We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermanus Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much: spotlessly clean ocean view room with balcony and whale sightings; amazing decor; generous breakfast. Good location enabled us to walk along the sea wall into Hermanus. Annatjie and Natasha epitomize gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: request ocean view room (I think there are at least two on the upper level, with balconies).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwf747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    157
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
75
423
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This has been my best ever stay at any guesthouses in the last so many years of traveling.

Annatjie, is super friendly, helpful and we became such good friends in 3 days with her....

Natasha again was very very helpful and caring, never was there a moment that we felt neglected.

Both of them made sure our trip was memorable, and were spot on to provide any guidance of the area. Breakfasts were sumptuous and freshly prepared. Will never forget those special croissants.

They even gave us biscuits for our drive out .... Felt really special....Would surely return if happen to go again !! 5 stars !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonirohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Hermanus guesthouse have very nice rooms, good service, good location and good breakfast! It's possible to see whales from the guesthouse. We stayed the whole family in two rooms with different style. One female beige and one black and red

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marikastolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Oct for one night as wanted to take a whale boat trip. The location of the guesthouse is great. A five minute walk in to the centre of town and literally minutes from along the coastal path to see plenty of whales from the viewing points at this time of year. Our room was partial sea view but could barely see the sea, if at all, from the window or balcony. Decor a little dated for younger couple but did the job perfectly for a night with comfy bed. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the stay. Also was easy to drive to Gansbaai in the morning for shark dive and owner kindly was up at 6.30am to let us out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kierandunne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

An excellent situation for whale watching from the balcony or even from the bed ! Easy walk to town centre. Large, comfortable room and bathroom. Excellent breakfasts. Staff were all delightful and very good singers too. Annatjie is the perfect hostess helpful and obliging - very well assisted by Natasha.
It did say in the hotel brochure that we would be given a complimentary bottle of wine- I think they must have forgotten. That should not be in the brochure if they do not intend to honour it. We were not offered any sherry either ! We spent 4 nights there and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The best rooms are upstairs with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitnsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely B&B in October 2012 for one night on our self-driving tour of the Western Cape. We were very pleased. The first thing we saw from our balcony was a whale breaching just about 300 meters off shore! The B&B is quiet, quaint and well managed. The breakfast was excellent and the staff professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 1 if it is available as if provides a great view of the water and its magnificen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoCaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our stay with you were for 7 days. It felt like heaven on earth with 2 angles treating us with more than we could asked for. The Victoria room was spectaculer. The location is perfect situated. We enjoyed the walking path from and to the guesthouse. The food is also very good.A great thanks to Annatjie and Natasja they are two jewels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Guesthouse

Property: Hermanus Guesthouse
Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come inside & make yourself at home! Embrace comfort & tranquility while lazing away in the lap of luxury... Watch whales from our stylish themed suites or stroll along the famous cliff path and in minutes you'll find yourself in the Heart of Hermanus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermanus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing