We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed for a weekend and were blown away by the amazing service and friendliness of the staff.
Misty Waves is a LOVELY establishment and we will definatly be returning! I am in the 5star hotel business and would recomend any of my guests to add Misty Waves as a stop on their itinery.
Thank you for helping to make my proposal such a resounding success with your attention to detail and natural flair!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0ff_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 734 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

Everything was top notch, well situated, breakfast was superb as was the service. We have recommended this hotel to many friends and they have all thanked us. We will certainly return when the opportunity arises. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Surprised how large hotel was discreetly situated behind old fishermens cottages which were converted into rooms (where we stayed).
Friendly reception in large ornate central foyer with beautiful staircase leading onto landing on two sides. Lovely pool area with surrounding garden area where we had to walk to our room (no fun if it rains). Our room was large, full of character with fridge & coffee making facilities. Bathroom average, good quality linen. Restaurant intially difficult to find up and down stairs & corridors but worth it for magnificent sea view especially if you are there at whale watching time. Breakfast buffet comprehensive

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaddLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Excellent service, excellent rooms, nice setting - overall a very positive experience.

We were a group of 6 people and everyone of us wouldn't hesitate in recommending Misty Waves.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulPauwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

great... we could see the whales from our room, great attention to detail, another in a long line of exceptional days

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncananddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

The location was purrfect for viewing the whales and walking along the beautiful coast line. The staff were exceptional in their services and friendliness. They certainly made up for the eclectic interior of the cottage we stayed in. The interior deco was a mismatched of antiques, mixed with provencial look, 70s curtains, heavy Edwardian cupboards, chinesy bedspread, odds bits of everything put together in this melting pot.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzietravellerDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for emphasizing the positive points. It is highly appreciated! The hotel does have an excellent position for whale watching and we have to concur that our staff is exceptional. They such as the owners, love their occupation and the guests, and we receive very good report on them.
The heritage cottage in which you stayed on the hotel premises is totally a different scenario than the hotel:
Guests who adore heritage usually marvel about these three cottages, which is the oldest fisherman’s cottage in Hermanus and were renovated at extremely high cost to be preserved for generations to come. (It is even part of the Hermanus Heritage walk and a visiting point indicated on the map for visitors.)
Management regret the fact that you did not enjoy your stay in one of the cottages but if just mentioned we would have moved you into the hotel within seconds! (If we had any rooms available!) Our aim is to have satisfied customers at all times and such a move would have been done without any disturbance to you. We however indicate clearly to proposed visitors booking online that these are Heritage Cottages with naturally décor, ambience and furniture out of different eras – we even provide exact photos on our website. All this to indicate the precise nature of the accommodation.

The issue of décor is a very wide spectrum of choice and solely depends on personal taste. You and the next guest might not like it but hundreds do. It is difficult to cater for each and every taste. Same as one person would decorate their own house and the neighbour totally
different with opposing ideas and style.

Please when you visit our Region again contact us beforehand and we will arrange a perfect room of your choice. Go onto our website and see how many lovely choices you will have.
The décor in the newly build (6 years) hotel is totally different from the three heritage cottages in the garden.

Thank you again for the positive input, as mentioned it is highly appreciated. Be assured that we take all other input to heart and investigate it in order to create a unique experience for our guests.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This was the only "hotel" we stayed at for our honeymoon and was poorest quality accommodation.

The honeymoon suite was large but underneath the dining room so quite noisy.

The matress was foam and not particularly luxurious.

Staff interupted us in the bath on both nights to insist on replacing flowers.

Food acceptable but nothing special.

Staff pushy for guests to do activities, leading us to assume they on commission...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotsrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2010

Dear Guest

Management regret the fact that you had some unresolved issues during your stay. Firstly we never had any complaints with regards to noise or mattresses.
We specifically use a superior quality mattress intended for hotels and heavier persons.
As far as noise is concerned we do not even allow children under the age of eight years in the hotel in order to quarentee our guests a relaxing, quiet atmosphere. If you had any complaints we would have addressed the noise problem immediately!
and have moved you immediately to another room of your choice if you were not satisfied with your room. (if not fully occupied.)
One of the hotels huge advantages is our personnel. Their friendliness and eagerness to please to ensure the guest a perfect stay are praised on a daily basis.
If offering you ways and means to enhance your stay in our area were irritating you we truly apologise. Most guests staying do not know what an astonishing amount of activities our area offers: Such as our hotel subsidize shark cage diving and offer it to guests at probably the most reasonable rate available from R800 per person whilst it can go as high as R1400 per person. Amazing whale watching boat trips as alternative to your whale watching from the hotel premises or unbelievable flights over the entire Walker Bay with sightings of up to 100 whales in one hour!
There is a popular Adventure Forrest ten minutes away which offers the ultimate experiences in scenic quad bike trips through the vineyards of the world famous Hemel & Aarde Valley wine estates. The Hermanus Hemel & Aarde Wine Route is becoming a very popular attraction and on the itinerary of every foreign visitor and tourist. You could also enjoy exhilarating Tree Top Slides in nature. Even for the more adventurous there is paintball sessions with amazing scenarios or just a challenging game of archery. Just thirty minutes away guests can watch one of the only three land-based colonies of African Penguins in their natural habitat in South Africa. Another option is The Fernkloof nature reserve with numerous walking trails -1800 ha in the Kleinrivier Mountains above Hermanus and ranges in altitude from sea level to 842m and there is NO place on earth where so many different species can be seen growing in such close proximity. (1747 species have thus far been identified) Then there is bird watching.Hermanus offers the ornithologists the opportunity to observe birds in mountain, coastal, river and estuarine habitats. Numerous art and craft studios and galleries -mostly managed by the artists themselves. Kilometres of unspoilt beaches, coves and sheltered bays. The unique cliff path, hugging the coast from one side of town to the other. (12km) The views of sea and mountains are spectacular, and from July to November the Southern Right Whale may be seen just off-shore, also dolphins and seals.
If guests were not informed about some of these activities they would never experience the true jewels of Hermanus and Cape Whale Coast.
It is not in the nature of any personnel to infringe on guests privacy. They are very eager to delight guests with a neat turn down and small bouquet of fresh flowers, which are normally roses or orchids and chocolates. However if the night latch is on or the “do not disturb” sign is hanging from your door they will never even think of knocking. Usually guests appreciate this fine gesture of flowers in the evening as a welcome return to their room. We truly regret that this happened and if requested we could have told them to refrain from knocking on your door.

Whenever in our area again please come and visit in order for us to make good on the irritations.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $115 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing