We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury, elegance and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My partner and I visited Hermanus over the weekend, for the first time. We didn't plan on staying over but after tree-top canopying and quad biking, we really did not want to drive for 2 hours back home. Clinton, the owner of Misty Waves as well as the adventure activities, was incredibly friendly and offered us a great deal on the honeymoon suite. When we got to the hotel we noticed its impeccable location, overlooking the ocean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even providing us with essentials as we hadn't pack anything. I was surprised at the hotel's elegant design and furnishings, with a comfortable and cozy feel to the room. The bathroom was the best, with an relaxing and romantic spa-bath. Dinner at the Misty Waves Restaurant gave the feeling of escaping into another world, with soft romantic lights and excellent cuisine. After a delicious breakfast, we left refreshed and revitalized ready for another day of exploring beautiful Hermanus.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Sumaiya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 743 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

On our trip to SA we stayed at the Misty Waves Hotel in Hermanus which was absolutely the most impressive of our trip. Excellent staff and service and outstanding interior. The staff made us feel like kings! The location of this hotel was superb - just a short walk to town centre - (thing three minutes) Still having the tranquility and ocean around us. This is certainly a recommendable stay and Hermans is a town not too be missed as there was such a lot to do.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
Thank holidaystoremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I had a great time at Misty Waves last weekend (18-20 June). I was taken aback by how friendly the staff are, everybody from reception, cleaners, waiters, managers etc. I was treated with dignity and the hotel staff made my stay so memorable and comfortable. Most importantly I was treated like a human being and a VIP and Misty Waves felt like a home away from home. They deserve an award for having the friendliest staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noxolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Imagine relaxing in your room in a bubbling jacuzzi with a beer watching Super14 rugby on a HD flatscreen with the ocean view from your balcony in the backround... Well that was my reality last weekend. All that topped off with a hearty breakfast buffet the next morning and all that at a ridiculously low price. Awesome stuff, only at Misty Waves.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jitanium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at the Misty Waves. Our room was bright and sunny -- with a great view of the sea. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themelissard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My family and I had the opportunity of staying at Misty Waves Hotel in Hermanus for the third time in five years. We were totally astonished as to the immense upgrade the hotel had undergone. Absolutely impressive! However it wasn’t even necessary but the family owned hotel just keeps on improving. I would suggest this hotel to any visitor who needs some luxury, love and attention. The staff component is unbelievable and love their job and pamper the guests. We are at the moment staying in a very formal five star hotel in Johannesburg and I just felt to inform visitors to Hermanus that Misty Waves might surely be one of the best smaller hotels to visit on their trip.

Have to add, the nicest part have always been seeing the whales from the hotel however this time on a few occasions during our stay we were entertained by schools of dolphins. What an experience!

Overall: the large rooms and interior was impressing, the gardens with water features and masses of colourful bougainvilleas beautiful, the pool areas nice and clean even the restaurant had quite enjoyable dishes and offered magnificent views. As it was our anniversary we were treated to a delightful surprise!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Very short stay...Sadly!!
However, the welcome, the staff, the room/furnishings, the "style" were all superb.
Breakfast was excellent and the location could not be better.
Staff were very helpful and welcoming and the breakfast was exceptionally good.
An excellent hotel and highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gskyUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $116 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing