hermanus Guesthouse if you want to be pampered! We are already planning to return later on this year.

P.S.: Annatijie & Natasha are amazing, and very warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is sea facing...I know that is the honeymoon room & the Victorian room, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EbbyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

NOTE: I would have rated this average, had it not been for the unpleasant episode described at the bottom

The guesthouse is run by two lovely ladies, who have clearly put much effort in the decoration of the rooms and of the common spaces, but have made a few oversights on generally important stuff:

- noise: there is hardly any noise insulation. When I saw the structure of the main house I was glad for booking the family suite, which is in a detached small building in the backyard, in fact the rooms face directly onto a very inviting common space where guests stop and chat at night. Unfortunately the family suite has its noise problems as well: we were woken up in the morning by the neighbours taking a shower, it seemed the pipes run above our heads and could stop it only with wax earplugs. Also, don't count on having a sleep-in as the breakfast room is in the common area, and with its windows open the noise of the guests gets even to the backyard

- light: there was no form of curtain or shutter on our windows, and the blinds were totally useless to even shut out the light from the street and garden night lights. We had to sleep all night with shades

- space allocation: our room had a huge couch, probably a second bed for families, anyway to fit that in they had had to reduce the space for the bathroom, which ended up feeling like a matchbox. To add a comment on the bathroom, the double tap sink is really old fashion and difficult to use, I wonder whether anyone has a preference for that over the single tap and if it's really so much of a cheaper option that it makes sense to chose it when buying bathroom fixings

Also, it's worth adding a note on the experience we had on departure. Having left among other things a wallet in the safe, we found that some money was missing albeit the safe had not been forced and the room had been locked all the time. This type of safe is very old and thieves are certainly trained to open them without much effort, so we would not point the finger to the personnel, anyway we reported the accident to the police and the manager was very helpful in calling them. We were told this had never happened before and I hope this is really an isolated episode, as it may well be that previous guests had simply not realised that just few banknotes had gone missing, anyway having reported it to the police I would imagine the thief will be more careful, maybe choose a different establishment

Room Tip: i would go for one of the rooms in the backyard at least to avoid the noice the guests make when goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay a lot. The owners were so friendly and helpful! We did not se any whales from our room, think that´s rare, but lot´s from "the city". Good location, clean rooms, friendly staff, gold and red and tassels all over. I recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
2.7 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Property: Hermanus Guesthouse
Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing