We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely rooms, friendly staff, excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed in the Fisherman Cottages , these are of historical interest , decorated to reflect their age . The resturaunt Tikka Palace was wonderful the best Indian food ever,. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Service was brilliant , especially at breakfast. Would recommenfd Misty Waves to anyone .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warties46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 733 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

To Management & All Staff,

Thank you so much for a wonderful week at your hotel.
To everyone involved in making our wedding day even more memorable – THANK YOU!!
The service was excellent, the breakfast was perfect and yet again the service the best we have ever experienced from a Hotel in South Africa!
The Oosthuizen & De Bruin Family

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeOosthuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The best whale watching area in the world indeed. From Misty Waves one could enjoy Breakfast & watch whales in the Sea simulteneously. Thats beautiful... from Ntebogeng & Philile Kgomo - Tshwane

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntebogeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Great location, helpful staff. We had room 206 with a terrace and great view of the ocean. Excellent value. The breakfast was outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We went to celebrate our anniversary. The spa bath caught our eye. We rented a room with one for one night. 9 o' clock at night with great anticipation we wanted to use it. It did not work. The staff told us it has been broken for a day or 2. And that was it, no spa for us. When we got back to Cape town we realised we have been robbed of a romantic evening. I wrote them an email and complained. They pleaded innocence and offered us a R60 discount on our next stay. Needless to say we did not accept.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

We as Management regret the fact that you had an unfortunate experience with the spa bath. We however dearly appreciate the nice gesture by awarding the hotel 5 stars for all the other categories as we really go full out to be the best and offer the best experience to our visitors from abroad as well as local guests.
There must have been a total misunderstanding:
You initially booked a R600 non-sea facing room on our special offer with full buffet breakfasts included. It was indicated that you on your way to your room noticed the vacant sea facing room with two rooms and a full bathroom and separate shower bathroom, which is of course a higher rate category.
You were upgraded to this room at the same low rate. At no stage was the spa bath mentioned, as it was clear you preferred a sea-facing room. (If it were a booking done in advance for that specific room it would have been mentioned that the spa bath is not operating and we are awaiting parts from Cape Town. However as you’re moving rooms and upgrading were a spur of the moment thing – the personnel did not think to even mention it)
We are terribly sorry for this misunderstanding and when you visit again in the same time frame you can have a 10% discount on applicable rates as well as enjoy the Hotel Jacuzzi complimentary.
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We regrettably only stayed one night, but are certain to repeat. Friendly and helpful reservations, a warm welcome upon arrival, a lovely atmosphere in the common areas and our first floor executive rooms were generous, well appointed and had great views. We only sampled the restaurant for breakfast, which offered variety and good preparation, as well as a nive view. The room price is not low, but understandable given that we were staying just before the whale festival.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I visited on our honeymoon the Misty Waves hotel in Hermanus. Sadly it was only for one night but we are definitely hoping to return again. Previously we had stayed at a hotel in Cape Town where i had taken ill with dehydration following a foolish climb up and down Table Mountain (cable cars weren't working) and we left the hotel in Cape Town really early hoping the sea air would do me some good. When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready - we arrived at 9 am and the room was ready by 12. However, we were greeted by Samantha who was so pleasant and friendly and she showed us another suite where we could rest in until I felt well. This was so unexpected and kind of them as it meant I was able to sleep until around 12 before moving into our room. In the meantime this suite had a lovely conservatory area for my husband to relax in and Whale spot. Also extremely unexpected was that my husband was offered breakfast that day and the staff were advised that we were the honeymoon couple, that his wife was not well and that whatever we needed we were to be given. Such lovely help and care from the staff throughout our whole stay. It was a complete change to the hotel in Cape Town where we were ignored and just left to our own devices. As for the room, it was lovely, the little touches they had done with the rose petals in the bathroom and jacuzzi bath, the chocolate fondu set with champagne. All delicious, romantic and welcoming. Made us feel like we were finally on honeymoon. The whole hotel was well presented and looked after, the reception area welcoming, stylish and played wonderful pan pipe music which we enjoyed listening to. Our room had a wonderful four poster bed, lovely sea views, relaxing jacuzzi bath. It was a lovely place to stay and would definitely recommend to all. And yes the sea breeze definitely did me the world of good and I felt very much like my own self in no time. That day we had a stroll along the coast and we saw so many whales breaching it was amazing. As for that night the maid came around to 'turn down the bed' and put fresh lavender in the room. Such 'little touches' one might stay but they definitely stayed with me and I noticed. Truely this hotel is one of those rare ones where they truly care for their guests and want to ensure their stay is memorable, comfortable and enjoyable and for us it definitely was. It helped start the trip of a lifetime our honeymoon and we cannot thank the staff enough.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigglingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
929 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $116 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing